We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second visit confirmed this IS the best resort in the Yasawas!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yaqeta Island
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our second visit confirmed this IS the best resort in the Yasawas!”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We weren't sure if our second visit to this fabulous island would be as good as the first... but as soon as we stepped off the seaplane and Tofu (the resident dog) came running up to us, and we saw so many familar faces there to greet us... we know we were right to come back. This small, friendly resort is the most relaxing place we've ever been - and we've travelled far and wide. A real barefoot island experience, but with some of the luxuries of life - such as the lovely, fresh food, beautifully presented (don't forget to ask to see the vegetarian menu - even if you're not a vegetarian it adds heaps more choices - and the veggie curry is fantastic as is the fritatta). The bures are large, airy, clean and whether you choose a beachfront,bure, a honeymoon bure or one of the two garden bures you'll only be a few steps from the beach. We stayed in garden bure 2, probably the most private of all the bures as it's set slightly back from the beach up a short slope. It sits between the 2 honeymoon bures at the other side of the main area away from the rest of the bures. It has a private verandah (perhaps needing a new coat of paint but otherwise great to sunbake or sit and read.) We met so many lovely couples there, from every corner of the world, (USA, Norway, UK, Switzerland, Australia, Italy...) and although there's a lot of young couples there was a spattering of 'oldies' like us. We loved going to the bar every evening and chatting to the other visitors, checking the balckboard every morning to see who was arriving/leaving and what trips were available (often free - snorkeling trips, island walks, village and school trips, and of course the beautiful children arriving every Sunday to sing to us). We adore the beaches - there's plenty of beach to walk along particularly at low tide, with so many differrent vistas - lovely sandy areas, mangroves (so interesting at low tide), rocky areas, snorkeling straight off the beach and so much more. The secluded beach picnic was fantastic - definately recommend it. We were never bored. And the lovely massage ladies... the Bobo was fantastic!

But of course the real 'stars' at Navutu are the people - I hesitate to say staff because they are more like family than staff. Nothing is too much bother, they go the extra mile with a smile...
Watti is the star of the show, a beautiful person - and very talented! Watti you went out of your way to make our stay special - thank you. And Dan, Eta, Api, Kikau, Sunia, Sai, Penne, Samu, Grace, Todi, Seruvi, Ravi, Reapi, Ben, Michelle..... I know I've forgotton some names...apologies. And a new friend, Adilina - I'll write soon. Thanks also to Jeff and Crystal who manage the resort - we had some great conversations. We hope to return again in a couple of years. (With rugby uniforms for the school hopefully!) Our best wishes to everyone there - you are wonderful people and we think of you often.

Some hints -
Get the Pacific Island Seaplane if you can - much better than the boat or the Turtle Air service - goes straight to/from the airport to the island with fantastic views during the 30 minute journey.
Take some little gifts for the kids or the villagers - they give so much in their smiles, their songs, their enthusiasm...basic school supplies (pens/pencils/reading books/maps/crayons...), balloons, notebooks, little games...or even some items of clothing.

Room Tip: All the bures are great! Garden #2 is the most private, on the same side as the honeymoon bures whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    80
    12
    8
    6
See reviews for
33
535
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at Navutu Stars at the end of OCtober...considering we were looking for a remote island getaway with no technological distractions, NS did not disappoint.
The island and resort are picturesque and well worth the trip.
Probably the most notable thing for us were the staff. EVERYONE from management to the servers and housekeeping all had a smile on their faces all the time, knew us by name from day 1, and were always willing to help. They all took such pride in the resort and their village, and I am so glad we chose to support NS.
I am a qualified masseuse and would highly recommend the massage....it was exceptional.
We were really given a welcome, wonderful Fijian experience and it definitely left a lasting impression. A definite must for romantic getaways or those wanting some serious R+R and sunshine.

Room Tip: We loved the Ocean Front Bure. (we stayed in both) Beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmberJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Navutu Stars at the end of October, for our 20th Wedding Anniversary. I had spent many months researching many resorts in Fiji, and I truly believe, that I don't think we could have chosen a better resort to stay. The moment we arrived, I couldn't believe my eyes.... just how beautiful it was, simplicity mixed with elegance. The service you recieve is Amazing. The entire staff are amazing, I will never forget them. It is a very relaxed atmosphere, and you really do wind down. One oh the highlights for us, was the school visit. The other was sitting at the bar before dinner each night, enjoying Sunia's yummy cocktails and getting to know the other guests. The food is of a very high standard, we enjoyed each meal very much and the Lovo night is Amazing! We stayed in a Grand Bure, as this was a special occasion for us, but next time we would be happy to stay in a Garden Bure.
We are already planning our return trip to Navutu, I feel that once you have found something this good, why stay elsewhere?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

A very late review for a stay a long time ago - felt bad I haven't reviewed sooner. Absolutely great holiday - amazing location, amazing staff and amazing food. Can't recommend highly enough! Tips:

- Half-board gets you more than enough food (you won't want more than one course for lunch given the size of the dinners)
- Definitely defintiely take up the option for a private picnic at a deserted beach.. amazing experience.
- Go and visit the village!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We went to Navutu Stars for our honeymoon and it was an amazing experience. The spa services were by far the best (Tarika is amazing and she also teaches Yoga at 7am every morning). We had a total of 3 services each in the 5 days we were there. I strongly recomend the coconut milk scrub. The cuisine was by far the best we had in Fiji. There was ample choices every day. We opted for the full board and in hindsight, it was way too much food and we should have chosen the half board. We also chose to have private dining one night with the sunset view and it was amazing. But remember to bring bug spray with you - those mosquitos will eat you alive!!
The rooms were kept very clean, however the toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, etc) were not good at all. They smelled disgusting; bring your own! There was no tea/coffee in the room but they did provide waters daily. There is also no safe in the room, which had us worried but it really is a safe place, so that fear soon subsided.
There are 1-2 activities per day, which last about an hour each, leaving the rest of the day with not much to do. I did wish there were more activities. There is free internet, however there is no wi-fi ; forcing you to sit in a room using their computer.
Everyone knows you by name and are always cheerful and seem happy to see you.
We strongly suggest you try the deep sea fishing trip - it's about $350 for 4 people and its well worth it! We caught Walu and brought it back to the resort, and the resort cooked it to our liking for lunch! It was amazing!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teamrojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Having been to Fiji some 12 times we know they talk their resorts up. Navutu is not a 5 star resort in terms of facilities but the staff are 5 star. The accommodation is comfortable, bathrooms are average, no tea, coffee in rooms etc but Navutu is a very friendly and special place. The staff make you feel like you are their friends and part of their family. We had great fun and enjoyed our stay immensely. The new managers (2013) are awesome people and this resort will only get better with their influence.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Brien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Navutu for 8 amazing days for our anniversary. From the moment we arrived on the island, greeted by smiles and a song, it was all that we could hope for and more. We stayed in garden bure 9 which gave us privacy while still being footsteps away from the beach. The room was very clean and comfortable. We walked into our bure which was filled with fresh flowers and a welcome note written in leaves. No AC but the fans are perfect for temperature control. They even provide an umbrella just in case of bad weather. The cleaning staff did an immaculate job thoughout our stay. The hammock outside our room was great for listening to the waves.It was really awesome to have the different activities available daily, many free of charge. We definitely recommend the limestone caves and pretty much any snorkeling trip as well as the trip to the village. We were lucky enough to get to watch a track and field competition in the village during our trip which was super cool. We would also recommend dinner on the sunrise deck and breakfast in bed at least once. As many other reviewers have said, the staff is really who make navutu the special place it is! They are all wonderful in so many ways! They made our trip very memorable :) Because of all this and so much more, we will definitely bear the 17 hour trip and greatly look forward to returning to Navutu! Thank you Navutu, from Jen and Dorian!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenandDorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yaqeta Island
18.0 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
713 reviews
5.9 mi away
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Nacula Island
1,384 reviews
3.9 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Tavewa Island
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Nanuya Island Resort
Nanuya Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Nanuya
532 reviews
19.9 mi away
Yasawa Island Resort and Spa
Yasawa Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Yasawa Island
295 reviews
16.7 mi away
Mantaray Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort

Property: Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort
Address: PO Box 1838, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Yaqeta Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yaqeta Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Navutu Stars Hotel Yaqeta Island
Navutu Stars Yaqeta Island
Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort Yaqeta Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing