We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Best vacation I've ever taken and I'm not a surfer!!!_”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tavarua Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tavarua Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tavarua Island
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Taverua is now my favorite place on earth. The people were wonderful, the food was great and there was planty to do for a non-surfer. My wife and I renewed our wedding vows while out there and the island management jumped through hoops to make it a life-time memory. All for just a few extra bucks, no big cost. I can't say enough great things about Taverua....and the surfers were mentioning that there were only 2-3 more guys on the wave since it was opened up to everybody, so thats cool. You stay out for a week and make many good friends. If you go, say hello to Eddie...he works there and he's just great!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Jbpierik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 54 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2011

What can I say, the most beautiful island in Fiji and I have been to most, staff are amazing, treat you like you are family, good incredible and the ocean is so perfectly clear. Can't fault it! Most romantic

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank future-counsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I don't surf, and this was my best vacation ever. The island staff is fantastic. There is plenty to do. The food is fantastic and the staff is incredible. You feel like you are on the most beautiful spot in the whole world. I have a full review on my blog www.surfwidow925.blogspot.com

It has lots of pictures, tips for what to expect and do on the island.

I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: All off the rooms have ocean views and are individual burres. You are just a few yards to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Cecelia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Known through the surfer community as one of the best places to surf, Cloudbreak and Restaurants, the island alone is what anyone would dream of if you were to escape to your private oasis. No television, 15 bungalows, fishing, paddle boarding, island hoping, NO AGENDA in sight. Staff is made up of Fijians and some Americans working part time as an EMT, Lifeguard, or general helping hand. You can walk around the island in 15 mins, crystal clear waters, food is served breakfast lunch and dinner. The pool and jacuzzi sit in front of Restaurants with views of other islands. This has been such a jewel for surfers to cherish due to it's world re-known reef break with it's timeless ambiance of seclusion. To get there, you have to take a boat from Viti Levu (or I heard a helicopter) for a short 20 mins ride across. The staff are very friendly, you never sense you're being bothered by their presence, well worth the price for such peace. Surfers or not, honeymooners who wish to indulge in each others presence in a romantic setting with a boat ride away for activities, this is the place. We island hopped, scuba diving, paddle board, surfed, visited the local village the chief of Tavarua presides over on the main land, Kava ceremonies, and snorkeled.

It's not just a surfing haven, it's a world paradise. Great for families as well.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank TravelingYoginista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2008

After having done a Mentawai boat trip and many other surf adventures as a surf widow, Tavarua is in a league of its own. Beyond words. As the island only holds about 40 guests, it can almost guarantee that you have the water to yourself. Stays are extended by invite only, and are mind-blowing. Not cheap, but worth every penny and then some. If you are lucky enough to get an invite, just say yes.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank kriskelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
467
Reviewed October 2, 2005

My husband and I just returned from Tavarua. We were there for a week and it was lovely. Being a surf-widow was never so much fun! Of course, there was a huge swell and Restaurants was breaking and CB was huge. Needless to say, the entire trip just paid for itself right then and there. The island is beautiful with turquoise water and white sand. The bures are small but very comfortable. There is even a hairdryer!No. 1-4 are good as they have a view of the boatshed so you never miss a boat out. I don't surf but the pool and jacuzzi were wonderful and a great place to watch Restaurants. The boutique is very stylish with lots of Vix and Rosa Cha bikinis and great Pure Fiji products to buy. Plus, the a/c is so nice in there. The food was plentiful and quite good considering it was being served en masse. I visited Castaway whilst I was there and I was so happy to return to Tavarua. It is just so mellow and low key..no cheesy activities just pure island relaxation. We went kayaking and snorkelling and it was beautiful. There is also a beach side bure for massage if you want it. Good luck getting in though..it is booked out way in advance but if you do, enjoy!!Also, take shorts to change into after the flight...you might get wet on the boat ride over. Also, I would highly suggest taking the helicopter from Nadi there and back. It reduces a two hour car and boat trip to 15 minutes plus you get an aerial tour and you also arrive before the madding crowd. On the way back though Nadi, have dinner at Daikuko, great sushi and sake, before your flight home.

50  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mullerphilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavarua Island
0.0 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
0.0 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
743 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plantation Island Resort
Plantation Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
895 reviews
0.0 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
767 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavarua Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavarua Island Resort

Address: Tavarua Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Tavarua Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tavarua Island
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Tavarua Island Hotel Tavarua Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing