We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Home Away from Home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mackenzie Units Motel

Mackenzie Units Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Twizel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mackenzie Units Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Twizel
Soldotna, Alaska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

This place is a rare find. We have stayed in Twizel before, but the hotel we normally stayed at was booked and more expensive than our last visit. Everything in Twizel seemed booked or were slightly more expensive than we wanted to pay. So we booked this unit for 3 nights. The owner Maren is awesome! She is so sweet and accommodating. The value for the money we paid is unbelievable. We had lots of room, ample full kitchen and utensils (saved money shopping and making our own dinners with having a stove!) We had 2 nights booked in Lake Tekapo (less than an hour away) and decided to cancel it and stay 2 more nights in Twizel since the price was great and the drive to do Tekapo stuff, short. Free Wifi and a small washing machine makes this place really homey! We loved it and will stay again and recommend to everybody. Thank you Maren!

Room Tip: Twizel is centrally located for many great things to see and do. Lake Tekapo (more touristy, busy an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AK907nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
254 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We really enjoyed our two nights in the Mackenzie units. The staff could not have been more helpful even finding me an iron when I needed one. The bed was super "comfy" giving us two great nights of sleep. There was a large living room with kitchen including a full sized stove as well as a microwave. We headed the warnings about the hot water and so had shorter showers and consequently did not have a problem. Having free wifi was great as was having a washing machine to do our washing. There was also helpful travel information available. Both heating and cooling worked well. We would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There are only two units both identical. Sorry no fitness centre...could not undo one I had touched...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We were near to the end of our hols in NZ and were booked in to stay in this hotel...motel ..nearly all the accomadation we had in NZ was excellent only to be let down. By this one only good things were large room and was clean. No safe in the room no water in the fridge no wifi in the room and have to pay 5dollors for wifi there was a bad smell in the corridors all the staff seemed to have been badly trained,resturant was ok ,breakfast was poor,and badly organised

Room Tip: Delux were all large and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianHenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jl_ck
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stumbled on these units unexpectedly. Initially we had looked at the motel when you just enter Twizel, but didn't like the look of them and saw these as we were driving around. There are only two units, but they are large, have everything you need and are very clean. the wifi was quite slow and you need to use the hot water carefully or it will go cold but otherwise was fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jl_ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were looking for an accommodation near the Mount Cook area and found it in Twizel: the Mackenzie Units. The rate cannot be beaten. Our unit had a very big living room with kitchen (with everything you need), two bedrooms and a simple clean bath with washing machine. The bed was good, also the WIFI. We recommend to buy fresh salmon e.g. at High Country Salmon Farm south of Twizel. Thanks our lovely host lady Claire for everything.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EuleRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerem-maharal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

after a month travelling in new zealands roads, we came to twizel , as a base exploring mt.cook- and found these wanderful units. the units are big,very well equiped ,very very clean-just a perfect place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evyayosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We came to Twizel for 2 weeks to go fishing and explore the area. We had 2 young children with us, and Mackenzie Units was just the perfect place for us. The unit was serviced to very high standards on a daily basis; sheets changed every few days, and any leftover dishes were also cleaned. It was great to have a washing mashine there with washing powder provided!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank estherstone5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twizel
0.8 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
0.5 mi away
High Country Holiday Lodge
0.6 mi away
Aspen Court Motel - Twizel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
0.8 mi away
Omahau Downs
Omahau Downs
#3 of 7 in Twizel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
17.4 mi away
ASURE Sierra Motel
ASURE Sierra Motel
#1 of 4 in Omarama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackenzie Units Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackenzie Units Motel

Property: Mackenzie Units Motel
Address: 126 Mackenzie Drive, Twizel 7901, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Twizel
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing