We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Magnificent!!!!”
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Awesome is all we can say, had an absolute ball.
We were a bit worried after reading some of the negative reviews but shouldn't have even taken notice of them as everything was just perfect.If I had to complain about anything it would be that we didn't stay longer!!!!
Keep an ear out for Kiti yelling out "VOLLEYBALL NOOOOWWWWWWW!!!!!" great bloke who loves what he does.
My wife and myself took the kids (10 and 6) and this resort is perfect for families
Kids Club A+
Bars A+
Restaurants A+
Cleanliness A+
Beaches A+
Staff AAAAA+++++++++ (couldn't ask for better)
Highly recommend doing the Robinson Crusoe tour (Lex is a very funny host) had a blast left it to the last day and so glad we did also recommend doing the waterfall by horseback the kids had a ball riding up to the waterfall with the young tour guides and swimming under the waterfall watching the guides leap off the rock face doing back flips just having fun.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blummy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,242
    1,181
    570
    258
    200
See reviews for
1,937
869
38
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We have stayed at the Shangri-La for the past 8 years over the xmas / nye period. It is a great family resort but there is a few things to know if you intend to stay with kids. Firstly I would recommend to stay in the Lagoon wing, it is close to the "family" pool, the lagoon beach, the kids club and restaurants. Most (if not all) of the activities happen around the Lagoon pool area and as the resort is so big it will save you from walking a long way with the little ones. Secondly, the rooms are small. We have stayed in most types of rooms and it can be quite a squeeze. The Executive Suites offer good value and a bit more space, the Family rooms are not what I would call spacious and the kids sleep on the couch which is made up (we have tall kids and we had to order roll away beds at an extra cost) they are a basic hotel room size. Also make sure that the hotel provide enough beds/bedding for the number of guests staying. We have arrived a few times to find no bed/linen for the kids (send a quick email to confirm prior to arriving). If you can afford it stay in the Beach Bures, BB1, BB2 and BB3 are private and have heaps of space including a kitchen (albiet basic), stereo, 2 bathrooms, lounge room and your own yard. These are the pick of the bunch and well worth every cent. The resort offers a wonderful environment for kids, it is very safe and the staff are wonderful with the kids. We have often used the babysitting service and had a few nights to ourselves, the service is very cheap and the sitters are from the local village. Our kids have always loved the girls and we have never felt uneasy about leaving them - that is priceless! The resort is not 5 star but friendliness and warmth of the staff is. See "Mun" to arrange any activity - he is the guru of activities. His Magical tour to Natadola is the best!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sorrento70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

I have stayed here twice and the property is Excellent!!! The hotel is great for kids, although I was there for business, the kids were very well catered for and did not really notice how many ther were. Saying that I would be happy to go to the hotel as a couple for even a wedding ( there must have been 7 weddings in the 7 days I was there).
Ideal location and great sheltered beach.
Only about a 55min transfer from the airport.
To avoid the kids, just dine after about 7:30.
All reate apparently inculde breakfast ++++!!!
TIP.. Take your own mask or snokle, as if you want to casually snokle, you will have to buy them from the beach shack. Only about $20.00 anyway, so quite cheap.

Free in room internet was a great benefit also and quite fast for fiji standards...

The staff!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10/10

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aussiehard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin NT
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

My husband and I stayed in Fiji for 10 days 6 of those with friends in Denaurau and the other 4 at the Shangro La - for a little romance. Well forget that - screaming, screaminng crying whinging kids - surrounded us. Also a qualifier for staying at this resort you had to have at least 2 kids between toddler and 10 and bring your in laws to look after them.
I hung out totally at the kids free pool and ate breakfast at the adult only breakfast but had to put up with screaming mothers and fathers at dinner time trying to keep their not so well behaved in public children under some modicum of control.
NOT the place to stay for a relaxing holiday.
Staff are beautiful and so obliging; can't do enough for you.
Unfortunately it is almost a solely Australian patronage and I usually like to go overseas for an overseas experience not a caravan on the central coast type of experience. Not the hotels fault but definately something our travel agent should have known - never again for me.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kidfree4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

My family of four stayed here in July for 5 nights. The location is stunning, the resort beautiful, if not a little tired and the Fijian staff warm and welcoming. Food and alcohol was very expensive as were all things optional. While we were there, we didn't have great weather so we were a little bored as free activities are very limited. I wouldn't go back, mainly because this type of hemmed-in resort holiday isn't for us (something you don't know about until you try it).
If you are going, I would advise you to buy pre-paid meal vouchers and use them at the variety of restaurants around the island (Kalevu was our family favourite) - not just the nightly buffet. Very sorry I didn't take up this offer from our travel agent - it cost us hundreds of dollars.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineCoastDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

dont even think about staying at this hotel unless you have kids or are with a frat party. useless staff, terrible food which takes over an hour to be served. its like a child care center. mould in showers beds that roll apart while your sleeping in them..... we checked in with a group got our room keys only to find out once opening the door to find someone else already in that room. then it took 6 hours for them to find another one. this is about a 3.5 star and definatly NOT a shangri la property.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ritchie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Have visited Shangr-La a couple of times now - big resort with heaps or little to do - found this visit different to the last - service not as good, staff not as friendly. Lots of the litttle things they used to do as extras have all gone. Enjoyed outside restaurants more than resorts - Tom Lous and Geckos great fun but resort restaurants pretty average.Not happy with Bilo Bar closed for private functions - queus for kids meals a joke so we ate elsewhere alot. Good place for little kids or large groups but wouldn't return again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fijibaby66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yanuca Island
21.5 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,489 reviews
25.9 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,018 reviews
9.1 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
6.8 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
18.6 mi away
Naviti Resort
Naviti Resort
#1 of 3 in Korolevu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Address: Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Yanuca Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is exclusively located on the beautiful 109-acre private Yanuca Island with its pure white sandy beach and crystal clear, coral rich seas of the exotic Fiji Islands. Only 45 minutes from Nadi International Airport, the island is connected from the mainland by a causeway.A traditional Fijian village is the inspiration behind the layout of the 442-room resort. Every guest room, suite and bure features a private balcony with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean or the resort’s lagoon. Unlimited wired broadband Internet access is complimentary in all rooms. The Resort offers a range of activities, including water sports, scuba diving and golf, and a popular Kid's Club. A wide range of dining options are available, from Pacific Rim fine dining to informal fun dining at the poolside. Cultural shows highlight Fijian lovo, meke and firewalking rituals, South Pacific and Fijian Fire dancers.CHI, The Spa is a secluded spa village set away from the main resort, and provides the privacy and luxury of the largest Spa villas in Fiji. Four Oceanview and two Rainforest treatment villas feature relaxation areas overlooking either the Pacific Ocean or an exotic rainforest, with private garden patios, outdoor bath tubs, herbal steam room and outdoor showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Fijian Hotel Yanuca Island
Fiji Shangri La Resort
Shangri La Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Hotel
Fiji Shangri La Hotel
Fiji La Shangri
Fijian La Resort Shangri
Fiji La Resort Shangri
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa Fiji/Yanuca Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing