We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lovely Country Cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Omahau Downs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Omahau Downs
Ranked #3 of 6 Twizel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Freeport, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Lovely Country Cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

When you drive in to Omahau Downs it looks like you are driving into a farm, and it might be BUT it has the loveliest cottages to spend a night or a few days in. We stayed in the Original Farm Cottage which was a delight. There was plenty of wood to get a cozy fire going to warm up the living room and the kitchen was open with lots of room to really cook, not just use a heating coil or hot plate. There was a lovely dinning room area and the bedrooms were roomy with yummy blankets on them. Great place for a large group or one our size, 3:) And the owners were great. We got in late but they waited for us to check in to make sure we were all set.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    38
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
38
125
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
768 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just a KM and a half from Twizel. A great little family cottage owned by lovely hosts, who live along with their gorgeous dog and their pet sheep (who thinks it’s a dog – adorable!)
The cottage is immaculate, very rustic, even with a fire place. The kitchen is well equipped and the cottage where we stayed in, was a three double bedroom cottage just for the two of us! One of the best places we stayed over when we were in New Zealand.
Its an easy day trip to Mount cook, Lake Pukaki (Stunning) and Lake Tekapo (great for treks)
Can’t recommend it enough.
Free Wi-Fi available.
Can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank varun_mukthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We chose to stay here because of its location near to twizel. We stayed for one night in the self contained house. The house is clean and very big for two of us. The surrounding give us a very rustic feel. It's like an escape from the city we come from. The host is very helpful and recommended us to drive to mount cook for a day tour and it turned out to be great trip we would otherwise have not include in our plan. Twizel is minutes away where we visit for breakfast and petrol refill. The house has a greenhouse for you to enjoy too.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chiachiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We recently stayed here for three nights on an 18 day driving trip around the South Island. Of all our accommodation this is the one that stood out and we wished we had stayed even longer. The hosts were helpful but in no way intrusive. The room was glorious with the most amazing views both day and night. Easy drive to Mt Cook and to the lakes nearby which were perfect for swimming, albeit a little on the freezing cold side! A well equipped communal kitchen and dining meant it was great for preparing your own food and lovely to meet the other people staying. There was even a washing machine available. We just loved it!

Room Tip: All rooms were wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue27_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

B&Bs are an integral part of Kiwi culture - among these, Omahau Downs stands out. The hosts extended a very personal and warm welcome, provided tips and helped arrange for lost luggage to be returned from the airline. The view is fantastic, and up until Feb you can have breakfast on the porch. An outdoor bbq set is available, but be mindful of the temperatures - prob, usable until late Jan only.
The calm and peaceful environment is very soothing. Our favourite feature was the chimney fire, which added a great warm and homely touch. Guests reside not in rooms of one main buildings but independent cottages of their own - we had 3 double beds to choose from!
Do not miss out on the local salmon farm just South of the township beyond the bridge - excellent salmon esp. the cold smoked one.
One recommendation to the hosts: most first arrivers mistake the host's home for the office, I would recommend a more prominent sign be posted.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton on the Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed in a king room in the lodge, it was very well appointed with the most amazing views of Mt Cook and the stars at night. We had a table and chairs on the decking at the back and use of the communal kitchen and lounge. It was extremely well equipped with absolutely everything you could possibly need. Owners were particularly helpful and knowledgeable about local amenities and those further afield. Nothing was too much trouble, they even rang the local doctor to get me an emergency appointment when I broke my toe. We would definitely recommend Omahau Downs to anyone looking to stay in the Twizel area.

Room Tip: staying in the lodge was great with uninterupted views of Mt Cook (provided the clouds stay away)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed in the old farmhouse (built 1923) and had acres of space. Our hosts were very welcoming and helpful. The kitchen had everything needed, the bedroom had great view out to "Gondor". Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipH2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twizel
1.2 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
1.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
2.4 mi away
Matuka Lodge
Matuka Lodge
#1 of 6 in Twizel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#2 of 4 in Twizel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mt Cook Lakeside Retreat
5.5 mi away
Lakestone Lodge
Lakestone Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pukaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omahau Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omahau Downs

Property: Omahau Downs
Address: Twizel SH8 , New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Twizel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Omahau Downs 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Omahau Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omahau Downs Twizel
Omahau Downs Hotel Twizel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing