We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax at the Shangri-La, Yanuca, Fiji”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Relax at the Shangri-La, Yanuca, Fiji”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Put fabulous staff, great location and a wonderful day spa in one place and you have the Shangri-La. Perfect place to relax and de-stress. Beach at your doorstep - what esle could you ask for? Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
3 Thank LeeMcKerracher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,275
    1,217
    579
    263
    203
See reviews for
2,001
883
40
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SUVA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and two kids had an awesome time at The Fijian. Their people are their biggest strength, always smiling, receptive to assistance required and treat guests like royalty. The resort is quite old but has survived the tests of times and is undergoing consistent upgrading. The beaches and other areas are spectacular. We had an excellent time and thoroughly enjoyed the food, especially at the Beach Bar & Grille. We wanted to book early for the Polynesian night but it was already pre-booked. Strongly recommended for families as evident by the number of kids with their parents at the resort.

Room Tip: Ocean View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Totally agreed with the other reviewer "Des C" who have 1 star. Currently staying in the Shangri-la in a lagoon family room and this hotel is 3 stars at best. Rooms are old and need updating, the resort surrounds are the same. The restaurant food is also average. Can't believe the good reviews this place gets. A five star resort would not charge you extra for a cappuccino for breakfast, especially at the prices charged for the rooms. The staff are very nice but that's the only compliment I can give. We stayed at the Westin in Langkawi and it is head and shoulders above this place. This hotel is living off its name and nothing more. I will never return and will never recommend Shangri-La hotels to anyone.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Leebtish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We just got back from a 6 night stay at Shangri La, Fiji.
Firstly, I'd like to thank all the reviewers on Trip Advisor. I meticulously read previous reviews and gained many worthwhile and helpful tips, it was good to be prepared, especially given we haven't stayed at this resort.
The good points: the people of Fiji (employees). They all greeted us with smiles and a cheery "bula!" They are gentle and lovely with children but it sickens me to read they are only paid $4 Per hour. I was told Shangri La employs 1,000 staff.
The gardens are extensive, lush, green and well maintained. The 3 pools- infinity, adults pool and lagoon pools are well kept, clean and heavenly. Our kids adored the lagoon pool because it mainly caters for children.
Kids Club- extremely well run with great programs. For an example, a ride on a boat, crab hunting, skirt making, coconut tree climbing and so much more. If your child is below the age of 4, a nanny must be arranged 3 hours in advance and will set you back only $24 Fijan dollars per hour- very reasonable!
The not so good points:
The restaurant prices are utterly and unreasonably inflated! Fortunately previous reviewers recommended 2 other local restaurants out of the resort. The first one was called Tommy Lu's, a few km's out of town. You will need to book a taxi which costs roughly $20 FJ return, maybe less. When I walked into the restaurant I was a little bit worried by the slightly shabby decor but the lobster was to die for and the service was second to none. There is a small supermarket next door which closes at 9.30 pm so that you can stock up on items such as water if you need it. You can walk to Gheko's which is across the road (takes about 20 mins) and we did this with 3 young kids. Gheko's was cleaner and the dining was kind of an alfresco experience. The restaurant was clean and extremely efficient with a lovely airy and happy atmosphere. The food was so healthy, incredibly fresh and delicious. On Friday and Sunday evenings they have Polynesian dancers if you want a cultural experience. Of course the resort offered something similar on Wed evening but it was 3 times more expensive than Gheko's. If you are strapped for cash it is useful knowing these things.
The problem is you just charge everything to your room number- this includes meals, drinks, massages and the myriad of other activities. Sadly, it can give you a false perception of what you are really spending. Just watch the budget and be fastidious in keeping the dockets of everything you charge to the room. I have read that there have been many miscalculations and mix ups.
The buildings are very tired and dated, if I was the manger the first thing I would do is replace the old tv's with flat screens and more streamlined cabinetry. Our room felt very small, dark and pokey. The five of us stayed in one room, I wish I had of upgraded but this kept the cost down. The house keeping was hit and miss, they came at such random hours but I was rather touched by the flowers on the bed- a typical Polynesian custom.
Would I return to Shangri La? I am still reeling about the inflated prices but the pools, beach views from our room and lovely workers could twist my arm. Another tip for management- cheaper lunch options such as a barbeque by the pool. You need to tone down the prices and remember you are catering for families and please treat your employees well because they make the place!

Room Tip: Stay in lagoon pool rooms- closer to all the action such as kids club, lagoon pool and restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jo p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Although the staff were very friendly as you would expect ,that is the only positive I can give this resort. The room we stayed in (Deluxe Ocean View Family) was too small, paper thin walls so you could hear the next doors conversation . Very tired room holes in fly screens etc, a really damp smell was present. The swimming pool area is very dated and unsafe for young kids (collapsed drains that you could break an ankle on) the toilets at the pool were filthy beer bottles and cans dumped in the bushes only minimal shade as there was only about 6 umbrellas available we booked and paid in advance for 7 nights but checked out after 1 . We were fooled by the website pictures the resort is 10 years overdue for a renovation its more like a 2-3 star definitely not 5

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Des C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel was excellent,

Room - We stayed in an ocean view family room on the ground floor with our 17mnth boy, it was in a great spot which opened out onto grass and onto the ocean.. The room was very clean and seamed quite modern. Everything worked as expected and every day Silo the same room attendant for 26years cleaned it and 'dressed' it up impeccably..

Resort - Our checkin and checkout was smooth and easy... Yes it is a massive resort, but with a pram everything was a lovely casual stroll away. The pools were always super full of people and unfortunately people would reserve deck chairs well before breakfast and not using them for most of the day..

Restaurants - Two were closed for renovations while we were there... That didnt really bother us... The Buffet dinner is quite expensive and you can go to another resaturant in the resort and order the food you want, plus pay for your childs and its still cheaper... You will go there just 'because' but it really isnt worth it. The 'fire show' is more than a laugh more than anything.. There really isnt anything cultural about it, they dance to techno music..

Tours - We did the village tour which they tout from the resort... This is worth doing, quite interesting and you are helping the community. They also stop at a supermarket before returning

Outside the resort. - Gecko's, the food here was excellent and quite a nice casual stroll from the resort, It was way cheaper than the reort and better food.. We went there a couple of times.
- Tomlus. WOW this place is amazing, the food is outstanding (get the lobster) the service is decent and friendly. You wouldnt walk here though its a $10 return taxi fare from resort which pays for itself considering the price of their food. There is a supermarket next door open till about 930pm... THey also looked after our son while we ate our meal which was great..
- Massage, Wife had a $300 treatment at Chi spa and thought it was terrible.. We both had a massage at the massage hut next to gecko's (wont miss it) $85 for an hour of awesomeness!!! they are so friendly and i swear it went way longer than an hour... They also do the girls plaits as well much cheaper than the resort..

We will happily return to this big, busy, but easy to relax hotel..

Outside the reort

Room Tip: Rooms 412 - 420 was the row we were in and were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HUSSMAN1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2013

It was relaxing straight from the arrival, food was very good and staff made our stay very pleasant. The hotel is right on the cost and there is a small but clean sandy beach. Its not the newest hotel in Fiji but it has a cosy atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Roman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yanuca Island
21.5 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,583 reviews
25.9 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,125 reviews
6.9 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
25.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
25.6 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Address: Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Yanuca Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is exclusively located on the beautiful 109-acre private Yanuca Island with its pure white sandy beach and crystal clear, coral rich seas of the exotic Fiji Islands. Only 45 minutes from Nadi International Airport, the island is connected from the mainland by a causeway.A traditional Fijian village is the inspiration behind the layout of the 442-room resort. Every guest room, suite and bure features a private balcony with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean or the resort’s lagoon. Unlimited wired broadband Internet access is complimentary in all rooms. The Resort offers a range of activities, including water sports, scuba diving and golf, and a popular Kid's Club. A wide range of dining options are available, from Pacific Rim fine dining to informal fun dining at the poolside. Cultural shows highlight Fijian lovo, meke and firewalking rituals, South Pacific and Fijian Fire dancers.CHI, The Spa is a secluded spa village set away from the main resort, and provides the privacy and luxury of the largest Spa villas in Fiji. Four Oceanview and two Rainforest treatment villas feature relaxation areas overlooking either the Pacific Ocean or an exotic rainforest, with private garden patios, outdoor bath tubs, herbal steam room and outdoor showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Fijian Hotel Yanuca Island
Fiji Shangri La Resort
Shangri La Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Hotel
Fiji Shangri La Hotel
Fiji La Shangri
Fijian La Resort Shangri
Fiji La Resort Shangri
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa Fiji/Yanuca Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing