We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mackenzie Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Twizel
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Super clean, as every where else in NZ, but the hotel really needs to be update. Carpet in rooms is totally worn to the thread. Other than that it is ok,

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myriamc421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
There are newer reviews for Mackenzie Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 255 of 316 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed a night in a deluxe room on a quiet night at Mackenzie Country Inn. Everyone we met, apart from the breakfast attendant, were extremely friendly and helpful. Even the Japanese/Korean male waitor, though busy, remained cheerful, helpful, and efficient. Kudos to him! As people say, it is a clean and practical place, but in addition, it is offers a truly peaceful and spacious atmosphere. We really felt as though we could relax. Dinner in the restuarant offered food from both the bar and the ala carte menu. Our bar food was delicious, huge portions. The rooms were clean, and we found the shower to be great. Breakfast was hot, sufficient buffet. Perhaps the only thing I could say about breakfast was that it could perhaps offer some spreads appropriate to diabetics for toast. The attendent was unfriendly, and seemed more occupied with resetting tables than helping, but she was not the norm there. Would definitely stay again if in that part of the country. We wished there had been a help/info booklet in the room, outlining walks in the area or other cafes.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhillygirlNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We had a nice stay at this place after getting a deal through grabone.co.nz for 2 nights.

There isn't too much to make this stay stand out from any other place where you put your head when you are tired. The view was hidden from our room but maybe it would have been better from upstairs.

The rooms were nice and clean which was a bonus, and there was a good service overall. However our fridge leaked water which made our room stink like wet carpet. Yes, we should have contacted the management during the day, but seriously when you arrive back late on your 2nd night you just want to sleep. So we aired it whilst showering (the shower worked well) and mentioned it in the morning, without anything really done about the fact that it was annoying (but when the hotel was full...where they have moved us too anyway..?). Oh well.

Would recommend this place as long as you dont have to pay too much for it, as I am sure there are others in town just like it for less.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobbieTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Clean and practical, but the restaurant was only buffet style and was a lot to be desired

Room Tip: Ask for a back room overlooking the gardens
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ynotcracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We had 2 interconnecting rooms and huge beds for 5 adults. However, shower water pressure is low and hot water can only run for 30minutes continuously (you must read the hotel info in your room to know).

Shared laundry facilities available and there's in house restaurant although there's only breakfast buffet. Would be better off at Poppies Cafe across the road for good breakfast and coffee.

Lots of mosquitoes and flies so do keep your room windows closed! Good location for a stopover.

No free wireless but you can purchase them at the receiption for $5 (30minutes) onwards.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nadyne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

This Inn is just charming and good value for money. The staff here are very friendly. We just spent a night here and enjoyed the breakfast and a dinner here. We were a large group with a few vegetarians and the management took care of our needs. Our room was on the ground floor and overlooked a field. The bed was comfortable. It is a great place to watch the stars satellites in the sky at night. For the price I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladybeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Looks great from the outside, no lifts to get to upper floor, rooms desperately need updating, restaurant food quality lacking i.e. food not cooked well. Heater noisy in room, we didn't trust it enough to leave it on overnight. However, the bed was comfortable, the staff were very friendly, relaxing by the huge open fire filled in some time. Would only ever stay for an overnight stay again as we did this time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thirst4culture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twizeled, General Manager at Mackenzie Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2011

Thank you taking the time to review your stay with us at MacKenzie Country Inn. I am delighted to read you found the the bed comfortable and the staff very friendly. I do hope you brought to the attention of the staff your disappointment with the food and that they addressed this for you. Through the anonymous Qualmark New Zealand feedback forms guests have highly rated the food so it is disappointing to hear of guests being let down.
Whilst our standard rooms have an older decor we strive to maintain the cleanliness to a very high standard, as you have noted. The beds throughout the property were all upgraded within in last year.

Thank you again for your review. I do hope we can host you again.

sincerely

Ken Davidson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twizel
0.4 mi away
High Country Holiday Lodge
17.0 mi away
Heritage Gateway Hotel
Heritage Gateway Hotel
#3 of 4 in Omarama
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#1 of 4 in Twizel
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
2.5 mi away
Matuka Lodge
Matuka Lodge
#1 of 6 in Twizel
323 reviews
0.7 mi away
Twizel Holiday Park
Twizel Holiday Park
#3 of 6 in Twizel
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackenzie Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackenzie Country Inn

Address: 2 Wairepo Roads | Cnr Ostler & Wairepo Roads, Twizel, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Twizel
Price Range: $99 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mackenzie Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mackenzie Basins best kept secret with stunning mountain views from a relaxed setting. Featuring natural stone, roaring fires and expansive lawns, Mackenzie Country Inn is the ultimate place to chill out after a day experiencing the activities and sights the region has to offer.Private balconies/patios, views to the spectacular mountain surrounds and a bath in all 108 rooms, paradise is found!With its own restaurant, rustic bar with Sky, modern conference/function facilities, internet and laundry Mackenzie Country Inn is the perfect location for your family holiday, ski accommodation, Honeymoon escape, getaway, or wedding.A Qualmark 3.5 star rated hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mackenzie Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackenzie Country Hotel Twizel
Country Inn South Island
South Island Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing