We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit and even better...”
Review of Omahau Downs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Omahau Downs
Ranked #3 of 6 Twizel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Second visit and even better...”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

If you are off to Mount Cook or travelling through the southern alps this is the perfect stay for a few days.

Beautiful setting with magical views of mount cook on a clear day.

This is our second visit in 3 years and both times have stayed in the cabin.

Great place and hope to return

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RPAPKPMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    39
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
126
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Schwalbach, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Omahau Downs for two nights. We had one of the King rooms. The room is spacious with a small ensuite. They offer additionally a
common living room with a fully equipped kitchen and laundry.
From our porch we had amazing views of the mountains, especially of Mount Cook. Omahau Downs is a very good location to drive to Aoraki Moint Cook Village and explore that area.
We enjoyed our stay at Omahau Downs very much and will definitely return for our next stay in Twizel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ebab2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Omahau Downs is a lovely place. We stayed two nights in the lodge, self catering both days, in the communal kitchen/dining area. Breakfast is no longer included it is self catering only. There are four good sized rooms in the lodge all with glass doors leading out onto the deck (a nice place to sit, weather permitting) and with spectacular views to the mountains,. The accommodation is nicely furnished, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The kitchen is well equipped and there are small fridges in the bedrooms with a larger fridge available in the kitchen. The owners are very welcoming with lots of advice about the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed in the self contained house during a recent visit to the area. The booking was made through the Omahau Downs website. Although I arrived around 9PM, the owner was waiting for me at the house when I arrived. After showing me the layout and got me settled, she went out to find newspaper and pinecones so that I could start a fire in the fireplace if I wanted one.

The house has several bedrooms with sweeping views across fields towards the mountains. The lounge shares these views. The kitchen is a good size and is equipped with pots and pans as well as dishes, glasses and any utensils I needed. The dining area has a large table for sitting. Everything was clean and comfortable.

I really enjoyed my stay and I will certainly be back the next time that I am spending the night in Twizel. Friendly hosts, comfortable accommodations and great views. Perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank mhnstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed in the lodge. The room has floor to ceiling windows with a view of Mt Cook - what a view to wake up to. There is an ensuite shower room which is compact but modern and clean. The guest lounge and kitchen is of a high standard and well equipped. Despite being surrounded by mountains the wifi connection was very good. The nearby town of Twizel is small but has some good eateries. The hosts are very helpful and it's amazing what they pack into their day, running a farm, guest accommodation, young children and Shaun is a voluntary fire man. However, they always have plenty of time for their guests, unless the siren goes off and Shaun has to make a dash. I could have sat on the veranda for several days/weeks/months, unfortunately only had time for one night - great shame. This place is amazing value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stayathomeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyr Cove, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

this accommodation is offered on a working sheep and cattle farm, just about a kilometer north of Twizel on SH8. The husband and wife team are vey helpful and gracious, and are a fun source of information about the area, and farming also, if you are curious. The accommodations are varied: There is a "lodge", which is a building containing four separate bedroom/sitting rooms, situated around a fairly large living room/full kitchen area which is common to all these units. There is also a cabin, an old farmhouse with several bedrooms that has a fireplace, and another slightly smaller house with 3 bedrooms (the "sheep shearers cottage"). We stayed in this cottage, which was fully kitchen equipped, and which has a wood heat stove.

All of these have great views over the farm to the mountains and Mount Cook. One difference between the "lodge" and the other accommodations is that the lodge is quite modern (seemingly purpose built to rent), while the others are vintage original farm buildings. The original buildings are like going to visit Grandma on the farm, updated only by flat screen tv's and comfortable beds! we found our stay there to be very romantic and unique,.... and the stars are amazing at night! Yes, free wifi.

Room Tip: The new "lodge room" are probably easier to heat in the cold months. Don't believe the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

If your'e looking for a posh up market hotel forget it. This is a lovely comfortable B and B on a working farm. Our lodge room (one of four) was spacious, clean and had a great view across the fields to the mountains beyond. There was a shared lounge and full kitchen. Only 2 miles from Twizel. Owners were really friendly and the home baked and cooked breakfast was lovely. Could have stayed longer. Great as a base for visiting Mt Cook.

Room Tip: All lodge rooms have a view towards Mt Cook but No 4 has a window on the side as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Col07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twizel
1.2 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
1.1 mi away
High Country Holiday Lodge
1.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Matuka Lodge
Matuka Lodge
#1 of 6 in Twizel
313 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#1 of 4 in Twizel
22 reviews
24.6 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omahau Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omahau Downs

Property: Omahau Downs
Address: Twizel SH8, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Twizel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Omahau Downs 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Omahau Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omahau Downs Twizel
Omahau Downs Hotel Twizel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing