We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Relaxing family holiday”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was our first visit back to the Shangri-La in 10 years. It was perfect for us as with our 9 and 13 year old boy there were plenty of activities and other children to hang out with. Being outside of school holidays my 13 year old struggled a bit to find a friend so the Activities Manager Johnny was fantastic at putting him to work and organising games. We walked to the local village, meet some of the kids and parents who were working at this resort. Some of the older kids from the village came and had a swim with my boys after school. I can't imagine that happening in Denerau. Yes the rooms are a bit dated but we wanted a non pretentious laid back break and didn't spend much time there anyway. The resort is huge so if you want to be amongst it all or have some quiet time there is something for everyone.

Room Tip: Away from the breakfast restaurant and definately a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,275
    1,218
    579
    263
    203
See reviews for
2,002
883
40
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We booked at Shangri-La on a whim having decided we needed a break away and this hotel had a good deal and availability to suit. After booking we began to get nervous as all the reviews went on and on about the place being overrun by families and that couples looking for a romantic vacation should avoid it at all costs. I'm happy to say that the reviews couldn't be more wrong. Sure, there are kids and families there, but we were hardly bothered by them at all. We had breakfast in the adult only restaurant and were really impressed with the buffet on offer - made to order eggs, sweet treats, continental and European breakfast options plus a range of more Asian style options such as fried noodles etc, and all the usual suspects such as hasbrowns, bacon, sausages, baked beans etc. Coffee and tea was often delivered on 'Fiji time' but we didn't mind as it was always delivered with a smile and we were never in a hurry. To be fair, we slept late on our last day and as there was a wait for a table at the adults only breakfast we braved the family buffet and it really was a terrifying experience - talk about feeling like you're running the gauntlet! Still, we only did it once and didn't hold the resort responsible for the poor manners and unruly behaviour of the children we were practically mown down my in an attempt to get any food!

We stayed in an ocean view room and it was lovely. Only disappointment was we had requested a king size bed but ended up with two doubles. Again, to be fair, we weren't promised a king size bed, but they made no real effort to accommodate the request either. But ultimately it was totally irrelevant. The room was comfortable, modern and the bed we slept in was super comfy. The bathroom was lovely with a great shower and plenty of hot water. Housekeeping did a great job everyday and there was even a turn down service if you wanted it.

We made good use of the things the resort had to offer including the gym, snorkelling equipment, mini-golf, games arcade, beach, pools and lovely walkways.

Our only real complaint was the ridiculous overcharging when it came to meals and drinks - eating on the resort was crazy expensive - at least 30-40% more than eating off resort. The good news is for just FJD$1.80 (cost of the phone call) you can call Geckos Resort which is across the road at the end of the causeway, and make a dinner booking where you can have a starter, two mains and a couple of cocktails for the same price as two mains at Shangri-La. So long as it isn't raining, it is an easy walk to Geckos. Alternatively, make a booking at TomLus (spelling?) and grab a cab (FJD$15 return) to enjoy some fantastic seafood dishes plus a good selection of European and Asian options. There is also a small store next door to stock up on bottled water and snacks at about half the price compared to the on-resort stores. f you must eat on-resort we discovered eating at the Beach Bar & Grill was the best value, and then heading to the Bilo Bar for a Toblerone Cocktail in lieu of dessert - yummy!! The buffet dinner at FJD$70 a head plus drinks, although delicious, is a total rip off in my opinion. Afterwards, we just couldn't justify approx. NZ$100 for a meal for two which was essentially a curry, a stir fry and selection of bite size desserts with a can of coke and a small bottle of water. Of course we could have stuffed ourselves to bursting but that's not our thing. However, it was the only option available to us on our night of arrival as all the other restaurants were booked out and the buffet was willing to take us as 'walk-ins'. In terms of location, we were really happy we ended up on the Coral Coast. We had a day trip on a sail boat that departed from Denerau Port and what we saw of this area, while it looks very posh, it didn't feel like an 'island holiday' kind of setting to us. Something we like particularly like was that there was the option to swim and snorkel right off the beautiful resort beach, as well as the choice to swim and sit by one of the many pools on the resort. For the money, this was a great result to us compared to one of the Denerau resorts or having to go out to one of the island resorts.

Another good idea is a half day trip into Sigatoka by cab to shop for souvenirs and stock up at the supermarket. The open market is cool but be prepared to be hassled by hard-core market sellers who aren't shy about laying a pretty heavy guilt trip on you if you don't buy!!

Overall we had a wonderful time at Shangri-La and would recommend it to all positive people, whether couples, singles or families, who are happy to find their own happiness.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TMinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

For such a large Resort, we were welcomed and treated like we were family. I have not waved and smiled so much in my whole lifetime. Bula. We had our wedding at the Beautiful Seaside Chapel which had been organised so professionally. Everything went smoothly. The staff are amazing. We felt like we were home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank IanDey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a great place to take the family. All staff are so friendly and helpful. Our accommodation was ample and well presented. This resort has a much softer more homely feel than the Denerau Island hotels (that we stayed at after). The location is brilliant too, being able to do some pretty good snorkeling right off the beach, Definitely recommend for couples and families. The only negative for us was the large king size bed was a bit worn and soggy and we ended up with sore backs, but if we had mentioned it, I am sure the staff would have sorted it.

Room Tip: We booked an Executive Suite and this was great having a separate bedroom for the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Shangri-la Fijian Resort really does have everything you could ever need on a holiday to Fiji's 'Big Island' Viti Levu.

Although this is a large resort it was filled with happy families, couples and holiday makers from all over the world (including many Australians) but it didn't seem over-crowded.

The resort, situated on its own island and connected to the mainland by a scenic causeway, boasts three swimming pools (one an adults only pool), 6 restaurants, 3 bars, free snorkeling, kayaking, sailing and numerous daily activities for the kids (and adults).

Geoff and I stayed at the Shangri-la for 5 nights in a Superior Ocean View Room which was on the 2nd floor in a quiet section of the resort. We had beautiful views of the reef and were very close to the Golden Cowrie Restaurant where we had breakfast every morning (we loved this as it had a very civilised adults only breakfast) and a couple of dinners overlooking the reef and the rolling waves. At breakfast we were often entertained by para-sailers flying past, behind the hotel's speed boat and at dinner we watched amazing sunsets slowly spread across the horizon.

Although we were holidaying without our children we didn't mind watching the other families enjoying the sun, sand and water at the lagoon every day. In fact, it was refreshing to see so many happy young families kicking back, relaxing and having fun with their kids.

We had picked up a hire car from the airport in Nadi and loved taking off every day to new areas, villages and places of interest, meeting locals and learning about the culture and history of Fiji. The highlights of these daily outings were a visit to the Fiji Museum in Suva, the Tavuni Hill Fort with its scenic views of the verdant Sigatoka Valley, getting up close and personal with Fiji's native wildlife (including the endangered Hawkesbill Turtle) at the Kula Eco Park in Korotoga and having beer and curries with the locals at the Sigatoka Club.

Even if we hadn't had our own car there were plenty of tours to jump on from the hotel's tour desk as well as good shopping in the resort's own mini shopping mall.

The staff at the resort were exceptionally friendly (as are all Fijians) and at no stage did we experience a negative 'Fiji Time' situation where we had to wait for extended periods before we were served or before our food arrived. We also enjoyed efficient room service and had pizza and burgers on our own balcony when we didn't feel like going out.

Definitely make a booking for dinner if you want to eat at the resort's restaurants as they are usually booked out.

The only disappointing element of our stay was that the internet on the 3 computers in the guest internet room was unbearably slow. I wasn't able to pick up the wifi in the public areas on my ipad or phone (probably due to my settings, as I saw many other people sitting in the lobby tapping away on their computers) so I had to go to the internet room to post photos on facebook and check emails. It took ages to load just one photo on facebook so in the end I gave up and enjoyed our holiday the old fashioned way!

From a well appointed room with magical views to wonderful snorkeling just off the resort's main lagoon beach, from friendly staff to amazing sunsets, the Shangri-la Fijian Resort provided everything we had expected and a bit more.

I highly recommend it for a holiday with or without the kids, but for couples like us, I'd suggest staying at the resort outside the school holiday period as we did. We were there at the end of July and the weather was a beautiful 30 degrees Celsius every day with low humidity and blue skies.

The Shangri-la Fijian Resort is a great place for a relaxing, well appointed holiday and is the perfect base from which to explore Fiji's main Island.

Bula!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pixsell-Image
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I recently spent a week at this resort with my grandchildren. It is an ideal location for such a family reunion. The staff are friendly, attentive and efficient. The food was good and there is a variety of eating venues to enhance the dining experience. There are also many attractions and activities to keep everyone entertained and the location is great. Although the hotel is old and in need of an upgrade, it is kept clean and everything works effectively.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

i had read quite a few less than glowing reviews about Shangri-La Fiji, and was quite worried the week before we left. i have stayed at the Outrigger a few times and at the Hideaway, Shangri-la is my hands down favourite. The room was lovely, our room attendant Arsenica was outstanding and kept it beautifully clean. Breakfast was excellent and like many others we squirrelled away some bread and donuts for later in the day. Best value meal would be the buffet lunch at the same resataurant, $30 FJ for an adult and kids eat free.
Definitely recommend the walk down to Gheckos just across from the resort particularly on a Friday or Sunday night when they have an amazing free show with fire dancing. If the kids are tired it's a $4 taxi ride back. The food is really good here and very reasonably priced.We had an ocean view family room, it is a fair hike from the Lagoon pool with kids but the room size, views and serenity made up for it. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank allie2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yanuca Island
21.5 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,586 reviews
25.9 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,128 reviews
6.9 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
25.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
25.6 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Address: Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Yanuca Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is exclusively located on the beautiful 109-acre private Yanuca Island with its pure white sandy beach and crystal clear, coral rich seas of the exotic Fiji Islands. Only 45 minutes from Nadi International Airport, the island is connected from the mainland by a causeway.A traditional Fijian village is the inspiration behind the layout of the 442-room resort. Every guest room, suite and bure features a private balcony with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean or the resort’s lagoon. Unlimited wired broadband Internet access is complimentary in all rooms. The Resort offers a range of activities, including water sports, scuba diving and golf, and a popular Kid's Club. A wide range of dining options are available, from Pacific Rim fine dining to informal fun dining at the poolside. Cultural shows highlight Fijian lovo, meke and firewalking rituals, South Pacific and Fijian Fire dancers.CHI, The Spa is a secluded spa village set away from the main resort, and provides the privacy and luxury of the largest Spa villas in Fiji. Four Oceanview and two Rainforest treatment villas feature relaxation areas overlooking either the Pacific Ocean or an exotic rainforest, with private garden patios, outdoor bath tubs, herbal steam room and outdoor showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Fijian Hotel Yanuca Island
Fiji Shangri La Resort
Shangri La Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Hotel
Fiji Shangri La Hotel
Fiji La Shangri
Fijian La Resort Shangri
Fiji La Resort Shangri
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa Fiji/Yanuca Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing