We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aspen Court Motel - Twizel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aspen Court Motel - Twizel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Twizel
Waimate, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

My son and I stayed here in 2013 and when we came into Twizel last night and a party of 3, I didn't hesitate in booking here again. Would have to be one of my favorite motels it's nicely set up and very friendly service. We also walked up to Razza's Bar for a very nice pub meal.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Buelland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    107
    23
    5
    8
See reviews for
51
171
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Its a no frills motel with a very basic exterior but the room is just beautiful. We stayed here for a night after a drive from Christchurch and left quite early next morning for Mount Cook. Rooms are big and comfortable. Bathrooms are good sized and the kitchen unit has everything that you would need. Twizel is a cute little town and fallen leaves in the lawn next to the motel gave a lovely feel of the autumn. Owners are very good people and very helpful, would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ankitarora200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We spent two nights here, traveling as a couple + relative.

Room was big, comfortable, quiet (although most of the rooms seemed occupied). Roll out bed for the third person was in fact a cupboard bed which I am told was very comfortable.

Great to have a spa bath after a day up and down mount john, and the following day after going up and down Sealy Tarns :)

Cooking facilities and cutlery/crockery pristine.

Laundry service on premises saved the day for us, and owner as full of great advice on what to do on the next leg of our journey (road to Dunedin).

WiFi was free and worked perfectly, but was not unlimited (100mb/day, very reasonable unless you are planning to spend the day watching movies or skyping..)

Twizel in itself a is perfect base for exploring Tekapo or Mt Cook, with a few eateries, a supermarket and an affordable petrol station.

Would definitely go back if I were staying around here again, and would strongly recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shadowwisps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed here on the 10th April at the beginnning of our NZ trip, i cannot praise this small motel enough, The rooms are a good size and offer some cooking and breakfast facilities, including cutlery and crockery, it was excellent, so clean and confortable. You're within a short walk of the shopping and restaurant area of the town, which is very easy to get around. As the previous review said the town has a lot of soul. The owners are very nice people and so easy to deal with, would highly recommend to others.

Room Tip: We had the rooms with the sliding glass doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
152 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

A lovely motel for an overnight stay in the Aoraki lakes region. The rooms are a good size and offer some cooking and breakfast facilities, including cutlery and crockery. You're within a short walk of the shopping and restaurant area of this former hydro town, which is very easy to get around. The town also has more "soul" than its more touristy counterpart, Lake Tekapo. The motel owners and staff were very easy to deal with and everything went smoothly. All in all, a good experience that I'd recommend to others.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room at the rear of the hotel. These have a glass sliding door opening out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bratsche1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina
Level Contributor
112 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Spent three nights here and was very impressed. The owner was really helpful and friendly and when I mentioned fishing he was able to make some good suggestions and provide helpful advice. The room was very comfortable, very clean, and very quiet despite being full on all 3 nights. The kitchenette facilities were sufficient for simple self catering. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom facilities excellent although I didn't take advantage of the spa bath. Parking can be a bit tricky as there is not a lot of room.
Twizel is a handy place to stay for visits to Mt Cook and there is a good supermarket.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MuzzaBallina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile


Stayed for 2 nights, it initially wasn't our intention to stay in Twizel but we couldn't get accommodation at Lake Takapo and so glad fate stepped in. What an interesting place, full of history which our lovely host Colin was happy to share. He also advised on great places to eat, we had a lovely breakfast at Poppies and a very interesting night in the pub- Razz bar and bistro. He also advised on things to do and walks local to the area, including an old sheep shearing shed. The room was a good size, very clean and comfortable, but if staying in room 1 be prepared for any lie in to be disturbed by noise from the motels laundry, although it didn't bother us as we were up anyway.
Would definitely return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Justine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twizel
0.2 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
0.1 mi away
High Country Holiday Lodge
0.2 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Matuka Lodge
Matuka Lodge
#1 of 7 in Twizel
5.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
24.2 mi away
Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre
Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centr...
#2 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
4.0 of 5 stars 513 reviews
1.2 mi away
Omahau Downs
Omahau Downs
#3 of 7 in Twizel
4.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Court Motel - Twizel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Court Motel - Twizel

Property: Aspen Court Motel - Twizel
Address: 10 Mackenzie Drive | Twizel, Twizel 7901, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Twizel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aspen Court Motel - Twizel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We Welcome you to Aspen Court Motel Twizel.This is a Luxury 15 Unit Modern Motel in the Heart of the Mackenzie Country Twizel New Zealand we Take Pride in you having the Best Stay Possible. We are now Selling a Range of "International Foods" and "Gluten Free Gourmet Fudge". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Aspen Court Motel - Twizel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Court Hotel Twizel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing