We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Carrot Cake”

The Musterer's Hut Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Twizel
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: At The Musterer's Hut Cafe we specialize in homemade food, made fresh on the premises. Our retro themed cafe is open daily from 9am - 4pm. Relax in the sun while the kids play on our outdoor playground, or play a round of mini golf. Browse in the boutique giftshop for that unique gift. Enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, unquie decor and friendly staff - it's the place to stop in Twizel!
Twizel, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Carrot Cake”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I just LOVE the carrot cake at The Musterer's Hut Cafe ... it goes well with their wonderfully fluffy mocha!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    25
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“For the traveller in need of a coffee”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We had heard that Musterers had a good playground for the kids but wasn't a good place for coffee. Wrong. When I walked in the two staff members were deep in conversation about coffee - a good sign. Then I noticed they used Switch Espresso - another good sign. The service we received was excellent and the barista new what she was doing. The coffee was piping hot but not burnt. I recommend this coffee stop for the weary traveller.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kiwis777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
221 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great A2O food stop”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stopped in here on arrival in Twizel on the shuttle from Christchurch. We had a lovely lunch on a busy Good Friday. We were warned there would be a wait but the food turned up quickly despite the busyness of the cafe. All our food was nice without being spectacular but the service was prompt and friendly and we judged this to be a great little cafe. Quirky setting and plenty to choose from both in the cabinet and the menu.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Best Food! and free wifi”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

They make great food and even better coffee At the Musterers Hut. This is a must visit if you are in Twizel. Quaint decor, amazing homemade food and superb coffee , not to mention warm and friendly service.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CASAMAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Anau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great place for lunch on the A2O”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We enjoyed our stop here for lunch on our way to Lake Ohau. Stayed far too long as still had some way to go but was lovely sitting in the sun with good food and coffee.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Musterer's Hut Cafe also viewed

Twizel, Mackenzie District
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 

Been to The Musterer's Hut Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing