We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect wedding in a perfect setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Reviewed May 28, 2010

We stayed at the shangri la for 12 nights in an ocean premier room. The room was very clean and spacious. The bathroom had a seperate shower and bath. It was a ground floor room in the coral wing directly outside the infinity pool.
We ate in all the restaurants with our favourite being the Takali terrace. Delicious chinese style food, good service and reasonable prices. We ate breakfast at the Lagoon buffet most days. Omlettes to die for. Ate at the Golden Cowrie adults breakfast too. Not as much variety there but no kids. In saying that we were not bothered by kids in the buffet either.
Had a few games of golf. $43 fj for 9 holes including club hire. Great golf course with friendly caddies if you like. Parasailed for 10 mins for $79 fj. Great views of island. Swam in the pools. Quiter in the infinity pool or the adults pool at Takali Bar.
Snorkeled a few times directly out from our room. Seen many fish and moray eels etc. Take your own mask, flippers etc and a pair of reef shoes as the beach at that end of the resort has alot of coral and shells. The beach near the lagoon has better sanded area for swimming.
We were marrried in the seaside chapel at 3 p.m. The day was very well organised by Akinisi the wedding coordinator.The minister was a lovely man and the vows he had for us were beautiful. Not a dry eye in the chapel. Beautiful flowers were supplied and a cake. Fijian choir that sang in the chapel and a trio of seranaders played in the gardens while the photographer took photos. We were presented with an album of 72 photos which were just beautiful.Highly reccomend a wedding here. We had our wedding dinner in the Takali Terrace Restaurant. Beautiful food and wonderful service from the waiters even when we did get a bit too loud.They served our cake as dessert.
We had 8 guests at our wedding and they all stayed in the ocean view wings.All were very pleased with their rooms. All said very clean and serviced daily. Our room service lady "Kini" was lovely. Made our room up every day and each night bed turned down and flowers and shells arranged beautifully on the bed.
Had a great meal at Geckos restaurant across the road from the resort. Whole lobster $50 fj. Steak $30 fj. Friendly service and good food.
Our only complaint is the little resort grocery shop. The prices are ridiculous. $129 aus for a carton of corona beer. $9 au for block chocolate. The staff in the shop are also not very friendly.Best to take a $30 fj cab ride into town and buy everything in there. Cruisers 4 pk were $17 fj in town $40fj in resort shop.
We had stayed here in 2007 in an ocean view room for 10 nights and were very happy with everything back then. We liked being in the coral wing this time as it was alot quieter and its not as far to walk to everything as some people have said in previous reviews.
We really enjoyed our stay at the shangri la and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank humphreysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,622)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,251 - 3,257 of 3,622 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2010

This was our first trip to Fiji and we were looking for a holiday to just sit and relax. That is exactly what you get. The resort is fantastic and the staff very very friendly. There are area's for families with kids and adult only areas as well.

The resort
Is getting on in years but is well maintained. There are a number of pools and restaurants and all are very nice
The rooms
These are quite large and come with a small mini bar fridge. They are very comfortable, clean and modern and ours was fitted with a king size bed. The bathroom appears to have been recently remodelled with an eye for detail.
There is a safe in the room.
Beds were made and guests given the option to reuse linen if they liked. ( we liked this option) Our beds were turned down each night and this was a nice touch. We did return from the pool 1 afternoon to see a supervisor checking how the staff had prepared our rooms. This keeps the standard high.

Meals
Get a meal package if possible. It will save you quite a bit of money. Our Package was Breakfast included, 30 fijian dollars for lunch and 60 Fijian Dollars for Dinner. If we ate at the buffet this did not incur any additional cost.
There are a number of restaurants which offered Buffet and Al a carte menu's.
Breakfast Buffet consisted of Eggs(anyway you like), Bacon, sausage, baked beans, fried rice and a couple of other savoury dishes, toast, pastries and fruit.
Lunch was a bit disappointing and only really offered stuff that was similar to what would be offered in a food court at a shopping mall. I found it a bit disappointing.
Dinners were good with a different theme each night for the Buffet ( e.g italian, french) The al a carte meals were very nice.

Things to do
Swimming, snorkelling, Sea Kyaks, and Catamarans won't cost you but everything else does.
We paid 68 Fijian dollars for a 45 minute massage
79 fijian dollars for para sailing
23 fijian dollars for a snorkel trip to the reef (5 minutes from the resort)
I went snorkelling of the main beach and saw more marine life than on the trip but there were strong currents and visibility not that great on the reef. Still worth having a look at the reef.

Golf 43 fijian dollars for 9 holes with club hire. I was by my self so a caddie played with me which was good fun and very interesting hearing about village and resort life.
Tip - Take your own Tees and balls

Conclusion
You are really stuck at the resort so I would recommend getting a meal package if you can as it will save you money. Take plenty of books as my wife went through 3 while we were there for 7 days. Buy some wine duty free before you get to the resort. Wine is very expensive at the resort and It is very nice sitting on the balcony drinking a sav blonk watching the sun go down.
All in all a very relaxing holiday at a very very nice restort

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kitemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

my wife and I just returned from Shangri La. This resort is a haven for kids with none stop activities and fun. I chose the Shangri-La because I thought it was five star and provided windsurfing facilities. The day we arrived I went to the watersports centre to book the windsurfer, was advised that they were broken and the universal part would not be available until the end of the week. So when it finally was fixed for the 80's style windsurfer plank I had only two days to use it. They really need to update their equipment.
The staff were extremely warm and friendly, the breakfast in the adults only restaurant was fantastic. We had a dinner package but got sick of the same buffet every night but the dessert bar was excellent.
I must admit that we did feel trapped a little in the resort but finally hired a car and drove to Natadola.
Had a look at the Intercontinental Hotel, this is a five star resort but also somewhat isolated, unbeleivable Golf course.
Not enough activities for adults at the Shangri La. The so called disco was full of kids dancing on the dancefloor (as if they don't have enough activities.).
Resort shop was unbelievably expensive, $AUS96 for a case of Fijian Bitter and cheapest wine was $40AUS. So make sure you load up on duty free and buy some mixers for the spirits from the supermarket before you get to the resort (ask the driver to stop)

Highly recommend the Shangri-La for families with children up to 8 years old. Teenagers would be bored after a day.
We did enjoy our week at Shangri-La but wouldn't go back due to lack of nighlife/entetainement and opportunity to meet people.





a breakfast, dinner package but got sick of eating the same buffet every night

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank comleygarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Hotel is some 40 years old and the room's multiple makeovers are really showing (ground floor lagoon room). Food & Drink pricing appears to be based on the Ausy dollar equivalent of what they charge in the Sydney hotel. Food quality is very hit and miss, fish & chips on Monday was great but 3 days latter the same dish was a rubbery gel of over nuked frozen fish that was further killed in the deep fryer, could not even be cut with a knive. Staff have no motivation, long waits for food and service, On Sunday only one restaurant was open for b/fast so long que for food and what was there couldnt be eaten (how do you get bacon to taste like fish ?) Nightclub (Black Marlin Bar) room was like being in a 8 degree cool room with 120db music. Seemed to be hygene problems as many guests I talked to had one member of their party with Fiji belly, yes could be from the outside resataurants but we had one child vomitting and only ate at the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wellidratherbeflying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

After reading lots of reviews on this site my partner and I nearly didnt go to the Shangri La Resort and I am so glad we ignored most of the negative comments and went anyway. We went thinking the worst and really were so pleasantly surprised.

Yes I agree the resort is a bit dated, but Hello, its lived thru how many cyclone seasons?
In spite of being some 30 years old we thought it was well maintained with heaps of charm and it certainly lived up to our expectations. The grounds were so lovely and we wandered all over this great big place daily as we like to walk (strangely we never saw any broken furniture or old equipment that one reviewer mentioned)

The staff were very helpful and every member of staff that we encounted during our 7 days there greeted us with a friendly Bula and a big smile.

Our oceanview room was in the middle of the resort not far from the adult pool and had a great outlook with easy access to everything (and we took the recommended bottle of air freshener yet we didnt need it as we didnt have any moldy smells LOL).

Thanks to our research We knew that it was a family resort and had expected lots of kids but to be honest we hardly saw any running around and when we did encounter groups of them they were all under the guidence of Jonny, the Kids Club Boss and having a fun time. We tended to eat later than families so our meal times were quiet and we didnt use the Lagoon pool, instead we used either the adult pool or went to the less used Infinity pool with its awesome view.

We opted for the total meals package and it was great value as you dont have to eat at the one place if you dont like the food there. We ate at the Golden Cowrie for breakfast mostly, lunches at the Beach Bar and Grill or Coral Cafe and we thought the buffet at the Lagoon Restuarant was great. The variety was good and it was well sign posted what was in each dish (we expected rubbishy food after hearing what some had to say yet we never had a bad experience there). We sampled the Takali Restuarant which was great food and we also did seafood market night at the Beach Bar and Grill and it was yum....

Happy hour Cocktails at the Bilo bar were to die for and David and Boni do a great Kava ceremony and are very entertaining. The torchlighting by the Lagoon Restuarant at 5pm is well worth watching, then a wander down to the Bilo Bar to watch the sunset and it doesnt get much better than that in any part of the world.

The Sigatoka River Safari is apparently well worth doing (loads of other guests told us how great it is) but we didnt get to it as we slipped into Fiji time very quickly and never left the resort LOL. We were going to do the magical tour but we didnt care for the hard sell by the organiser so we skipped that too.

Thanks to other reviewers we knew to buy our duty free in Aust as Nadi doesnt have a great variety and I strongly urge all to buy soft drinks, beer, wine, bottled water, some milk, snacks etc on the way in (the bus drivers do stop) as they are very expensive at the resort. Take lots of sunscreen & tropical insect repellant, your own snorkel n mask, a huge appetite and your sense of humour (cos some of these fijians tell great stories LOL)

All in all I think its a really nice place yet its the friendly staff who make it so peaceful to stay at. We plan on going back again within the next 12 months.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank miteymel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

I stayed at the Shangri La Fijian and had the best holiday! The staff were the friendliest I've ever met and loved children especially babies! Time slows down and becomes 'Fiji time' and isn't that what holidays are meant to be about - slowing down and chilling out and taking time out from reality and the hustle and bustle of normal life?! The facilities were amazing - we stayed at the 'ocean view' wing which overlooked the coral beach -beautiful! The restaurants had a great variety of food and the activities were great fun - we played tennis, golf, went fishing, visited the local villages, had treatments at the spa (must do - highly recommend it!) We used the pools, the beach massage hut, the sea shell market, I couldn't praise the resort enough. I was there meeting my family who travelled from Australia. I'm single and they have small children - this resort is definitely not for single people as it is extremely family orientated. It's a very 'happy' place to be and I would definitely go again with my family!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paulaoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2010

Room was great as we were upgraded, grounds were a dissapointment. Food in Restaurants was average, felt like you were going from one end to another in the buffet without knowing what was available. No entertainment at night was a shame. On the way in there is old equipment strewn everywhere such as chairs, tables etc, not pleasant when taking walks. Kids club is in a difficult to access place too. I would not say that it is a place to go to now, sit on their laurels I'd say.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yanuca Island
21.5 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#6 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,661 reviews
25.9 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,227 reviews
18.2 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
9.1 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
25.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa

Address: Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Yanuca Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Price Range: $162 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is exclusively located on the beautiful 109-acre private Yanuca Island with its pure white sandy beach and crystal clear, coral rich seas of the exotic Fiji Islands. Only 45 minutes from Nadi International Airport, the island is connected from the mainland by a causeway.A traditional Fijian village is the inspiration behind the layout of the 442-room resort. Every guest room, suite and bure features a private balcony with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean or the resort’s lagoon. Unlimited wired broadband Internet access is complimentary in all rooms. The Resort offers a range of activities, including water sports, scuba diving and golf, and a popular Kid's Club. A wide range of dining options are available, from Pacific Rim fine dining to informal fun dining at the poolside. Cultural shows highlight Fijian lovo, meke and firewalking rituals, South Pacific and Fijian Fire dancers.CHI, The Spa is a secluded spa village set away from the main resort, and provides the privacy and luxury of the largest Spa villas in Fiji. Four Oceanview and two Rainforest treatment villas feature relaxation areas overlooking either the Pacific Ocean or an exotic rainforest, with private garden patios, outdoor bath tubs, herbal steam room and outdoor showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Fijian Hotel Yanuca Island
Fiji Shangri La Resort
Shangri La Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Hotel
Fiji Shangri La Hotel
Fiji La Shangri
Fijian La Resort Shangri
Fiji La Resort Shangri
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa Fiji/Yanuca Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing