We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FORGET IT!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Reviewed November 5, 2010

dont even think about staying at this hotel unless you have kids or are with a frat party. useless staff, terrible food which takes over an hour to be served. its like a child care center. mould in showers beds that roll apart while your sleeping in them..... we checked in with a group got our room keys only to find out once opening the door to find someone else already in that room. then it took 6 hours for them to find another one. this is about a 3.5 star and definatly NOT a shangri la property.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ritchie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,749)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,294 - 3,300 of 3,749 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2010

Have visited Shangr-La a couple of times now - big resort with heaps or little to do - found this visit different to the last - service not as good, staff not as friendly. Lots of the litttle things they used to do as extras have all gone. Enjoyed outside restaurants more than resorts - Tom Lous and Geckos great fun but resort restaurants pretty average.Not happy with Bilo Bar closed for private functions - queus for kids meals a joke so we ate elsewhere alot. Good place for little kids or large groups but wouldn't return again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fijibaby66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

I will never travel back to the Shangri La or Fiji for that matter!
Money stolen, seeing glasses taken, credit card charged by hotel with no permission, I had to call for clean towels and for the room to be made up!
They wouldn’t even give us our change back for our purchases! I had to wait 3 hours to get my change back after purchasing some drinks. The hotel staff even had the nerve to say that she was hoping that I forgot and she got to keep $80! I wish I never paid for my stay as it was not worth a dollar. Buffet breakfast was rubbish! Buffet breakfast is an option of foods not bacon eggs and beans! Rubbish is what I call it in every way shape and form! Service was rubbish and food was just shocking! Over priced by a mile!
They are rude and made my stay a living hell! I have never been to a resort that goes through your suite cases! I busted the cleaner twice!
I hated every minute of it! The front door wouldn’t close and the sliding door was also broken.
We would wake up in the middle of the night with our front door wide open!
Do yourself a favour and book somewhere else!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TravelQueen10_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

I have literally read every review on shrangri la before I went and have recently spent 8 nights at the resort. My wife an I have a 7 , 5 and 4 year old. Wife has worked in travel for her whole life and we have travelled extensively.

Pros
- great for kids, kids club great , babysitters cheap etc as per all reviews
- Stayed in ocean family room 454. was fine. clean. not heaps of room with kids, but ok.
- Breakfast at buffet is great
- kids loved kayaks which are free

Cons
- contrary to other reviews, massages on beach are shocking. simply oil rub, not a massage. pay extra go yo spa. EVA is great
- meal package is not worth it. you could easily get away with spending $30 fijian at lunch for 2 adults rather than 2 x $30 credit.
- wine is so expensive. richmond grove $60 a bottle aussie. get duty free
- eat at kalevu resturant, really great food. we ate there every 2nd night. and it was excellent , the service at Taklevi is shocking. ate there 3 times and took 1 hour to get food/drink every time. We never ate at buffet and kept it safe with kids eating basic pasta etc and avoiding meats. People do get sick in Fiji

Hot Tips
- Highly recommend Melita the baby sitter we had. brillant, enough said.
- Request outside table on the deck at lagoon terrace for breakfast and dinner with kids. Beautiful.
- dont go on village tour through hotel. we did not take this but others did and it takes the whole day and is a bit staged by reports. If you get a good babysitter get them to take you to their village, thats what we did and it was great. left kids at the local school for 2 hours to really see what it is like. There are 7 villages around the resort and all the employees live in the villages.
- take gifts for the village. dont take chocolates etc. take resouces that will leave footprints; pens, books, highlighters, pads. Raid you work stationery cupboard, go to reject shop and get some cheap stuff . it does not cost much, but it really makes a difference.
- get a real coffee at breakfast buffet. costs extra. but only $7 Fiji . worth it.
- girls loved getting their hair braided. it is not cheap at $80 Fijian . But it takes 2-3 hours. So plan it. Would suggest start at 4pm and make your way up to Bilo bar , 50 metres away and have a cocktail at happy hr while you wait for kids.
- book babysitter when you get there straight away. if you are not happy with them , change them pronto. there is a big difference in quality, we got a great one. also if they are good, tip them. Think about what it costs at home. You will understand when you
see where they live and how they live
- we stayed in the radisson for 2 nights also. I would highly recommend breaking up the holiday. Next time we go we will spend 3-4 nights in one resort and 6 nights on another.

we had a great holiday and you will too.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank allgood0027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Just returned from my daughters wedding at the Shangri-la. While a bit apprehensive it was the most wonderful day you could ever imagine. We had a group of 27 people who enjoyed not only the special day but the days previous and afterwards as we stayed on for a holiday. Once you are in fiji time and relax it is the even better. Couldn't be happier.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barb073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Where does one begin! We had previously stayed in a Shangri-lah in Sabah and had a wonderful experience but unfortunately, this resort was the complete opposite in every way. Our first impressions were that it was resort which had grown like topsy and was very old. On our arrival there was a distinct lack of information provided about the resort by the reception staff ie where to find things, what was included in the charges, how the "meal deal" worked at the resort - in fact not a lot was explained. The reception staff seemed disinterested and in fact, the duty manager seemed to be unable to make any decisions about anything (I will revert to this comment later)! We were shown to our room (we assumed that we would be provided with a room away from family groups) by a helpful assistant but were flabagasted by its lack of flowers (considering this is a 4 1/2 star resort), empty mini bar (had a small fridge with a broken shelf in it!), no longlife milk for tea/coffee (only powered satchets), no digital clock/radio, no DVD player and the list could go on! The cleaning staff were friendly but every day there were items missing ie non-replenishment of coffee/tea; bath mats/towels not provided on more than one occasion (got down to a face washer as a bathmat); etc. - rooms were often not serviced until very late in the afternoon. Often the night turn down service didn't happen either. On a few occasions we reported the ice machine out of order only to find that the bar staff were depleting the ice machine for their use and for resort guests who required large quantities of ice!
My comment earlier about the ability of the duty manager to make any decisions came about because our son and a friend had booked a twin room in the Lagoon Wing of the resort. Quite by accident, just prior to their arrival, we discovered that in fact there were no twin rooms available and there never were any available in the Lagoon Wing but according to the duty manager for an extra $20 Fijian we could have arranged for an upgrade!! Another couple of young fellows had also requested the same room layout and were conned into paying the extra money for an upgrade to an Ocean View room - the duty manager blamed the travel agents (although one request was booked through Shangri-lah's own website!) for the this error. We asked to inspect our son's room but were told that wasn't resort policy - obviously they didn't want us to see that not only was there only one bed, but the sofa bed wasn't made up either! Our son had taken the "meal deal" but due to a delayed flight (7-8 hr delay) missed out on his dinner on the first night (and we realised he wouldn't have meals on a number of other days also). We suggested that the amount which was allocated to the meals could be credited towards the upgrade of the room - but no! The duty manager was unable to make that decision given that the package was paid for in Australia - hello everything was paid for in Australia!!! He suggested that he would advise his manager of our request and we suggested that he also ask that all travel agents be advised of the lack of availability of twin rooms in the Lagoon wing - a letter was supposed to be written and he undertook to advise us but hey we're still waiting for that reply!
On a positive note - the wedding which we attended was wonderful, the Chapel is beautiful and the massage/foot massage on the beach was the best but the staff work in a very run down facility!
We could not give this resort any more than a 3 star rating!

Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
1  Thank neilfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

This was the 1st time we travelled with a 3,6 8 yr old for 9 nights o/seas.It was my 3rd time to this resort and the best.There was so much for the kids to do but all they were interested in was swimming in the pool and the beach.I took the meal package upon booking,there was more than enough food and I didnt get bored of buffet.My wife teachers food tech./hospitality and even she was impressed[especially with the 8-10 diff. desserts].
Find Mr. Mun[pron. moon]to learn about any activity/tour/entilment regarding the resort,he"s been there 37yrs and has worked everywhere.Also the assistant executive manager Jonas Amstad is also very helpful and will fix any problem you may have.The soft drink machine for the kids wasnt working for 2 days,I notified him and he rectified it next morning.
Definately a family orientated resort that caters for young children.M y kids loved it and we will be returning again in March 2011.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2AYEARFROMNOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yanuca Island
21.5 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#1 of 4 in Korolevu
2,815 reviews
25.9 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,417 reviews
18.2 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.3 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#4 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
1,030 reviews
6.9 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
9.1 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa

Address: Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Yanuca Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Price Range: $206 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is exclusively located on the beautiful 109-acre private Yanuca Island with its pure white sandy beach and crystal clear, coral rich seas of the exotic Fiji Islands. Only 45 minutes from Nadi International Airport, the island is connected from the mainland by a causeway.A traditional Fijian village is the inspiration behind the layout of the 442-room resort. Every guest room, suite and bure features a private balcony with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean or the resort’s lagoon. Unlimited wired broadband Internet access is complimentary in all rooms. The Resort offers a range of activities, including water sports, scuba diving and golf, and a popular Kid's Club. A wide range of dining options are available, from Pacific Rim fine dining to informal fun dining at the poolside. Cultural shows highlight Fijian lovo, meke and firewalking rituals, South Pacific and Fijian Fire dancers.CHI, The Spa is a secluded spa village set away from the main resort, and provides the privacy and luxury of the largest Spa villas in Fiji. Four Oceanview and two Rainforest treatment villas feature relaxation areas overlooking either the Pacific Ocean or an exotic rainforest, with private garden patios, outdoor bath tubs, herbal steam room and outdoor showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Fijian Hotel Yanuca Island
Fiji Shangri La Resort
Shangri La Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Hotel
Fiji Shangri La Hotel
Fiji La Shangri
Fijian La Resort Shangri
Fiji La Resort Shangri
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa Fiji/Yanuca Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing