We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$1,012
$784
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Beqa Lagoon Resort(Beqa Island)
$257
$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Nanuku Auberge Resort(Pacific Harbour)
$761
$666
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pearl Resort(Pacific Harbour)(Great Value!)
$192
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Waidroka Bay Resort(Korovisilou)
$167
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Uprising Beach Resort(Pacific Harbour)(Great Value!)
$116
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Crusoe's Retreat(Coral Coast)(Great Value!)
$107
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mango Bay Resort Fiji(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$291
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Naviti Resort(Korolevu)
$127
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,796)
Filter reviews
3,797 results
Traveler rating
1,386
1,304
611
280
216
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,386
1,304
611
280
216
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslagoon poolchi spabeach bar and grillkids clubocean wingfamily roomfiji timebeach massagefamily holidayvillage tourkids eat freegames roommain poolfijian resortground floorwater sportsbuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
2,696 - 2,701 of 3,797 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here recently for a wedding and being part of a group saved this experience somewhat for me.

In the dining areas, particularly the buffet staff were often slow and disinterested - at times they were downright rude. This surprised me as housekeeping, grounds staff and other Fijians I met during my stay were such lovely people.

The resort itself and rooms were nice enough however nothing could prepare me for the huge cost of EVERYTHING. I don't mind paying for decent food however the food here was so ridiculously overpriced and of such low quality for the most part it was extremely disappointing. I also couldn't believe the lack of cheap lunch options - even the sandwich/bagel type options on the menu were over $30FJD. Cocktails were quite weak which is a shame given they were around $25 FJD each! Despite a choice of restaurants, food choices are also very limited.

The breakfast buffet was included in the price although was often missing food (particularly fruit) and staff had to be asked multiple times for simple requests such as cutlery and coffee. The dinner buffet at $70 FJD was of a very unprofessional and simplistic quality. I know this is where families go but even when quiet, it was filthy and looked as though a tornado had gone through!

As others have said, if you are a couple stay away as there are children everywhere. The adult pool is situated right next to the buffet restaurant where children eat free so there is no escape here. When there are no children and staff are cleaning up/preparing the restaurant it is still loud as they laugh and carry on making jokes with each other. They're much friendlier to each other than they are to guests!

This will be a good choice if you want to hide away from the world with your family and children but I also found it was too isolating and I wanted to see more of Fiji itself. Tours and activities were ridiculously expensive to what I have experienced before in other areas of the world (mainly Asia).

Wireless internet access was unavailable from the room forcing the use of a wired cable that was about 30cm long. This worked for the first night that we were here and never worked again. Wireless internet access was available from the pool and lobby areas however this was also sketchy and at one point was unavailable for 2 days. I called the Service Centre for an update on the issue and besides confirmation that the internet was down there was no real update or assistance on the issue. I don't go away purely to sit on the internet however it's nice to check in occasionally for updates from home so I find it unacceptable that a hotel such as the Shangri La could not organise appropriate wireless internet.

One highlight for me was the seafood night at the Beach Bar and Grill (Thurs and Saturday nights), the lobster I had while being rather expensive was sensational.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatL700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Disappointing experience: room was old and tatty, actually had to ask for a room change as first was totally inappropriate for what we booked. Resort was completely overrun by children, very difficult to find piece and quiet. Also there were some very out of control guests with inappropriate behaviour associated with the numerous wedding parties there. Do NOT under any circumstances go to the Seafood market - complete rip off - your fish is weighed but you are not told the price till the bill arrives, & despite the high price side dishes are not included. We paid $90 for 1/2 a lobster that was overcooked and yeilded precisely 4 mouthfuls. Internet centre is so slow it is virtually unusable, and shabby. We did find a secluded quiet beach at the end of the island on the last 2 days of our stay.

Room Tip: If you are after a quiet relaxing holiday do not go here. If you must then definately pay the extra and get the Ocean View to get away from the noise of the lagoon area which is teeming with kids and families.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

What a brilliant resort! Staff are friendly and the food... :) Rooms did look like they could use a spruce up, but don't let it fool you. Very comfortable, and very clean. It was a pleasure to have our conference there! A+

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Mr_Happy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

It was a great place to stay for couples and families .
The staff are very friendly and helpful so makes your holiday more pleasant,we travel the world have stayed in lots of places from very flash to middle of the road and would so value for money its good .

Room Tip: We stayed in a oceanview room and the views out to the reef and sea was lovely only thing negative would be just needs a bit of up dating but not to much of a problem.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
2  Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Just got back from 5 days at the Shangri-La in Fiji, and must say for a great (Sydney) winter break, what a perfect spot for a short holiday.

The resort is about an hours drive south of Nadi airport, and we had organised a car with the hotel to meet and greet us which was an easy start to the holiday.

Check in was very smooth with fruit juice offered, just after the usual Fijiian "Bula" being shouted by the staff in the lobby (such a super welcome!).

We were escorted to our room - (we had been booked a Lagoon View room by our agent) and was on the ground floor, which was perfect to relax on and allowed us to wander the lagoon gardens from the little terrace out front. Negative here - would be great to have a door lock from external on the terrace door and not have to use the main hotel door out the back each time).

Whilst the room overlooked the lagoon beach and the main pool where most of the daytime activities took place with the kids, the room was not noisy at all.

The room had a large king sized bed, which was very comfortable, a couch and a desk. The room was a little tired (the resort is about 30 odd years old) but well maintained. A CRT TV on a set of draws showed some lack of updates. The room does have free wired internet via a cable (I had my ultrabook with me) and lots of sockets to charge various devices (camera's, phones and iPads). Bathroom was large with built in wardrobes in the bathroom (unusual, but not a problem) and a good sized shower. The room we had had no bath (but not an issue for us). Safe was also in the bathroom (!!) and easy to use.

A point to note here, whilst the resort is very tailored to families, and our trip was just outside AUS and NZ school holidays, there were still quite a few families around, but the mix of hotel guests was great. Young families, family groups, single sex (mostly female) groups and then a few middle aged (like us!) and a fair few retirees.

It was explained to us on arrival that we would need to book for dinner each day, and when we wandered down past the Beach Grill on the first night, we could not get a table till late at 8.30pm. We then made sure that the remaining days at Breakfast, we would head to the restaurant booking office to book our tables.

The resort is massive, with numerous pools, bars and restaurants. There is an adults only breakfast area, which was brilliant, with sweeping views over the lagoon and out across the reef. If the GM is reading this though, the "adult only" pool was damned near freezing and in the winter sun (of 28c!!!) was just too cold. We ended up staying on the lagoon beach for the remainder of our stay after the first morning, where the water was warmer by several degrees than the adult only pool.

The beach on the lagoon is very safe, with crystal clear water and loads of sea life around. Top Tip is to take a waterproof camera with you and to grab a pair of flippers and mask (you have to pay for the snorkel at FJ22 - for health reasons) and get out around the reef in the lagoon for some huge fish and shoals.

The service at the resort is very Fijiian. Happy and polite (lots of "Bula" and "Vinaka", but don,t always expect "swift" service .. but you get used to that. And after all, being there to chill and relax, you do get used to how the Fijiians work.

Restaurants and bars were great. We found out that one restuarant (normally reserved for family breakfast) was out of order for some maintenance work, but was not seemingly impacting the resort much. Full buffet breakfast in Golden Cowrie was excellent, with fresh juices, fresh coffee, with an a-la-carte egg menu (which the wife loved).

Kalevu was our pick of the restaurants for dinner, which I can highly recommend the Mud Crab Chowder to start. We even had a personal table visit from the Exec Chef, Glenn, who told us how great it was to see couples at the resort, as whilst they are family led, they try to be all for everyone.

Again, if the GM is reading this, the Golden Cowrie for dinner next door to the Black Marlin bar is a little disturbed from the "douf douf" of some of the music. For the dozen or so people in the bar, the music was overkill.

Couple of stand-out team members... Ruci in the Beach Grill and Titiana (I think) in the Black Marlin Bar.. made our holiday a certain experience. Excellent service from these two ladies.

Well recommended resort for any traveller - and probably wont be our only visit to the resort.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews