We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Navutu is Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yaqeta Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2008

We just returned from two amazing weeks at Navutu Stars for our delayed honeymoon. It was the only stop on our trip, since we wanted a “get-away-from-everything” vacation. It is a truly special place and our vacation was the most wonderful trip we have ever taken. I really cannot rave enough about this resort and the people that work there.

The owners have created an absolute gem and their impeccable style and special attention to detail is evident. We were one of the first three couples to stay at the resort after it had been closed for a month of maintenance in February 2008. (During the month the resort was closed, they built a new covered lounge area by the bar which keeps it cool and gives plenty of room to relax during happy hour).

The friendliness and openness of the staff is incredible. They make you feel like family, and their enthusiasm is infectious. And because we were there with only two other couples, we became very close with our co-guests -- so much so that when one of the couples got engaged, we all cheered, cried and drank champagne together late into the night. We were very sad to see those guests leave the resort, and we will always consider them good friends. And we made other friends that actually picked us up when we returned to the main island, so the we could enjoy one last evening of Fijian hospitality!

As for the resort itself, where do we begin? The location is amazing, the atmosphere is effortlessly chic, the food is terrific, and the staff is genuine, warm and incredibly attentive. It actually feels like you've been invited into their homes for the vacation. Freddy and Maddie really got every detail right in designing this getaway, and the absence of technology (and distractions) is wonderful.

Activities we loved: (1) snorkeling just off the resort and on day trips; (2) scuba with Niko from the dive shop at the Coral Reef; (3) sunset cruise with Noa the bartender, and members of the incredibly musical staff; (4) trip to the limestone caves; (5) village trips, especially attending church on Palm Sunday at the main village on Yaqeta (it was Children's Sunday -- the singing was breathtaking), (6) cocktail hour every evening with our co-guests and Noa at the bar (he makes the most amazing cocktails and is a wonderful person), and (7) Daily lessons in speaking Fijian (supplemented by the patient and friendly staff, who taught us a lot of phrases in the local dialect of the Yasawas).

The Kava ceremony and Lovo feast were also great. We also had some relaxing massages at the Spa bure. (Tip: Try to schedule massages during high tide, so you can listen to the relaxing sound of waves lapping 15 feet from where you are being massaged!)

Navutu allows you to spend your vacation many different ways. You can really fill your days with the various activities available at and near the resort, or you can simply relax in a hammock or daybed all day. A typical day for us was breakfast in the main dining area, snorkeling or another morning activity, post-snorkel cocktail, lunch, nap on outdoor daybed, relaxation massage, clean up for cocktail hour, dinner and then hanging out and talking with the other guests at the bar after dinner. Another plus for us was the diversity of the guests -- there’s just something about a resort like Navutu that attracts friendly, outgoing people.

Some comments on things other reviewers have mentioned: 1) The lagoon is tidal, as are all the lagoons in the Yasawas. It never bothered us at all. In fact, we spent a lot of the low-tide time walking out into the lagoon, watching the rays and finding starfish. Nighttime low tides are also a great time to walk out into the lagoon and stargaze. 2) We never had any problem with water pressure or temperature, nor with anything in the room. In fact, when one of the handles on our sliding door came loose, it was repaired before I even remembered to mention it to the front desk. (How’s that for attention to detail?) 3) Yes, Noa’s mojitos are that good. I make a mean mojito myself, and I thought Noa’s mojitos could never live up to all the hype I had read. But they are easily the best I have ever had. 4) The activities away from the resort do have a small additional charge, which is always minimal, given that you travel by boat to the locations. The amount of the charge is just enough to cover the gasoline costs. Most of the activities cost less than a cocktail. 5) Meal portions are enormous. We used the gourmet meal plan so that we could eat whatever we wanted, and we could never finish our meals. We usually shared an appetizer, a pasta and a main course, and we occasionally shared a dessert -- and we were stuffed! I cannot understand the reviewers that considered the portions small. We routinely asked our servers to bring us smaller portions, or to skip parts of the meal (and at over 200 pounds, my husband has a hearty appetite).

The bottom line about a resort like Navutu is that your vacation is what you make of it. Embrace the people, the incredible location, and wonderful activities, and you will have one amazing experience after another. Keep to yourself and you will enjoy the amazing solitude of this little corner of the earth. The best thing about Navutu Stars is that you can do both, as your mood suits you.

Finally, we must say a special word about the owners and the staff. They are incredible people. They are open, warm, caring, and truly dedicated to making sure that your stay is as perfect as possible. The first day, I was worried that we would forget all the names, as everyone (even the landscapers) would come up and shake our hands and say hello ("Bula!"). By the end of the first week, we knew them all by heart, and talked with everyone each day. Thanks to the owners Freddy and Maddie, and all the wonderful staff, including Noa (our giant itau!), Dan, Kikau, Seruvi, Eddie, Eta, Lytia, Veroni, Veroni, and Mae, who have all worked so hard to create one of the most special places in the world.

I hope that you all get to spend some time at Navutu Stars at some point in your lives. We can’t wait to go back.

Bula and Vinaka Vaka Levu!!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TravAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

545 - 551 of 697 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2008

My husband and I just returned from an 8 night stay at Navutu Stars. I chose this resort for our Fiji vacation due to all the positive reviews on trip advisor.com. I must say it's all true!....Our stay at Navutu Stars exceeded our expectations. We even thought about extending our stay because we simply didn't want to leave Navutu Stars.
The resort is well designed. A rustic chic boutique resort with not only Fijian but also Balinese and Mediterrean influences. Kudos to Maddy and Freddie for their beautifully executed vision.
We stayed in beachfront bure #6. The bures are well appointed with dresser/amoire for clothes and a little mini bar area. The built in seating area is nice too. The bures are very roomy with sliding glass doors across the entire front of the bure for gorgeous views of the lagoon.
The entire staff at Navutu Stars was incredibly welcoming and genuinely a nice, fun group of people. We really enjoyed meeting everyone. I had heard before arriving to Fiji that Fijians are very hospitable but I must say I was blown away by the hospitality the crew at Navutu Stars showed us during our stay. I felt like I was leaving family when it was time to say goodbye.
Chef Ben and his crew had us looking forward to every meal. All the food was delicous!...Ben's pasta dishes were 'molto bene!'...he even hand makes some of the pasta such as ravioli. We couldn't get enough of the Waloo fish either. However, Ben prepared it (smoked, grilled etc.) we loved it.
Ok, after all the talk about Noa's famous mojitos I had to try for myself. I must say they are quite good and my cocktail of choice during our stay. However, all Noa's cocktails were yummy and he serves up a 'special' cocktail every night.
We really enjoyed mingling with the other guests. It was quite an eclectic group from all over the globe and we have fond memories of everyone. We made a few friends that we hope to stay in contact with.
We really hope to return to Navutu Stars as it is a very special place in our hearts now.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dana-Laurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2008

My wife and I spent 7 nights ( meant to be 6 but we extended for an extra night) at Navutu Stars in March 2008 as part of our honeymoon. This place is as close to paradise as you can find. The Fijian people are generally amazing but the staff at Navutu even go beyond these expectations. They were all fantastic and made our stay so fun and enjoyable (Thanks May). The bure are so unique and relaxing with the white stone finish and the high thatched rooves that sometimes you dont want to leave them. We were in a beachfront bure and the views are stunning. Navutu has an amazing pool that we found hard to move from but there is also good swimming in the sea out the front when the tide is in. The bar is a great place to mingle before and after dinner and we made some great friends there. Add to this Noa's awesome cocktails and few quiet Fiji Bitters. Last but certainly not least is the amazing food produced by head chef Ben and his team. The meals were excellent and wouldn't be out of place anywhere in the world. The food was fresh and plenty of local ingrediants were used. Overall we had a fantastic stay and will certainly be back again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank azza11Nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2008

Our Second Honeymoon:

This place is truly amazing. You expect from a remote island great atmosphere and beaches but what exceeded our expectations were the food, accomodations and personal service. The little resort is awesome and was a perfect escape for a couple. It's a small resort but beautifully designed and well kept.

From the moment we arrived we knew right away we had made the right choice. The employees, mostly natives of local islands were so pleasant to be with. Their care, love and attention made a big impact on us. The italian operaters add a little european accent to the experience.

We stayed for 8 days. Activities included a cave dive (worth the trip), scuba (serveral great sites), and other typical island activities (eating and resting). LOT's of great food.

We would definately go back we enjoyed the island, the staff and the other guest we met...cool group of people from Japan to New Zealand.

You can e-mail us for any futher questions or if you would like additional photos.

David and Amanda Geller
San Diego, California

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2008

We stayed at Navutu for 5 nights just before Christmas as part of our RTW trip. From the moment we arrived it was heaven. Although we did not have very good weather while we were there - it did not matter. The staff, the setting, the food, the owners, the accommodation (I could go on and on) were simply fantastic. Snorkelling was superb. We enjoyed every minute. We hope some day we will be back. A big hello to all our friends at Navutu and thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travellertheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2008

We would just like to say that Navutu Stars Resort is just heaven on earth. We had a unforgetable experiance and a great honeymoon. The staff and management are marvellous and the Island/accomadation speaks for itself.

Food is great with lots of variety and freshness. We would love to go back in the future.

Many thanks
Sunny and Rachna

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Rachna_Sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2008

great food & great service & perfect location; come by seaplane- it's a 35 minute ride; everyone that came by the 4 hr boat got sick.

Don't miss:
1) at least one snorkeling trip (to the Blue Lagoon)- we saw electric blue/purpule starfish!!!
2) private dinner overlooking the resort- very romantic
3) kava ceremony
4) coconut demonstration- he cracks a coconut in half with his bare hands.
5) sashimi (on nights available)
6) club sandwich
7) fruit salad
8) Eta's mojito
9) glass of wine while playing your favorite board game (they have chess type and monopoly type games)

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank nattiem2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yaqeta Island
18 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Naukacuvu Island
788 reviews
5.9 mi away
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Nacula Island
1,462 reviews
3.9 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Tavewa Island
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Nanuya Island Resort
Nanuya Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Nanuya Lailai Island
546 reviews
19.9 mi away
Yasawa Island Resort and Spa
Yasawa Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Yasawa Island
308 reviews
2.5 mi away
Turtle Island
Turtle Island
#1 of 1 in Nanuya Levu
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort

Address: PO Box 1838, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Yaqeta Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yaqeta Island
Price Range: $216 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Navutu Stars Hotel Yaqeta Island
Navutu Stars Yaqeta Island
Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort Yaqeta Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing