We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location across from shops”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
High Country Holiday Lodge
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Twizel
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The rooms are spacious and clean and the price is reasonable the bed and seats were comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. there is a big grassy area in front of the unit to relax on and some chairs and a table to use out front.

Room Tip: choose a motel unit over a lodge room as you have space to yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatMacnz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 112 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

Separate cabin-like buildings each containing a dozen or so rooms. Our room was ensuite - clean but a throw back to the 70's.
It had cutlery, crockery, kettle and toaster which was handy for breakfast.
The common kitchen however was small despite having all the equipment you may need. That particular evening the motel was fully booked so the kitchen was full of people trying to navigate around it.

The location of the motel is great, in the middle of town with a range of shops and eating establishments. Twizel is set amongst the Alps and only two minutes back to the main road.
Good for one night but in need of some updates.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Well located next to shops. Nice open field for the kids to play. Basic and clean facilities. Self contained unit with cooking facilities. Twizel is a great place to be near the lakes and mountains. Recommended as a base to explore the area

Room Tip: Can park car under a tree for shade or infront of unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1stPaladin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I arrived at the holiday lodge and was checked in immediately. I stayed in a 2 bed dorm, which was very comfortable and clean. It had its own sink, fridge and TV too. The communal showers were powerful and cleaned daily. The owners, Chris and Christine were incredible. As I was travelling alone from the UK, they made me feel extremely welcome. Even around their busy schedules, they would always stop and chat to me about my day, and recommend activities around the area. The kitchen and communal area were good, and always kept clean. Thank you to the lovely owners for making my stay thoroughly enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Totally recommend this place for any group stays.Faclities, location to the town centre ,pricing are spot-on while the helpfulness of Chris the owner, sorting bikes, smoking a freshly caught salmon and generally having heaps of local knowledge to pass on was great. Rooms clean and comfortable, great hot showers.... all in all an excellent base to explore the McKenzie country.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glacierviewmotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The place was just amazing, the owners and the people who work at there, are realy friendly, make us feel like in home... All the facilities was ok, everything clean and tidy... 100% recomendable for couples or friends groups too! even for season workers or anglers like me! who are expecting catch a big salmons!!!!


Thanks a lot Chris!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franciscosabando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The staff were really friendly & helpful.

The room was clean, the kitchen was a bit of a fight when everyone wanted to cook at once but provided all the necessary provisions.

The bunk I was staying in could have done with a screwdriver! Noisiest bed ever! But apart from that very happy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShropshireLass81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twizel
0.4 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
0.3 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
0.2 mi away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#1 of 4 in Twizel
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Twizel Holiday Park
Twizel Holiday Park
#3 of 6 in Twizel
103 reviews
2.1 mi away
Matuka Lodge
Matuka Lodge
#1 of 6 in Twizel
334 reviews
17.2 mi away
Ahuriri Motel Omarama
Ahuriri Motel Omarama
#2 of 4 in Omarama
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Holiday Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Holiday Lodge

Address: 23 Mackenzie Drive, Twizel, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Twizel
Price Range: $24 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — High Country Holiday Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your High Country Holiday Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing