We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Omahau Downs
Nearby Hotels
$91
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Lakes Motel(Twizel)(Great Value!)
$91
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Twizel Holiday Park(Twizel)(Great Value!)
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matuka Lodge(Twizel)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveler rating
166
41
4
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
41
4
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsworking farmmt cookshared kitchenwashing machinefantastic viewsminute driveblack labthe cottagesself containeddining areafew kilometerscoffee facilitiesdelightful locationevening sundown to earthwatching the sunseta nice place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 215 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We arrived a little late but were welcomed like we were family. Our host had warmed the place up for us and it was perfect. We stayed in the Self-Contained House and it was exactly that, self-contained. Comfy beds and a warm fire to curl up next to was exactly what we needed after a long and cold road trip around the South Island. It's only a 5 minute drive into the small but charming town of Twizel where there is a couple of fabulous old style variety stores that will have everything you need and more! A great pub with nice meals and friendly people all happy to have a chat. If we're ever lucky enough to be in that area again, the first place I will be heading for is Omahau Downs.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Our 3rd stay and this time for 2 nights to really chill out after 5 months of hard work. As usual it was spotless, warm, well appointed but with one unforeseen hitch on our last night.

At the late time of 1015pm the noisy entrance of 1 guest was vaguely acceptable, maybe he hadn't booked? Unfortunately another 30 minutes later as we were going off to sleep the place erupted with 3 loud talking, case crashing late comers.

The owner left for their own separate accommodation after showing them their rooms then the party started. These people were not just noisy they appeared to purposefully shout, bang doors, clunk bottles, the guy never stopped talking at the top of his voice. I was driven to get up at 1230am to remonstrate with him in the hallway where he stood with both the outside door and door to the living area open. He said they paid their money and were entitled to do as they pleased continuing the noise and boozing until 230am. A bunch of yobs you might think but no 2 old girls and 1 old bloke all around 75. UNBELIEVABLE!!!

This experience has dampened enthusiasm for the lodge here as there is no noise insulation and to have guest arrivals accepted after 10pm to a confined entrance is just not on.

In future we would ask for a cottage as the couple that run this place are very pleasant. Be warned about the lodge, check if they are still taking late comers!

Room Tip: Lodge rooms no sound insulation
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginadigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed here for two nights while riding A2O and what a lovely restful, picturesque spot. We loved it. We stayed in the lodge and found our room to be comfortable, well equipped and nicely appointed. The main lounge and kitchen are equally well set up with anything you need to cook and relax. The fire is so warm and cosy and the views out over the pasture to the mountains are spectacular. We didn't see them till the second day because of the low cloud but it was lovely to wake in the morning and look straight out to the views. The fields right outside the window were alive with sheep including the little cheeky black one who thought he was human!
Absolutely recommend this as a place to stay - beautifully kept, welcoming hosts and a downright lovely spot.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

When you drive in to Omahau Downs it looks like you are driving into a farm, and it might be BUT it has the loveliest cottages to spend a night or a few days in. We stayed in the Original Farm Cottage which was a delight. There was plenty of wood to get a cozy fire going to warm up the living room and the kitchen was open with lots of room to really cook, not just use a heating coil or hot plate. There was a lovely dinning room area and the bedrooms were roomy with yummy blankets on them. Great place for a large group or one our size, 3:) And the owners were great. We got in late but they waited for us to check in to make sure we were all set.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just a KM and a half from Twizel. A great little family cottage owned by lovely hosts, who live along with their gorgeous dog and their pet sheep (who thinks it’s a dog – adorable!)
The cottage is immaculate, very rustic, even with a fire place. The kitchen is well equipped and the cottage where we stayed in, was a three double bedroom cottage just for the two of us! One of the best places we stayed over when we were in New Zealand.
Its an easy day trip to Mount cook, Lake Pukaki (Stunning) and Lake Tekapo (great for treks)
Can’t recommend it enough.
Free Wi-Fi available.
Can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank varun_mukthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews