We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A bit dated but fine for an overnight” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mackenzie Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mackenzie Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Twizel
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
445 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“A bit dated but fine for an overnight”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I stayed 1 night in Room 111 and while the decor & furnishings were a little dated, it was fine for an overnight - as long as you avert your eyes from the weird green velvet drapes & the mismatched patterns of coverings of chairs, walls, and bedspreads. The rather tired bathroom is in need of a renovation & had reversed hot & cold faucets (be careful!) Strange heater on the bedroom wall, no AC, good bed, coffee/tea service, empty mini-fridge.

On the bright side, the view from the balcony was amazing - green pines, golden poplars & snow-capped mountains. The bar gave a very generous pour of an excellent Stoneleigh sauvignon blanc, and the leg of lamb at the buffet was excellent.

If you're looking for a place to stay the night before or after visiting Mount Cook, this hotel is fine as long as you don't expect much.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Retirada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    79
    89
    32
    18
See reviews for
48
125
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Not sure if there are better rooms than others but ours was awful. Large room overlooking gardens but the doors leading out to the balcony were filthy. Hairs were found in the bed and many on the floor of the bathroom!! Arm chair in the bedroom was worn and dirty and stains on the carpet. Carpet in the restaurant was covered in dirty marks, all over it and to be honest the condition of the hotel from what we could see made it a rather reluctant breakfast. Depleted dishes were not replaced readily and guests were kept waiting for new supplies. Thankfully only stayed one night.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue56_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Twizel hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Pleasant drive the next day to Mt. Cook, however the motel itself leaves a little to be desired. Getting quite shabby and saggy beds. Was quite disappointed. Dining was good, nice food and well priced. Bathrooms need total renovation. Nothing really to do in Twizel.

Room Tip: Check one out before you take it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaye R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

having read a few negative reviews, I was not sure what to expect. We usually stay in Tekapo en route to Queenstown, but as Lake Tekapo was full, we decided to stay in Twizel and thought it would make a change. The hotel was actually quite good and had everything we needed. As previous reviewers have mentioned, there was some bubbling on the ceiling probably due to an old leak that had not been repainted and there was a stain on the carpet.

But, that aside, we had a really large room with a great view over a garden at the back of the hotel. Lovely comfy leather effect recliner chairs, everything was clean and plenty of fluffy towels, toiletries and a big bath tub. We were able to dry our swimming stuff for $3 at the guest laundry, wifi was $5 for 24 hours and good reception. beds were really comfy and heaps of pillows. We had a room with two queen beds and I loved the fact that there were was a bedside table by each outer side and in the middle, so 3 in total, unlike the following hotel that just had one altogether! staff were really friendly and helpful as well.

Our son enjoyed playing with the resident hotel cat who was a hit with all the kids staying and the hotel bar had a lovely roaring fire in the evening. Owing to a coach tour arriving and finding out that only a buffet was available, we remembered what we had read and popped across the road to Poppies. Just managed to snag the last available table, - terrific food, great atmosphere, may be tempted to stop in twizel more often just so we can eat there.

yes, it could do with a little bit of a repaint, but it had everything we needed. It also felt like it had a little bit of 'soul' unlike some of the bigger chains. On a final note, Breakfast was o.k, we only wanted toast and cereals, but the cooked breakfast looked a little school canteen like. That said, for a one night stop over, we were quite happy and would definitely consider staying there again overnight if we were passing through and needed to break our journey.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This hotel needs to be revamped urgently. The room had wallpaper hang off, badly stained sink, in fact the whole bathroom needed replacing. Unfortunately the food rather suited the hotel, poor. The location was OK but the town closes at 17.00 hrs. Poppies bar across the road was better than the hotel and there was also another bar in the shopping area (shopping mall on the signs)

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4figgis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

I hate using the lowest rating but I was very disappointed with my stay. The motel looks lovely from the outside and is close to Mt Cook and other sites but the inside is a huge letdown and needs a major refurbishment. My room is from maybe 1960 (before my time) with a built-in heating unit in the wall and a built in radio into the bedside table. The room has a stink from probably back then even with all windows open. I'd say the carpet and bathroom may be a few ywars newer but the carpet is worn down. The bed is harder than a rock and my back aches horribly. The bathroom is really from another error with the faucet handles on the sink a yellow colour but were previously clear plastic. On the bright side, I only had one night. I didn't even try the restaurant. Since it was prepaid, if I had a second night, I would have left and paid for something else. This motel has such potential - it is a shame.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank ClemsonWendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

booked a new deluxe room and got a very old standard one because of 'double booking'. no notice or apology. got a small discount after the fact.

carpets very old, stinky and pulling away, wallpaper peeling off the wall, roof leak and mould approx 1m long.
to cap it off breakfast staff were very unfriendly and the scrambled and poached eggs were terrible.
such a poor experience we will never go to Twizel again.

Room Tip: Rather keep going and stay at Mt Cook. Web site photos are miles from the reality
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twizel
0.3 mi away
High Country Holiday Lodge
17.0 mi away
Heritage Gateway Hotel
Heritage Gateway Hotel
#3 of 4 in Omarama
3.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Motel - Twizel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
2.5 mi away
Matuka Lodge
Matuka Lodge
#1 of 7 in Twizel
5.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
6.3 mi away
Mt Cook Lakeside Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackenzie Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackenzie Country Inn

Property: Mackenzie Country Inn
Address: 2 Wairepo Roads | Cnr Ostler & Wairepo Roads, Twizel, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Twizel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mackenzie Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mackenzie Basins best kept secret with stunning mountain views from a relaxed setting. Featuring natural stone, roaring fires and expansive lawns, Mackenzie Country Inn is the ultimate place to chill out after a day experiencing the activities and sights the region has to offer.Private balconies/patios, views to the spectacular mountain surrounds and a bath in all 108 rooms, paradise is found!With its own restaurant, rustic bar with Sky, modern conference/function facilities, internet and laundry Mackenzie Country Inn is the perfect location for your family holiday, ski accommodation, Honeymoon escape, getaway, or wedding.A Qualmark 3.5 star rated hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mackenzie Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackenzie Country Hotel Twizel
Country Inn South Island
South Island Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing