We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family hotel (that need's some TLC)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great family hotel (that need's some TLC)”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This used to be the Fijian Hotel, and has been around for many years. It's a well established, mature facility which offers a tremendous amount for families and is built for volume. For what we paid and got, it was good value.

As many other reviews here state, the hotel _really_ needs attention and an update. Peeling paint, doors that don't quite close and so on. Our room smelled of it being closed for too long while the air conditioner was running with wet towels in the room - mildewy, but it cleared once air was allowed to circulate from outside and was not unpleasant to stay in.

The food in the main area was typical heavy fried/high fat volume stuff designed for the Australasian market of the 80's and 90's - but the roast pork was heavenly and the meats were beautifully done, so I think it needs more a review than a fresh start. Budget around $20/person/meal without drinks on average, although kids tend to eat free for most of whats available The main restaurants were better quality food with prices to match ($40/head ex drinks).

If you can, go for the ground floor lagoon rooms (we stayed in 143 in the block 140-180) - they open onto the grassy area and you walk straight to the lagoon, which was simply brilliant with kids and worth the fees alone.

I really do rate this hotel, and they are close to get all 4/5 from me.... a paintjob and some tlc to the facilities/food and they will own this category, especially if the prices don't go up much.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank antoniosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,242
    1,181
    570
    258
    200
See reviews for
1,937
869
38
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Robina, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

very expensive for current state of the hotel. Lot of the beach facilities free, but food average and alcohol very expensive. Staff are saving grace, excellent, friendly and unfailingly cheerful. Rooms need redecorated to upgrade to the level of the prices being charged. We would go back simply for the relaxing atmosphere

Room Tip: rooms need to be refurbished. Clean and well looked after by excellent staff, but a bit worn. Not cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
3 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had a stay with a bit of mixed feelings. Our kids loved it, (except the food), we - the adults - enjoyed it too - overall.

The good:
The rooms are comfy
The 3 different pools
The kids club
The general staff attitude
Beautiful sunsets, and 2 beautiful beaches, one facing the ocean/reef and one facing the lagoon.

The bad:
Having stayed at Shangri-La in other parts of the world, this one did not live up to my expectations - at all.
It could do with a major overhaul, although its not exactly at the point where I would call it dilapidated.
The food is just terrible. Having been warned about the food prior to us going, I was thinking that it cant be that bad, after all it is a Shangri-La. Even so, we were still disappointed. If food, other than french fries and pizza (both of which they do decently), is important to you then I would not chose this hotel.
The prices are exorbitant, considering the quality of food.
There are not many excursions taking their starting point around the hotel, so you have to spend 1 hour going into Nadi to get one of the yacht cruises out to the islands.

Overall rating
We feel that Shangri-La offer poor value for money when it comes to quality of its food offerings, making it an only average stay experience.

We are still positive, but for the money we paid, we expected more. Having travelled extensively over Asia and elsewhere, we feel that S.E. Asia offer much better value for money.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms are quieter. 1st floor rooms have direct garden access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CPR1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had booked a 10 night stay in the resort with private veh transfers to and from the airport. The flight to FIJI from Sydney is a comfortable 3 hours, we flew FIJI Airways - it was a comfortable flight service was ok. Reception at the resort was excellent, we were upgraded for free due to our original room booking not being available. The resort is set in beautiful tropical gardens with a great pool and two very good beaches. The hotel is a little dated but was still very nice. The only real disappointment was the price of food and the meal timings. The restaurants opened at 6pm..a bit late for our 1 and 2 y.o children who are exhausted and looking for bed. the food quality for the buffet breakfast was excellent and plentiful. The buffet dinner was also very good food but at FJD$150 (Approx AUD$100) for 2 adults it was a bit pricey. The a la carte restaurants were even dearer, so if you take young children bring a back of snack foods etc for them. Basically the resort was best suited to families with older children 6-13 with plenty of activities. The kids club was good but not suited to kids under 5. Basically we went to FIJI as with our young children the flight was short, no malaria etc and very safe - if I had teenagers I would have gone to Thailand or Vietnam. IF I went back to this resort I would take the food package upgrade before arrival.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AAussieTraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Most probably rated as our best family holiday ever. We spent 12 awesome days with the friedliest and caring staff. My kids cried the day we left. See you next year. Thanks for an amazing holiday. Fantastic location.



  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Excellent location and arrangements all around but could be better connected to main cities. Especially there could be a better option to go and visit Suva with more time to be spent at Suva. The resort on its own is excellent and very much desirable to live infor short breaks.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Sanaul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

It's a big resort, mostly preferred by families and it caters well for kids. It has a number of beaches, prettier than the competing Outrigger but it gives the feeling of a large resort that remains disconnected from its environment. There's too much concrete, not enough gardens and the distances between rooms and hotel services can be long on the concrete walkway. It doesn't have the magic that other alternatives in the area can convey. However, the staff are polite, pleasant and courteous and the rooms are good, albeit far from the real beachfront.

However, if you're thinking of this venue as a wedding location, things are different. The chapel is gorgeous and the honeymoon suites are beautiful too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eberor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yanuca Island
21.5 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,490 reviews
25.9 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,018 reviews
9.1 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
6.8 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
18.6 mi away
Naviti Resort
Naviti Resort
#1 of 3 in Korolevu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Address: Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Yanuca Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is exclusively located on the beautiful 109-acre private Yanuca Island with its pure white sandy beach and crystal clear, coral rich seas of the exotic Fiji Islands. Only 45 minutes from Nadi International Airport, the island is connected from the mainland by a causeway.A traditional Fijian village is the inspiration behind the layout of the 442-room resort. Every guest room, suite and bure features a private balcony with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean or the resort’s lagoon. Unlimited wired broadband Internet access is complimentary in all rooms. The Resort offers a range of activities, including water sports, scuba diving and golf, and a popular Kid's Club. A wide range of dining options are available, from Pacific Rim fine dining to informal fun dining at the poolside. Cultural shows highlight Fijian lovo, meke and firewalking rituals, South Pacific and Fijian Fire dancers.CHI, The Spa is a secluded spa village set away from the main resort, and provides the privacy and luxury of the largest Spa villas in Fiji. Four Oceanview and two Rainforest treatment villas feature relaxation areas overlooking either the Pacific Ocean or an exotic rainforest, with private garden patios, outdoor bath tubs, herbal steam room and outdoor showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Fijian Hotel Yanuca Island
Fiji Shangri La Resort
Shangri La Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Hotel
Fiji Shangri La Hotel
Fiji La Shangri
Fijian La Resort Shangri
Fiji La Resort Shangri
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa Fiji/Yanuca Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing