We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“What more could you want?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omahau Downs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Omahau Downs
Ranked #3 of 7 Twizel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Murwillumbah, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What more could you want?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We arrived a little late but were welcomed like we were family. Our host had warmed the place up for us and it was perfect. We stayed in the Self-Contained House and it was exactly that, self-contained. Comfy beds and a warm fire to curl up next to was exactly what we needed after a long and cold road trip around the South Island. It's only a 5 minute drive into the small but charming town of Twizel where there is a couple of fabulous old style variety stores that will have everything you need and more! A great pub with nice meals and friendly people all happy to have a chat. If we're ever lucky enough to be in that area again, the first place I will be heading for is Omahau Downs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    33
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
34
111
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
172 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Our 3rd stay and this time for 2 nights to really chill out after 5 months of hard work. As usual it was spotless, warm, well appointed but with one unforeseen hitch on our last night.

At the late time of 1015pm the noisy entrance of 1 guest was vaguely acceptable, maybe he hadn't booked? Unfortunately another 30 minutes later as we were going off to sleep the place erupted with 3 loud talking, case crashing late comers.

The owner left for their own separate accommodation after showing them their rooms then the party started. These people were not just noisy they appeared to purposefully shout, bang doors, clunk bottles, the guy never stopped talking at the top of his voice. I was driven to get up at 1230am to remonstrate with him in the hallway where he stood with both the outside door and door to the living area open. He said they paid their money and were entitled to do as they pleased continuing the noise and boozing until 230am. A bunch of yobs you might think but no 2 old girls and 1 old bloke all around 75. UNBELIEVABLE!!!

This experience has dampened enthusiasm for the lodge here as there is no noise insulation and to have guest arrivals accepted after 10pm to a confined entrance is just not on.

In future we would ask for a cottage as the couple that run this place are very pleasant. Be warned about the lodge, check if they are still taking late comers!

Room Tip: Lodge rooms no sound insulation
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ginadigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
155 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed here for two nights while riding A2O and what a lovely restful, picturesque spot. We loved it. We stayed in the lodge and found our room to be comfortable, well equipped and nicely appointed. The main lounge and kitchen are equally well set up with anything you need to cook and relax. The fire is so warm and cosy and the views out over the pasture to the mountains are spectacular. We didn't see them till the second day because of the low cloud but it was lovely to wake in the morning and look straight out to the views. The fields right outside the window were alive with sheep including the little cheeky black one who thought he was human!
Absolutely recommend this as a place to stay - beautifully kept, welcoming hosts and a downright lovely spot.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

When you drive in to Omahau Downs it looks like you are driving into a farm, and it might be BUT it has the loveliest cottages to spend a night or a few days in. We stayed in the Original Farm Cottage which was a delight. There was plenty of wood to get a cozy fire going to warm up the living room and the kitchen was open with lots of room to really cook, not just use a heating coil or hot plate. There was a lovely dinning room area and the bedrooms were roomy with yummy blankets on them. Great place for a large group or one our size, 3:) And the owners were great. We got in late but they waited for us to check in to make sure we were all set.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
608 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just a KM and a half from Twizel. A great little family cottage owned by lovely hosts, who live along with their gorgeous dog and their pet sheep (who thinks it’s a dog – adorable!)
The cottage is immaculate, very rustic, even with a fire place. The kitchen is well equipped and the cottage where we stayed in, was a three double bedroom cottage just for the two of us! One of the best places we stayed over when we were in New Zealand.
Its an easy day trip to Mount cook, Lake Pukaki (Stunning) and Lake Tekapo (great for treks)
Can’t recommend it enough.
Free Wi-Fi available.
Can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank varun_mukthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We chose to stay here because of its location near to twizel. We stayed for one night in the self contained house. The house is clean and very big for two of us. The surrounding give us a very rustic feel. It's like an escape from the city we come from. The host is very helpful and recommended us to drive to mount cook for a day tour and it turned out to be great trip we would otherwise have not include in our plan. Twizel is minutes away where we visit for breakfast and petrol refill. The house has a greenhouse for you to enjoy too.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chiachiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We recently stayed here for three nights on an 18 day driving trip around the South Island. Of all our accommodation this is the one that stood out and we wished we had stayed even longer. The hosts were helpful but in no way intrusive. The room was glorious with the most amazing views both day and night. Easy drive to Mt Cook and to the lakes nearby which were perfect for swimming, albeit a little on the freezing cold side! A well equipped communal kitchen and dining meant it was great for preparing your own food and lovely to meet the other people staying. There was even a washing machine available. We just loved it!

Room Tip: All rooms were wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue27_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twizel
1.2 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
1.1 mi away
High Country Holiday Lodge
2.4 mi away
Matuka Lodge
Matuka Lodge
#1 of 7 in Twizel
5.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aspen Court Motel - Twizel
5.2 mi away
Mt Cook Lakeside Retreat
1.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omahau Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omahau Downs

Property: Omahau Downs
Address: Twizel SH8 , New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Twizel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Omahau Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omahau Downs Twizel
Omahau Downs Hotel Twizel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing