We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We have just returned from a week long stay at the Shangri La and was worries having read he negative reviews. We travelled with friends and kids and had a fantastic time. Great snorkeling, kayaking and swimming. Staff were very friendly and breakfast was awesome. I would go back again and I think for what you pay it is very reasonable. Duty Manager followed up with us to ensure our room was quickly cleaned after our son got a virus and they even rang the next day to check on him - wonderful.
I would recommend this resort but don't expect five star - you are not paying for five star. If you go to enjoy yourself you will.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bec R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,621)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,314 - 2,320 of 3,621 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

This place was lovely. The majority of the stuff were friendly and provided us with an enjoyable stay. The food was good and rooms were clean.
We stayed at the ocean view room which was beautiful, only problem was that it was a fair walk to the restaurants and lobby.
Was abit weary about the resort after reading negative reviews about this place. But it was amazing. My boyfriend and I had an amazing time there. Would definitely recommend it to family and friends. It's a place for both couples and families.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Staff friendly, but not really interested in helping. Had to call/arrange own taxi to airport.
Resort equipment in poor repair. Bikes barely usable etc
Weren't told that sea snakes sometimes come up off the beach at night. Small kids running around at the time. Saw one nearly crawl into the Lagoon resturant, untill the staff scard it back off with a broom!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I had booked for 11 nights to attend a wedding at The Shangri La. We had been to Fiji 18mths ago, stayed at The Sheraton & loved it!! We we're really disappinted in The Shangri La after attending the wedding & 8 nights there. We decided to leave & go to The Sheraton to finish our holiday on a great note! We will NEVER recommend The Shangri Fiji to anyone!! Tired rooms, Food is below average, kids menu is the same in almost all their restaraunts, only had fresh towels in our rooms once during our stay, every other time we would had to call housekeeping several times & would take an hour & a half to get towels. My Husband needed to attend to some work during the evening in our room, the Internet was not working & was told someone would come down with a new cable, 24 hrs later we went to the front desk to get it ourselves!! No room services menu in our room so we called the front desk & was told someone would bring it to us, 45 mins later I had to chase it up & we finally got it an hour & a half later, then was told an hour for room service deliver, too late when you when you have two kids!! Only allowed 1 pool towel per day, not allowed to get fresh ones after kids hopping in & out of the pool & beach all day. Had to use soggy wet towels all day. Queue for drinks by pool is ridiculous, we were told they had no milk for coffees as the milk is in the store room & it's the mans day off that has the key to get in there. Ordered pizza for lunch, was told 20mins. I went back after 20 mins & they hadn't placed the order. The saddest thing is that you never get an apology about anything, we spoke to management several times throught our stay, they have a VERY carefree attitude. The nicest thing they did was not charge us for the remainder of the nights we were supposed to stay. So glad we left & made the most of the last few nights at The Sheraton.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank assileM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Second day at this resort. Fantastic place . All people and surrounding are fantastic. Every one are so polite and nice , sincerely BULA at every step. Resort prices are expensive and you have to look at your spending's as every thing you order around the place go to your room number account what can be tricky as you do not have a filling how much you spending:))) Today we ( my wife and me ) went to Gecko's resort for dinner ( just short walk over the bridge from Shangri La resort ) and were happy with the diner there. All staff were very polite and nice and the food superb and fresh . Every thing arrived in a decent time and was delicious .

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We got a great deal to return to an" old friend " which we couldn't refuse.We decided not to package a meal deal and wing it for lunch and dinner, as we were not a great fan of buffet, which was proven when we checked in at 930pm paid full freight FJD$166 ,yes could of ordered room service ,which we did on the last night,took one and a half hours,still taking in consideration of "fiji time " was still slow.
Brekkie is good ,friendly staff who have great memories,good way to start the day.
Lunch by the restaraunt near the main pool is good,great views! Club sandwich can easily be shared.
All the pools are fantastic,beach area is good.
Room was also good, King beds were fabulous,suited our needs.
The Fijian people have to be the friendliest in the world ,the guys at the front boom gate made us smile and laugh with their boisterous welcomes any time day or night.
Order the bus from Kokos Bar bar at Sigatoka ,9 seater, FJD $30 return ,right on the beach good food ,Geckos Resort across the road,Chilli Prawns the best i had, as well as the curries MMM!! ,Tomlus short cab ride was also good ,don't be put off by the shop front, all good.
The old girl is looking a bit tired and needs some touch ups, but we will definately come back, by the way look at a day out on the whales tail,a day on the water out of Denaru you won't be disappointed.
Rickkaz
Sydney

Room Tip: It depends on what you want ,east access to pool, quiet time,
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

In general, had a great time in Fiji at Shangri-La's. The location is great, the people of Fiji are very friendly and welcoming. Having the reef so close and a reasonable snorkelling area to the hotel is a bonus. Lunch and dinner can be somewhat pricey, imported beers very expensive. The stay was a little let down by the service, which could be on 'Fiji time' - slow. The beach activities are pretty good and reasonably priced. Overall we had a great time.

Room Tip: Check to make sure you have wireless internet if you need it. Get a beach towel in early.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Phillip_Sanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yanuca Island
21.5 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#6 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,661 reviews
25.9 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,225 reviews
18.2 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
9.1 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
25.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa

Address: Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Yanuca Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Price Range: $162 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is exclusively located on the beautiful 109-acre private Yanuca Island with its pure white sandy beach and crystal clear, coral rich seas of the exotic Fiji Islands. Only 45 minutes from Nadi International Airport, the island is connected from the mainland by a causeway.A traditional Fijian village is the inspiration behind the layout of the 442-room resort. Every guest room, suite and bure features a private balcony with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean or the resort’s lagoon. Unlimited wired broadband Internet access is complimentary in all rooms. The Resort offers a range of activities, including water sports, scuba diving and golf, and a popular Kid's Club. A wide range of dining options are available, from Pacific Rim fine dining to informal fun dining at the poolside. Cultural shows highlight Fijian lovo, meke and firewalking rituals, South Pacific and Fijian Fire dancers.CHI, The Spa is a secluded spa village set away from the main resort, and provides the privacy and luxury of the largest Spa villas in Fiji. Four Oceanview and two Rainforest treatment villas feature relaxation areas overlooking either the Pacific Ocean or an exotic rainforest, with private garden patios, outdoor bath tubs, herbal steam room and outdoor showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Fijian Hotel Yanuca Island
Fiji Shangri La Resort
Shangri La Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Hotel
Fiji Shangri La Hotel
Fiji La Shangri
Fijian La Resort Shangri
Fiji La Resort Shangri
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa Fiji/Yanuca Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing