We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yaqeta Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I split our Fiji honeymoon into two parts and spent the second half at Navutu Stars. We stayed at a different island resort the previous week and absolutely loved it; we were so sad to leave and didn't believe that anything could possibly top our experience... and then we arrived at Navutu Stars. From the moment Seruvi picked us up in the boat right through to to the farewell song we were both completely blown away, firstly by the friendly staff and quality of service and then by the outstanding accommodation and beauty of the resort. We had been impressed with these same things on the previous island, but Navutu really is a cut above. Every staff member goes well out of their way to make sure you have a wonderful experience; nothing is too much trouble for them. They are all so friendly, sincere and exceptionally professional. We loved them all, but special thanks have to go to Jeff (a legend on the open seas, deep sea fishing with him was an absolute highlight, make sure you do it) and Seruvi (a wealth of island knowledge & has the biggest smile getting around).
We stayed in a garden bure (#2) which is tucked away on its own amid beautiful hibiscus bushes. It was perfect for us; we'd stayed in a beachfront bure at the previous resort and so didn't mind not having the immediate water views but you don't need them anyway. We loved the total privacy and peace of the garden bure, plus the beach (with hammocks and loungers) is just a few steps away down a sandy path. We were round the corner from most of the other bures and therefore had a little beach pretty much all to ourselves.
Navutu is a perfect couples resort. We saw one family arriving as we left, but other than that it was entirely couples, mostly honeymooners. I think the whole place holds just 20 people at full capacity, so the peace and quiet is wonderful. You have the option to be as private or as social as you want; we met and hung out with some really awesome people, especially at cocktail hour, on Lovo night and on snorkel trips, but also had lots of opportunity for romance :)
The location is perhaps not as perfect as some other resorts... the sunset is hidden just around the corner of the island and at low tide the reef is exposed so it's hard to find a spot to swim but honestly, these things didn't matter at all. The resort has a pool, they have daily snorkel trips out to different spots, and uninterrupted sunset views are only a short walk away.
Another thing worth mentioning is the food. It’s spectacular. Everything on the menu looked incredible and everything we ate was fresh, creative and delicious. The guys in the kitchen really do an amazing job and we were especially grateful for the wonderful things they did with the yellowfin tuna we caught on our fishing trip: sashimi, tartare AND seared steaks presented to us on our own private sunset deck, yay!
Oh, and the honeymoon bonus of a champagne breakfast in bed on our first morning was a really lovely touch.
Thank you Navutu Stars for an unforgettable honeymoon, we love you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
There are newer reviews for Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 659 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

We arrived by chartered boat. All I can remember thinking was - Look at the water! So clear and clean with visible fish and shells, rippling sand bottom. The resort is amazing, hidden among rambling tropical gardens, simple but ample amenities. The Resort has an African/Mediterranean feeling melded with Fijian atmosphere. The open air restaurant, pool and bar have a very relaxed but good quality about them where you would feel comfortable in any attire. The service was very good but not pushy. Our Bar man Sunia was the king of cocktails and a pleasure to talk with. His village was nearby and he walked to and from work every day. The place was filled with couples mostly honeymooners. Very romantic. The manager and the staff were always at our bec and call - to make our trip wonderful and memorable. The food was very very good. Navutu Stars is a wonderful little resort with an awesome atmosphere and I would recommend it to any one looking for a romantic trip away from reality.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This resort is a barefoot rustic chic couples resort. It is luxury in a relaxed island vibe way. We traveled for our honeymoon and stayed 9 nights. This is quite a long time, as most couples stayed on average 5-7 nights. The majority of couples were Italian, American, Australian and English.

To get there we traveled 4 hours via the Yasawa Flyer boat. Upgrade to the Captains Lounge and you get free drinks, snacks and air conditioning. The resort boat will run out and pick you up and take you to the resort. On the way home we caught the Turtle Airways seaplane and once again the resort will boat you over to a nearby resort where the seaplane lives. The seaplane takes half an hour and lands back at Nadi airport. All you have to do is email the resort and they will organize all your transfers for you.

We stayed in Bure 10 which is a larger style traditional Fijian Bure on the more private side of the resort. It was amazing so I definitely recommend booking it as it’s bigger than the other beach bures and you get your own private beach, hammock and lounge chairs. The Bure was just perfect and was very clean. The bed is on the firm side and the pillows weren’t exactly to my liking either. The Bures have small fridges, so I recommend bringing some wine or alcohol ect to have drinks in your Bure. No Hairdryer, but you won’t need it as you’ll be swimming all the time anyway.

As the resort is very remote sometimes you couldn’t have the cocktail you like because they had run out of limes or mint ect, this was disappointing but you have to get over it as you need to remember it is a remote island. The food ranged from good to great, but I would not say 5 stars. The dinner menu always had a good choice of entrée main and desserts, with a lot of fresh fish and seafood on the menu, but always having at least a chicken or beef option. After 7 days the dinner menu repeats itself. Lovo dinner night was really fun and I recommend you get all guests to put your tables together and eat in one big table. We did and it was lots of fun.

Activities were great and I highly recommend the Limestone cave trip and ask about booking a private beach picnic, they will take you somewhere amazing where you can be totally alone. We also did deep sea fishing, but be warned, it is very rocky and if you are worried about sea sickness don’t do it, as I got really sick. My husband did catch a great fish though.

There is a salt water pool which we used a lot and the water at the beach is crystal clear. The resort is based on a lagoon and it is very tidal. You need to time your swims around high tides, the resort puts the tides times on a blackboard each day for you. Don’t worry too much about it as you can go on snorkeling trips or swim in the pool when it’s low tide to pass the time.

Last of all have fun! Make sure you make the effort to talk to and learn all the guests and staffs names as it will make your time there much nicer. With a little effort we made some great friends and had a lovely time. September and October is the time to go, it’s nice, hot and sunny!

Room Tip: Ask for Bure 10, it's the last Bure on the privte side of the Island, and is a much bigger Bure...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We took the seaplane in and the catamaran leaving . In between well, it was AMAZING.
Nine days in a beautiful place ..for sure, but most grateful for meeting some of the most beautiful people (Fijians) on earth . I can't possibly attempt to name them all for fear of leaving someone out but I will just say I love people who like to smile and laugh and these beautiful people have wonderful, kind and loving smiles and hearts .
You can find sun,sand ,surf,sky in a lot of places but SMILES not always .
This place and its people was exactly what we were looking for .
We found it the very first day while laying in a hammock .....I said ' listen'
long pause .....really ?
The only thing we could here was the breeze gently blowing through palms.
9 days ....an occasion long boat and once in awhile the sound of the sea plane in the distance a couple of times a day . Excited arrivals or sad departures ??
We had never been to Fiji read about many resorts read about 100 reviews on this one alone and happy to add comments to the growing and glowing file on Navutu Star Resort
The food was just awesome Chef Ben and staff ...shout out to pantry chef Michele ...they do an incredible job . Never disappointed not once ...beautiful, tasteful ,well presented food always .
We had 3 meals daily ......very consistent. Well done.
The service staff are some of the sweetest people ever . Vinaka
Yoga by Torrika as well as massages are memorable and so is she ...love love , love in her heart and for her.
Went line fishing 2 times with my friend Samu ...show off .lol
You try casting a long line ...and catching fish in 2 minutes like he does.
Went out fishing for big one also. Dayle caught 60 lb yellon fin tuna caught 6 fish all total
But Dayle wins the prize for largest ...she is another show off lol
Accommodations are comfortable and beautiful
There is some much to say about this trip and not enough words to descript it all
I would go back tomorrow
Lets just say when asked about our trip I keep my answer very simple AMAZING
If you are thinking about going ...well enough thinking do yourself a favor and GO

Jerry Alajajian
Dayle Westover

Room Tip: Stay in front Beachfront Bure #9 was great ..down by the massage Bure
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is in a very attractive part of the world. The trip from Denauru is very pleasant on the once a day ferry. I would advise paying the little extra to sit in the captains cabin area otherwise you could spend four hours in the sun with little shade.

You are met of the boat by members of the staff who transfer you on the smaller boat to the resort. There are only a few bures we stayed in two types Grand and garden. Most are on the beach with a few set back which are the cheaper garden bures. There are three or four larger bures around the headland and these are the grand bures. They are lovely very spacious and the beach they are on is very private and quiet. We loved lazing there for most of the day. The rooms are quite big but have a large bath in the floor. i know it sounds terribly romantic but they arent that great. In fcat at night they can be a hazard as it gets really dark and I managed to fall in them one night so be warned! We had the romantic bath night filled by a member of staff who add oils flowers etc, which was fun but as the bath is so big the water was only just tepid.

The garden Bure and beach bure seem the same size and are fine but the garden bure seem to be on a walk way for the staff so they are always walking in front of your bure so go for the beach bure if you can. The rooms are simple but perfect for a no shoes holiday.

The snorkling is a little limited of the resort but they do take you, for a fee, to other places where it is much better. It is just lovely though to lounge in the hammock in front of each bure or on the beach bed and just look at the view and maybe take a quick dip. The pool is good too with comfortable day bed nearby. There are a few mosquittos during the day so take a spray but on most days there was enough breeze to stop them being a real nuisance

The resort offers great things but it is all a little limited but then it is not nearly as expensive as others and it is of a good standard and very relaxing. The food was good although the menu was a little limited but we did enjoy it. The alcohol was reasonably priced especially the wine, I have see some horrendous mark ups in places such as this.

The staff are lovely. They all try and learn your name and really try hard to assist. I had a special request to see a game of rugby on tv. As there was no tv the resort arranged for me to watch the match at the cooks house. It required a boat trip at 9 pm across the lagoon where his family welcomed me ionto their home. The generator had to be started up (we provided the petrol) and most of the village joined us to watch. We returned across the pitch black lagoon at 1.00 am. I am very grateful to the resort and the staff for arranging this it was an amazing experience.

I wouldn't want my comments to take away from this resort, it is lovely and good value for money considering how much we paid; we got a lot of relaxation and beauty for our money.

Room Tip: Avoid the garden bure if you can
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paultreble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Bula!

My partner and I enjoyed a wonderful 5 nights at the resort. We stayed in both the garden bure and grand bure and it was bliss every day to wake up to the sounds of the ocean.

Other reviews describe the place as simple but elegant and I couldn't agree more. It was perfect.
We took full advantage of the activities on offer and snorkelled everyday. The snorkelling around the yasawas is the best i have seen and I have visited the great barrier reef, blue hole in egypt and snorkelled around thailand and indonesia.

A review would not be complete without mention of the friendly staff and managers Jeff & Crystal. The Navatu team are a happy group who ensure each guest is enjoying themselves and looked after, but discreet enough to allow you the quiet time you are there for.

i can't say enough good things about the resort, location and staff - it is a must for a taste of paradise.

Richard & Suzy

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My Husband and I spent 5 nights at Navutu Stars in one of the garden bures for our honeymoon and it was truly amazing. The resort is so simple, yet elegant and beautiful. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. You are greeted with a warm welcome from the staff and who could forget, the welcome massage!
The staff goes out of their way to make you truly feel like you've found paradise. The views are amazing, the water is crystal clear, and you are in full relaxation mode. After a year of wedding planning, this place was absolutely perfect.
The food was delicious and fresh. The activities were great and afforadable or you could easily do nothing and be perfectly happy.
Awesome place if you are looking for paradise :)

Many memories were made and we thank everyone at Navutu Stars for the trip of a lifetime!!

Room Tip: Garden Bure #2 is more affordable than the beachfront and we felt very close to the beach and loved...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustandJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yaqeta Island
18.0 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
736 reviews
5.9 mi away
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Nacula Island
1,408 reviews
3.9 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Tavewa Island
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Nanuya Island Resort
Nanuya Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Nanuya
536 reviews
19.9 mi away
Yasawa Island Resort and Spa
Yasawa Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Yasawa Island
298 reviews
2.5 mi away
Turtle Island
Turtle Island
#1 of 1 in Turtle Island
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort

Address: PO Box 1838, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Yaqeta Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yaqeta Island
Price Range: $232 - $543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Navutu Stars Hotel Yaqeta Island
Navutu Stars Yaqeta Island
Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort Yaqeta Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing