We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$1,012
$781
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Beqa Lagoon Resort(Beqa Island)
$257
$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Nanuku Auberge Resort(Pacific Harbour)
$761
$666
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pearl Resort(Pacific Harbour)(Great Value!)
$196
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Waidroka Bay Resort(Korovisilou)
$168
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Uprising Beach Resort(Pacific Harbour)(Great Value!)
$117
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Crusoe's Retreat(Coral Coast)(Great Value!)
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mango Bay Resort Fiji(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
$55
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,796)
Filter reviews
3,796 results
Traveler rating
1,386
1,303
611
280
216
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,386
1,303
611
280
216
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslagoon poolchi spabeach bar and grillkids clubocean wingfamily roomfiji timebeach massagefamily holidayvillage tourkids eat freegames roommain poolfijian resortground floorwater sportsbuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
3,512 - 3,517 of 3,796 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Have Just returned from 7 days at the Shangri La with husband and 3 kids - 4, 2 and 3 months. Resort is large and it took me a day or 2 to figure out how to get around. Room was large but was just one big room which became a bit stressful with 3 small kids!! Was in ok condition but could have been a tad cleaner - we kept getting dirty feet from the floor tiles. It was on the beach front with a fabulous outlook which was the payoff - the ones on the lagoon front have a divider between beds for a little more privacy. As mentioned in other reviews we also had a touch of diarrhea - not sure if food or water but food does get left out a while at the buffet. If you are after a relaxing quiet holiday and don't have kids DON'T GO HERE. There are kids running, screaming and throwing tantrums everywhere and that is just in the restaurant!!! The restaurants were quite good - breakfast and dinner buffet probably the best but you do get a little tired of the same thing every night - they do sort of vary it but not a great deal. Although the buffet is the best value be prepared for organised chaos - very noisy and people/kids everywhere. And don't always expect your drinks to arrive - service isn't really a priority. Kids do eat free in the restaurant where they do the buffet for breakfast and dinner but the meals they give the kids at lunchtime (set menu) are pretty scungey, vegemite sandwiches on stale bread one day - we ended up paying for the kids to eat at the other restaurants.
The two eldest kids went to the kids club a bit but mainly just to play on the play equipment - we spent some time there to settle them in and I don't think the supervision is quite the same as you get at home!! There was a little boy there crying his heart out for his mum and an older male minder was pretty much just telling him to be quiet - no comforting involved at all. Maybe I am just a sappy mother!!
There is quite a bit to do if your kids are older - games room, tennis, bike riding, kayaks, snorkelling. We played mini golf one day and the kids enjoyed that. They loved the pool and could have stayed in there all day.
I managed to visit the gym a few times (never get a chance at home) and it was well equipped which was great.
We also visited the shell market at the end of the point - local women making quite nice necklaces, bracelets etc. Bought a nice necklace and bracelet for F$30.
If we were to go back I think I would check out what there are in other resorts which cater for kids maybe Treasure Island?? Cousin has just taken her 2 girls there for the 2nd time.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sceeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Just returned from a 7 night stay at the Shangri La. Stayed in a Lagoon Family Room on the ground floor. Perfect spot - open the balcony door to a large grass area with coconut trees where the kids could run, kick balls, play with coconuts etc (8 & 6). Within metres of the lagoon pool and then that is just metres from the beach. Room starting to get a little tired but perfectly adequate for what we needed which was basically a bed to sleep in.
The staff are very friendly and we loved being greeted with BULA. I was on holiday, so being relaxed was part of the equation. Overall we didnt have to wait long for anything, but things running on Fijian time is a constant joke.
Kids got sick we suspect from the lagoon pool (they didnt eat anything different to us and we didnt get sick). Talked to the next door family and they had it too - they also suspect from the pool. Don't get me wrong - the pool is clean, but one little kid using the pool as a bathroom is all it takes for everyone to catch it. By no means did it spoil our holiday - just a couple of hrs of vomit and that was it.
Kids ate free in the lagoon tce and adults had free buffet breakfast - great food for breakfast and made you so full you didnt need lunch. Kids lunches were hit and miss - some days good, some bad. Teas for the kids were great - the pizza's are the best. My hubby and i enjoyed taking the kids for their tea, dropping them off at kids club in the evening and then having our tea at the Beach bar and grill (much cheaper - could get a main and dessert, drinks and post dinner coffee cheaper than if you only ate at the buffet), plus the added bonus of beautiful scenery.
Kids loved kids club (we tended only to use it at night as we would spend the day together as a family doing activities and tours). Would advise to supervise if any water activities involved as supervsion can be a little relaxed in the pool.
Great activities on offer - did the fire walking feast - enjoyed eating the cultural food, and the magical tour (had free family game of Putt putt thrown in which we also really enjoyed) - this tour gave us a chance to shop in Sigatoka, see a village and school and lunch at a private beach where you could swim or horseride. I believe my enjoyment was enhanced by the free champagne and the fact i won the champagne drinking competition. Also did the Sigatoka River Safari (highly recommend doing this). Enjoyed all of them but would definetaly do the magical tour before the River safari as the Sigatoka River Safari is the best - not so touristy - see a real inland village away from the resorts and the money. Thankfully the owner (a fellow Aussie) drove us home instead of getting on the mini bus - it was great to talk to him about how he came to establish the business, his travels etc etc
Also did the 2 hr horseriding trek which takes you around the villages surrounding the resort - great to see how the staff really live. Would advise some horseriding experience for this, or at least not have a fear of horses.
Had all my massages, facials and daughters hair braiding at Aunty V's across the causeway - much cheaper and i like to support the local economy as well. Only a 20 min walk from my room, and needed this to walk off all the food.
Did the banana boating and parasailing - all worthwhile and cheap BB - $F15, Para - $F79 adult and $F51 kids - cheap when converted into Aus dollars and worth it for the experience.
Overall, had a fantastic stay, evidient by my daughters 1/2 hr crying as we left. Next time would combine it with a following 4 day stay at one of the outer islands for some better snorkelling etc, but dont regret our choice here.
P.S. Duty free alcohol cheaper at Nadi airport than in Australia and you can barter with them.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HappyDwarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Was very disappointed with the resort.
I know it's Fiji time there and were warned about it by our travel agent and in fact the reception said the same but it was terrible.
Maybe has improved since we went?
We had the honeymoon package but they refused to give it to us unless we paid extra.
It felt like you were annoying the staff if you ordered food as never saw a smile at all. Thats if the food ever showed up.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nitroususer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

I have stayed at Shangri La twice, but never got around to writing a review! I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. It was perfect both times, first as a teenager with family and second as a newlywed couple. It is very comfortable, the atmosphere is always relaxed. The staff are FANTASTIC and the prices are always reasonable. You cannot go wrong with Shangri La.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nata8ha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

I'm concerned about the food preperation standards at this hotel. The 4 children in my group all got sick - stomach pains, dioriah, fevers? Then i spoke to some other families who were staying here and they have all had the same experience. We got the doctor to come and he was very polite about the resort yet he was there on a regular basis for similar problems.I have then compaired notes with a number of freinds who have also stayed at this property and theve had the same proble. That old fashioned smorgasboard is not a great idea in tropical heat - we also noticed food being wrapped in glad wrap each night - so it could be served the following night? Not to mention that there seemed to be no chefs or preofessionally trained kitchen staff visable anywhere in the number of restaurants. It seemed strange that the only thing we saw that were not precooked were rice and eggs at breakfast which were cooked by a staff member that kept wiping the sweat from her brow and then handeling the eggs without washing her hands. We noticed at the beach cafe that the food was not preparded in the kitchen adjacent to the restaurant ????- it came from somewhere else ( the main kitchen) and then was put under a heat lamp (to warm it up) before being served (dryed out). The front of house staff at this resort are totally unpropfessional so i can't imagine what is going on in the kitchens!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank careysteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews