We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
High Country Holiday Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$91
$88
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$91
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matuka Lodge(Twizel)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omahau Downs(Twizel)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveler rating
7
30
41
21
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
30
41
21
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget accommodationmotel style roomfully equipped kitchenchrisunitalpswanaka
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 127 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Well located next to shops. Nice open field for the kids to play. Basic and clean facilities. Self contained unit with cooking facilities. Twizel is a great place to be near the lakes and mountains. Recommended as a base to explore the area

Room Tip: Can park car under a tree for shade or infront of unit
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1stPaladin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I arrived at the holiday lodge and was checked in immediately. I stayed in a 2 bed dorm, which was very comfortable and clean. It had its own sink, fridge and TV too. The communal showers were powerful and cleaned daily. The owners, Chris and Christine were incredible. As I was travelling alone from the UK, they made me feel extremely welcome. Even around their busy schedules, they would always stop and chat to me about my day, and recommend activities around the area. The kitchen and communal area were good, and always kept clean. Thank you to the lovely owners for making my stay thoroughly enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Totally recommend this place for any group stays.Faclities, location to the town centre ,pricing are spot-on while the helpfulness of Chris the owner, sorting bikes, smoking a freshly caught salmon and generally having heaps of local knowledge to pass on was great. Rooms clean and comfortable, great hot showers.... all in all an excellent base to explore the McKenzie country.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glacierviewmotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The place was just amazing, the owners and the people who work at there, are realy friendly, make us feel like in home... All the facilities was ok, everything clean and tidy... 100% recomendable for couples or friends groups too! even for season workers or anglers like me! who are expecting catch a big salmons!!!!


Thanks a lot Chris!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franciscosabando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The staff were really friendly & helpful.

The room was clean, the kitchen was a bit of a fight when everyone wanted to cook at once but provided all the necessary provisions.

The bunk I was staying in could have done with a screwdriver! Noisiest bed ever! But apart from that very happy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShropshireLass81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews