We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful place”
Review of Omahau Downs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Omahau Downs
Ranked #3 of 6 Twizel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a beautiful place”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We were not sure what to expect when we arrived at the farm, because the exterior is rustic and low key, but the B&B lodge where we stayed was superb. Our bedroom was spacious and simply furnished in a clean modern style, with interesting touches, and good bed linen, although the en-suite wet room might not be to everyone's liking. (Where does one put the towels?) Sheep grazed up to the window and the uninterupted view towards Mount Cook, was breathtaking. The windows opened onto our own space on the wooden veranda outside - perfect for relaxing with a glass of wine. The lodge has three bedrooms and a guest living room with very good kitchen facilities, and the same view of the mountains. There is also a washing machine for guests to use. After shopping in Twizel, we prepared a light meal for ourselves and joined other guests there for a very relaxing evening. Our hosts, Sean and Nicola were very friendly and welcoming and provided a good breakfast, with homemade savoury scones and banana bread. An lovely place to stay to relax and unwind, or stop off on the way to Mount Cook.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KauphyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    39
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
126
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This place was certainly the highlight of our NZ trip. Shaun and Nicola are two of the most hard-working and amazing hosts I've ever come across.
The place is easy to locate, being across the main highway and right before main Twizel town. Shaun's got a big and lovely farm whose maintenance is impeccable. The view from the cottage is something to die for - it's just you and miles and miles of open farmland flanked on the far end by the Aoraki Mt Cook Range. If only you could wake up to such lovely views each day of your life!!
The best part was the open air Wood Fire Bath amidst the clearest skies in southern hemisphere, that Shaun graciously arranged for us. The rooms were warm and well-stocked. There is a washing machine and a powerful drier which you can use at will. Breakfast is served in the common kitchen area, where you get to meet and fellow travelers from across the globe. Shaun or Nicola are of course always with you throughout the breakfast sharing their experiences and suggesting interesting things to do.
Twizel in itself is a quaint little town, a short drive away with a population (I am told) of only about a 1000 people. Perfect for people(like us) who want to be away from the hustle-bustle of towns or more popular tourist destinations and spend some quality time.
Thanks a lot Shaun and Nicola for making our stay memorable. We shall be back soon!

Debayan and Nidhi
India

Room Tip: You can take one of their cabins in case you are looking for complete privacy. However the cottages...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebayanBiswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Exactly as expected - which is good.

Good level of service, friendly advice, down to earth host and a friendly dog.

Advice from us, if you like Salmon buy it from the local farms before they shut at sunset (that obviously varies, so check the sun set for when you will be there).
You can get other items of food from Twizel's supermarket which is easy to find (but is driving distance).

Room Tip: There is a clothes washing machine in the cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anon123456789648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The look of the place may be deceptive but once you enter the house it is really nice.
We stayed in a cottage near the highway (don't worry, you can hardly hear the sound of vehicles). It has 3 bedrooms - 2 double, 1 twin. Living room. Kitchen is well equipped. Bathroom was clean and there is a washing machine (no dryer). We also had a patio where we sat down to chill. There is also a huge open space outside with wooden table and bench; perfect for outdoor dining.

The hosts gave us good instructions and the place is easily spotted hence getting there is not a problem at all.

You can also do your grocery shopping at Twizel. It has a supermarket with good selection. Nearby there is also a salmon farm.

This overall, this place is a good stopover from a long drive (plus accommodation at Mt cook are expensive) hence you may want to spend a night here if you are going to arrive late at Mt Cook.

The only thing that I'll complain about is that the interior of the cupboards look quite torn and tattered but other than that everything was great!

Value for money too. It was one of the cheapest apartment I've got with huge space and good view.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luffygomomono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our B&B room was clean and spacious with a quirky wooden gate set against the wall for character. Great views of the farm and mountains and you might even get a close up view of the sheep if they come near enough for grazing. Plus point was a common kitchen where you can do some light cooking (though if you wanted some serious cooking, the self contained lodges might be a better idea)

Sean and Nicola were our very gracious hosts and made us welcome right from the start. The highlight of breakfast had to be the scones and banana loaf courtesy of Nicola. Extremely tasty and memorable enough that we'd probably ask them separately for the recipe. It was also a nice deviation from the standard B&B breakfast fare of bacon, eggs and sausages.

There is a lot to do around Twizel and given their 45 minute drive away from Mt Cook village this seemed a better location to us compared to staying on the mountain.

There's free wireless for the tech-connected traveller. The signal was slightly weak for our smart phones. No problems with the laptop though. Then again, who would spend a truckload of time on the internet in such a paradise?

Room Tip: We walked around and all the rooms seem to generally have a good view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We enjoyed our short stay at Omahau Downs very much. The facilities in our room in the lodge were excellent. The evening view from our room across the high plain to Mount Cook on a beautiful, sunny day was sensational. Nicola's breakfast scones and muffins were wonderfully tasty.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Keith and Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Anau
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Nicola and Sean were such great hosts during my overnight stay at Omahau Downs - their affability (but with great respect for privacy and space) only enhanced a very pleasant stay in such beautiful surroundings. I stayed in the bed and breakfast lodge - the room was spacious and well laid-out with stylish and tasteful (but homely) touches - no lace doilies and damask curtains here (thankfully)! There was also a fully equipped kitchen if cooking took your fancy. The view of the room closest to the roadside had an amazing corner view of the fields ahead and the mountains in the background. It is an instantly relaxing environment that is authentically rural but far from lacking in sophistication or comfort. Sean's breakfast (particularly his muffins) was a contemporary spin on the traditional B&B breakfast fare. I found this to be exceptionally good value for money, particularly as compared to prices for accommodation in Aoraki Mt Cook - if you can manage the 45min drive, stay with Sean and Nicola and make day trips to Aoraki Mt Cook.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landeskarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twizel
1.2 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
1.1 mi away
High Country Holiday Lodge
1.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Matuka Lodge
Matuka Lodge
#1 of 6 in Twizel
313 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#1 of 4 in Twizel
22 reviews
24.6 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omahau Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omahau Downs

Property: Omahau Downs
Address: Twizel SH8, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Twizel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Omahau Downs 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Omahau Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omahau Downs Twizel
Omahau Downs Hotel Twizel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing