We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth visiting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lord of the Rings Twizel Tour

Lord of the Rings Twizel Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
$82.56*
and up
Pelennor Fields Lord of the Rings Set Tour with Breakfast from Twizel
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Twizel
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Good tour with some nice background information and fun cosplay. Even if you don't know LODR juste go and appreciate the beauty of the countryside.
Peter L, France

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    23
    1
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Take this tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was our only Lord of the Rings tour in New Zealand and it was definitely worth it. Dawn gives an enthusiastic tour and provides much information about the LOTR and Hobbit movies and the scene preparation. The costumes and photos were fun.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“an exciting and funny tour !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We really enjoy this tour with the awesome Dawn! Even if we didn't well know the movie, the explainations were precise and clear. She had an answer to each question. We had a lot of fun, above all with all the costumes ;) Highly recommended!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Franck L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
402 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“One for the enthusiast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

If you are into the Lord of the Rings, then this tour is for you. My wife and myself knew a little about the books and films but our guide, Dawn, had enough knowledge to make up for our lack of detail. The tour is interesting more down to Dawn's enthusiasm and said knowledge, than what you actually see although the scenery is spectacular. Be prepared to let your inhibitions go and join in the fun

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank geordie9Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun AND Informative!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Since three of our four family members are huge Tolkien fans (the fourth one did like the movies), we had been checking out various film locations on the South Island. When we arrived in Twizel, we knew we were in for a special treat - Pelennor Fields. Dawn, our tour guide, was an extra in the LOTR movie and had all kinds of delightful inside info on the making of the films. She drove us out to the site, encouraged us to use our imaginations, and then helped us by supplying weapons, orc masks, cloaks, flags, etc.. These props were used to re-enact several familiar scenes, while Dawn obligingly took photos of us all. We enjoyed ourselves immensely and would highly recommend this tour to all.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Queenmarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lord of the Rings Twizel Tour also viewed

Twizel, Mackenzie District
 
Twizel, Mackenzie District
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Lord of the Rings Twizel Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing