We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Omahau Downs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Omahau Downs
Ranked #3 of 6 Twizel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Stay here!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

If your'e looking for a posh up market hotel forget it. This is a lovely comfortable B and B on a working farm. Our lodge room (one of four) was spacious, clean and had a great view across the fields to the mountains beyond. There was a shared lounge and full kitchen. Only 2 miles from Twizel. Owners were really friendly and the home baked and cooked breakfast was lovely. Could have stayed longer. Great as a base for visiting Mt Cook.

Room Tip: All lodge rooms have a view towards Mt Cook but No 4 has a window on the side as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Col07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    38
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
38
125
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
509 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

If you fancy stopping overnight on a drive from Christchurch to Queenstown then try this relaxing accommodation on a working farm. An unusual set up with a number of rooms centred on a shared kitchen and sitting area, but it works well enough. The owner was very friendly and helpful and the room spacious the bathroom clean and the bed comfortable. But the highlight was looking out from our deck across the sheep paddock to Mt Cook. We've never seen it so clearly; definitely awe-inspiring. A small warning though: Omahau Downs is no longer a B&B so don't expect breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanJGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here with two small children in one of the self contained cottage . We were very comfortable and warm enough and had plenty of room.
The little toiletries are such a lovely touch. The facilities in the cottage were perfect, We cooked our dinner and washed some clothes in the evening. There is internet if you need.
The views of mount cook were amazing, we could have sat there for ages just watching the mountain change with the light. The space around for the kids to run/crawl around was fabulous.
The owners and every one we met who worked there were very helpful and chatty. There are farm animals for the kids to watch and help feed and a friendly dog to chat to also.
We only stayed one night but would love to stay longer so hope to get back there. Can not recommend this place highly enough. Don't expect high high class but don't let the cottage fool you, it is luxury and more than comfortable.
You'll get a warm welcome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan20133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

A few minutes fromTwizel, comfortable, shower etc just great, kitchen facilities (share) great, plenty of everything in the kitchen, warm fire if required, TV in each room, 4 rooms, we were in lodge for a wedding, at this venue. Would recommend this place if staying in the area

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

stayed there with my wife and baby for 3 nights at a self contained house.
the house is old but well equipped and convenient with much space.
really made you feel you are at real home and not a hotel .
view over mount cook was amazing .
a real country side experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yaron1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Devon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights here in February - and could have happily stayed much longer. We rattled around in the older large house as it there was enough room for 6 at least, but it was very comfortable and well equipped. Not ultra modern, but very comfortable beds, good kitchen, laundry room, washing line.... and welcoming hosts. The bedroom had a stunning view of Mount Cook in the distance across open pastures - glowing a brilliant pink at sunset. I had access to free wi-fi, although I had to go out into the garden to get a line-of-sight to the owner's house up the drive. A short way out of Twizel itself, it was very quiet even with the main road close by, and was ideally placed for easy access to Mt Cook National Park about an hour's spectacular drive away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnorkelQueens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay in the original farm house on Omahau Downs. Despite the fact that the house itself is very old (unlike some of the other houses you can choose), there has been so much care put into decorating the interior and keeping it warm and cosy that it really is a very comfortable place to stay. The farm house is a little big for just two people -would have been better if we had been travelling with a group, but that just means we will have to come back. The owner was very helpful, providing fishing tips and keeping us well stocked with firewood. Going to need to do something about the bunny ears on the TV though..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate7654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twizel
1.2 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
1.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
2.4 mi away
Matuka Lodge
Matuka Lodge
#1 of 6 in Twizel
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Mt Cook Lakeside Retreat
1.2 mi away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#2 of 4 in Twizel
17 reviews
5.5 mi away
Lakestone Lodge
Lakestone Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pukaki
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omahau Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omahau Downs

Property: Omahau Downs
Address: Twizel SH8 , New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Twizel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Omahau Downs 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Omahau Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omahau Downs Twizel
Omahau Downs Hotel Twizel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing