We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An authentic high country experience in the Mackenzie Country nz.”

The Musterer's Hut Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Twizel
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: At The Musterer's Hut Cafe we specialize in homemade food, made fresh on the premises. Our retro themed cafe is open daily from 9am - 4pm. Relax in the sun while the kids play on our outdoor playground, or play a round of mini golf. Browse in the boutique giftshop for that unique gift. Enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, unquie decor and friendly staff - it's the place to stop in Twizel!
Reviewed June 24, 2013

welcoming and friendly with decor that reflects the early high country tradition. the food and coffee are first class. As a local, we have chosen the Musterers Hut as our preferred cafe in Twizel.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Madge2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for The Musterer's Hut Cafe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 76 of 85 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

I spend a good portion of summer in Twizel and since it's opening, have been a frequent customer at the Musterer's Hut. I love the kiwiness of this place, coming from a farm myself it really does take on the smoko in the shearing shed look..........however.........on arriving for a coffee in late summer at 2.45pm we had only just ordered our eats and coffee when a staff member started emptying the food cabinet........come on guys.....closing time was 4pm why are you cleaning out the food at 3pm? To add to this, a family of four arrived looking for something to eat and drink only to find an empty cabinet........money lost! While some of us appreciate you have lives outside of work if your closing time is 4pm then surely you should trade until then???
On the up side, the food and coffee is great and the setting, along with a cool mini golf course to entertain the kids (additional cost) is relaxing........except when you feel that an hour before closing staff are packing up around you........disappointed!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wideyedkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Average service, no smiles. I had burnt sweetcorn fritters and burnt bacon. Nice decor and large premises with playground and mini golf (at a fairly pricy cost). May appeal more to tourists than locals? Breakfast also on the higher end of what I would pay, and certainly didn't warrant it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlloftheLights1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyree S, Owner at The Musterer's Hut Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

We are sorry you were not happy with your meal - we would have happily made you another meal if you had told us at the time. We hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Having spent the night at the backpackers lodge at Mt Cook, our group of 12 decided to head for Twizel for breakfast. The Musterer's Hut caught our eye and we were pleased with our decision. Very tasty food, good price and friendly service

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank del_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Ordered two coffees 20 minutes ago and still waiting. It is incredibly slow. Friday lunchtime about 20 other groups and don't seem to be able to cope with that!!!! Hopeless!!! How long should you expect to wait for 2 takeaway coffees!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lipm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyree S, Owner at The Musterer's Hut Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Ahhh... Great coffee is worth waiting for :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Musterer's Hut Cafe also viewed

Twizel, Mackenzie District
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 
Twizel, Mackenzie District
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 

Been to The Musterer's Hut Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing