We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment guaranteed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mackenzie Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Twizel
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Disappointment guaranteed”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

if you expect value for money. Room although spacious is very dated. Needs refurbishment as in yesterday! Old food was left in the fridge. The biggest disappointment was being forced to find an alternative place to eat after a disasterous evening at the Inn's restaurant. We made a booking at the restaurant for 7:30, arrived on time, ordered a 500g rump steak medium to rare which arrived 50 minutes later way undersized (no more than 300g) and overdone. The mushroom risotto arrived 5 minutes later and was totally gross! Tasted off and weird! It was mushy and clearly not fresh! The waitress was really good, apolized and we did not pay for the food. The supervisor however had a real attitude about it and did not even attempt to apolize.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hester H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    104
    106
    40
    20
See reviews for
61
160
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed for one night and the property is well maintained. The room was clean and the breakfast was good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Since we were on a motorcycle ride, they helped us book a helicopter ride in Glentanner park instead of Twizel.

Haroon & Farzana

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HaroonRafiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk vulcan
Level Contributor
162 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

a good place to stay overnight on South Island. room was clean with a comfortable bed. weather was awful and we could not get up to Mount Cook as it was snowing - the main reason for going to Twizel. Very little alternative things to do in Twizel and hotel has limited facilities

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcauUkVulcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night on way to Queenstown from Christchurch. Nice, clean and good breakfast. At last minute we decided to drive up to Mt Cook in morning. The hotel gladly gave us a late checkout which allowed us to drive up and back, visit the Hillary Alpine Center and hike for two hours. Excellent vistas. Glad we made the extra trip rather than head straight to Queenstown.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chelanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The 60s are callIing and they want their hotel back. Old and beat up. One redeeming quality is the view from the rear of the hotel which is equipped with patios. No furniture though. We used an ironing board and a desk chair so we could sit outside. Friendly service but no amenities.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Twizel hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were happy with the large room. We did have a bit of a view to mountains but as in other places in NZ they plant trees blocking the view.I guess when you have so many stunning views you don't care where you plant trees. The reception staff were very helpful BUT dining staff were less enthusiastic. They did have a number a buses in but breakfast was a little bit sad when we got there at 8.30 am. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austimum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We booked at the Mackenzie Country Inn based on the photos on their website. But we found things different than they look on the site. The photos on the website create the impression of a higher-class establishment, while we found it to be nothing more than average. From the photos you also get the impression that you can se the lake from the property; surprise, surprise, you can't. And from our room we could not even see the mountains properly due to all the huge trees at the perimeter of the property.
If you HAVE TO stay in Twizel I would say go for it, because it is not a bad experience. But you can probably find better elsewhere in the vicinity...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schalk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twizel
0.4 mi away
High Country Holiday Lodge
0.2 mi away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#1 of 4 in Twizel
22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Matuka Lodge
Matuka Lodge
#1 of 6 in Twizel
313 reviews
6.7 mi away
Lakestone Lodge
Lakestone Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pukaki
56 reviews
1.2 mi away
Omahau Downs
Omahau Downs
#3 of 6 in Twizel
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackenzie Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackenzie Country Inn

Property: Mackenzie Country Inn
Address: 2 Wairepo Roads | Cnr Ostler & Wairepo Roads, Twizel, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Twizel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mackenzie Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mackenzie Basins best kept secret with stunning mountain views from a relaxed setting. Featuring natural stone, roaring fires and expansive lawns, Mackenzie Country Inn is the ultimate place to chill out after a day experiencing the activities and sights the region has to offer.Private balconies/patios, views to the spectacular mountain surrounds and a bath in all 108 rooms, paradise is found!With its own restaurant, rustic bar with Sky, modern conference/function facilities, internet and laundry Mackenzie Country Inn is the perfect location for your family holiday, ski accommodation, Honeymoon escape, getaway, or wedding.A Qualmark 3.5 star rated hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Mackenzie Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackenzie Country Hotel Twizel
Country Inn South Island
South Island Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing