We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Omahau Downs
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Godley Hotel(Lake Tekapo)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveler rating
166
40
4
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
40
4
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsworking farmmt cookshared kitchenwashing machinefantastic viewsfarm stayminute driveblack labself containedcommon kitchencozy roomfew kilometerscoffee facilitiesdelightful locationevening sundown to earthwatching the sunset
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 214 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was the second time that we have stayed at this establishment and we were just as impressed as the first time. Nicola and Sean are terrific people who run an amazing place. It looks nothing special from the outside, Just an old timber farm building. Inside it is a palace with such good taste in decoration and style. Comfortable and warm rooms with a view to die for across to the mountains. The bad weather made no difference to our stay as we were cocooned in comfort. Excellent value for money and streets above others at the price. Don't tell them or they may put the prices up!!! We will be back

Room Tip: If you don't like a wetroom then ask not to be in No 4 otherwise you have noe worries at all.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEOFFREY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

A visit to the Mackenzie district, Canterbury, New Zealand wouldn’t be complete without a stay at Omahau Downs high country farm at Twizel. Amiable hosts Nicola and Sean provide a range of stylish and comfortable accommodation most with views to Mount Cook....from superb motel –style rooms, a small self contained cabin, a charming original farm house and a self contained house
Breakfasts in the B&B lodge are delicious with Sean, an ex-chef & Nicola, providing a sumptuous start to your day.
There is much to do in the area around Twizel, from helicopter rides to Mt. Cook and the Tasman Glacier, rowing on one of the lakes nearby, walking , fishing, hiking in the Mount Cook National Park (only a relatively short drive away) and taking in the crystal clear views of the night sky .
Omahau Downs is a working farm so you can wander the paddocks, talk to the cattle and sheep and maybe Gus, the lovely old farm dog, might accompany you on a walk to the river.

A place to clear the mind and enjoy….Don’t miss a stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay here. We rented (we were two couples) a cottage which had a great view of Mount Cook in the distance. The bedrooms were large, clean and well-lit. There was a big kitchen, living area and dining area, and an outside porch to sit. The cottage itself is quite old but had a good feeling to it. The owner was very friendly. There was a washing machine in the cottage and we were able to pay for wifi throught the owner. This was a great place to spend the night as we were going onto Mount Cook the following morning. We highly recommend this unique location!

Room Tip: We cooked for ourselves, so make sure you have a cottage with a kitchen if you'll be needing it.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Emma Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I recently stayed in a farm cottage at Omahau Downs with my mum. We shared a comfortable two bedroom cottage, complete with kitchen, dining area and small lounge. The cottage was very clean, nicely furnished and spacious for two people.

Check in was easy, with friendly staff directing us to the right place. All very casual as you would expect at a farm stay. We had a spectacular view of Mt Cook from our cabin and were able to see it top to toe in all it's glory.

After settling in we took a short walk around the farm, then into town for dinner. Town is quite close, less than a 5 minute drive.

The beds were comfortable and with plenty of covers as it was a bit nippy in the night. There were some mice in the ceiling scampering around, so that needs to be addressed but otherwise we were very happy with our accommodation.

The cabin included a washing machine so we were able to get some washing done as well. The bathroom had a shower, good water pressure and all very adequate.

All in all a very nice, unique place to stay, much more pleasant than a boring old motel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluegoldhighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

You could easily pass by this property thinking that the accommodation was farm out buildings but you would be missing so much! Our "out building" was like the Dr Who tardis on the inside! It had four ensuite bedrooms inside with a communal sitting/dining room with all the facilities needed for self catering. Nicola was lovely (we never got to meet Sean but we did taste his delicious scones!) down to earth, friendly and happy to chat. Our room was very spacious and modern but with eclectic decor. It had a sleeping area and a sitting area and the ensuite bathroom was modern and well equipped. We had patio doors leading to a decked area with fantastic views of Mount Cook in the distance. It is situated outside Twizel and not very well signposted from the road so could easily be missed. It is about a 50 minute drive from Mount Cook.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tednsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews