We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place for family holiday”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I took my daughters aged 11 and 4 in April of 2012 and they still talk about it at least once a week - the kids club is amazing Alfred is the child whisper he is the kids club and my girls adored him and went to kids club more than they spent with us catching frogs and hermit crabs making tye dye tshirts - team this with amazing breakfast beautiful beaches kayaks snorkeling we went for 1 day trip and took a taxi into Suva one day the rest of it was spent at the hotel bicycle riding kayaking and loving life - would go again without hesitation - don't be afraid to go to the sunset bar and partake in kava night - great to hang out with the kids even with drawing and other kids - sunset kids laughing cocktails and kava - cannot go wrong

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shay-z1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,294
    1,237
    582
    266
    204
See reviews for
2,024
899
40
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was our 20+ visit to "our " Shangri-La and it is still an awesome experience. Over the years we have taken our 2 daughters to enjoy the delights of The Fijian and now our daughters come and join us with their husbands and kids to pass on the "Shangri-La Experience".
There is nothing better than a family holiday at this hotel with their wonderful staff, location and facilities. But choose your room category carefully as this will determine the success of your visit.
Lagoon wing ground level (room 101 to 160) are the best suited to families with young children with easy access to the lawn in front of the rooms and easy walk to the main pool area and lagoon beach. Some rooms are designed with internal connecting doors (family rooms if desired).
Rooms 201 to 260 are first level rooms and 301 to 360 are top level rooms all overlooking the Lagoon wing lawn and beach but access for young children is not easy.
As a couple without children and in need of peace and quiet my favourite room is 901, ground level in the Golden Cowrie Wing - best room in the whole resort, close to the "adults only Takali pool" and close to every restaurant, golf course, gym and, if you must, shopping.
The rooms called "Ocean view rooms" are of mixed quality and some are of urgent need of and upgrade ( 401 to 415). Rooms adjacent 501+ to 701+ all ground level overlooking the ocean (but no beach) are very nice but with small children the Lagoon wing is recommended.
The only real issue we had during our stay this time was the difference of quality of service during breakfast. The venues are divided in adults only at the Golden Cowrie and the rest at the Takali and Kalevu Restaurants while the Lagoon restaurant is closed for repairs to the roof.
If I had to award stars for the breakfast rooms 5 stars to Golden Cowrie and 1 star to the others, so if you are without children you are in luck. We did convey our concerns to management during our stay and did notice an improvement for 1 day but then all went back to "normal" and "Fiji time".
Overall, the hotel is my choice to see and experience the "real fiji" in comparison to the "Hawaii and Gold Coast" feel of Denarau Island.

Room Tip: Best rooms 901 to 912 ground level Golden Cowrie wing if traveling as couple. Lagoon wing 101 to 16...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Lovely resort very much aimed at children but also good fun for adults to get involved or not get involved while the children are kept busy. Staff very friendly and welcoming but you need to ask lots of questions as not forthcoming with information about events/activities or specials so always ask for information to get the most out of your holiday. We found it relaxing and fun, awesome snorkelling.

Room Tip: Our drainage wasn't working properly in the shower so a bit of flooding, and check for room serv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I first visited this resort in 1976 and fell in love with this resort instantly. We have been regular visitors ever since. We have taken our daughters there, my eldest having her honeymoon there, now I've taken my grandchildren there, they love it as much as I do and beg me to take them back
My husband has now passed on and last year for the first time went there on my own, a huge thing for me to do. The staff at this resort go out of their way to make you feel like you are a part of their extended family.
I've seen many changes over the years, some good some not so good, but over all, i don't even want to contemplate going anywhere else.
The food is excellent, the rooms are always clean and tidy, the beds and pillows are just fantastic, ever so comfortable.
This resort is what you would like to think to be as close to paradise as you can ever get.
Every aspect of this resort is to be congratulated on, a great family resort.
The next question that follows this is " What sort of trip was this, well, and I could only answer one, so I will answer it here and now, from family, to friends, to family to couples,i can't define, but if I have to mark one then for me, then I'd go with Solo

Room Tip: Family, then ground floor Lagoon wing, fantastic for kids For me, I love the top floor Lagoon wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsAJY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our family had a wonderful week at the Shangri-La. Our room was clean and spacious, plenty of room for four of us. The food at the Resort's restaurants was delicious and plenty of variety to chose from. The staff were helpful and pleasant and always said Bulla to us. The activities at the Resort were great. The kids had a so much fun in the pool and snorkling at the crystal clear beach plus there were plenty of games organised for the kids to take part in - soccer, touch rugby etc.

Room Tip: As we were traveling with 2 children, we took our own cheeses, crackers and museli bars for the kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Marcelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was our second time at the ShangriLa. This is not a hotel with a pool. Its so much more!Its an experience! You could stay for two weeks and still have activities you wish you did.
It was the most enjoyable experience we had with our 11 year old daughter, and we travel a lot! For a family, there is no better place. The kids feel like they own the place, and the Fijian staff are just heartwarming.
Fun all through... from the beach where kids can snorkel right at the shore, to the banana ride, to the kayaking, to the games room, to the kids disco, to the fire show... !
The staff around the pool also organize games for kids (and parents!) that will make your day! Just amazing! Also many options for food.. all on site.
Oh, and highly recommend the village tour. Its a wonderful and very genuine experience.
Only minor issue was the internet in the rooms...way too slow, but then again... kept us focused on the holiday!
The Shangri La is a league above. Highly and unreservedly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you have real young kids, aim for lagoon side rooms... saves you the walk to and from all the act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
4 Thank AbdelRajab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I got married at the Shangri La about 3 weeks ago. I was very nervous having our wedding there after reading some awful reviews, however our travel agent suggested we have our wedding a week before school holidays started, so we did! My wedding day was magical! We had a perfect day, we got married in the wedding chapel and had our reception on the beach, we had perfect weather and our wedding planner (Iliseva) was amazing! She had everything organised and nothing went wrong. So the Shangri La is a stunning place to have a wedding, the reception on the beach was also magical, so so so beautiful and service there was amazing! We were treated like royalty. I would recommend having the fire dancers, they made our wedding superb and very memorable! They were interactive and energetic, awesome!

We stayed in the superior ocean view part of the resort, our room was awesome! Cleaned daily, spacious and we had an amazing view from our room. I would recommend staying in this part of the resort as it is quieter and away from the pools.

The service is a little slow, but go for a swim, get to know the locals, relax and order 2 drinks at a time if you're so hung up about slow service! We didn't find this a problem, the staff were amazingly friendly.

However, we were there for a day or 2 into the school holidays and yes we noticed a HUGE difference, basically my advice is if you can, go a week before school holidays if you don't want to stay in a busy resort. School holidays are crazy, but this is not the workers fault, they are run off their feet, I felt sorry for them! Otherwise, book restaurants for dinner early, order a few drinks at a time and relax, the beach is beautiful! There is SO much to do, get amongst it!

The Chai spa was AMAZING!!! It's expensive but worth every cent. You will be seriously pampered there.

Food was good, I was sick of buffets by the end of my stay, but can't complain. The Golden Cowrie was by far our favorite restaurant, adults only, seemed to serve better food.

Over all, I loved this resort, we had the best time there. Cocktails are expensive, but we made the most of it, splurged and had the time of our lives.

Room Tip: Superior Ocean View was awesome, away from all the pools, quieter, with an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yanuca Island
21.5 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#6 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,621 reviews
25.9 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,169 reviews
18.2 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
9.1 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
25.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Address: Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Yanuca Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is exclusively located on the beautiful 109-acre private Yanuca Island with its pure white sandy beach and crystal clear, coral rich seas of the exotic Fiji Islands. Only 45 minutes from Nadi International Airport, the island is connected from the mainland by a causeway.A traditional Fijian village is the inspiration behind the layout of the 442-room resort. Every guest room, suite and bure features a private balcony with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean or the resort’s lagoon. Unlimited wired broadband Internet access is complimentary in all rooms. The Resort offers a range of activities, including water sports, scuba diving and golf, and a popular Kid's Club. A wide range of dining options are available, from Pacific Rim fine dining to informal fun dining at the poolside. Cultural shows highlight Fijian lovo, meke and firewalking rituals, South Pacific and Fijian Fire dancers.CHI, The Spa is a secluded spa village set away from the main resort, and provides the privacy and luxury of the largest Spa villas in Fiji. Four Oceanview and two Rainforest treatment villas feature relaxation areas overlooking either the Pacific Ocean or an exotic rainforest, with private garden patios, outdoor bath tubs, herbal steam room and outdoor showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Fijian Hotel Yanuca Island
Fiji Shangri La Resort
Shangri La Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Hotel
Fiji Shangri La Hotel
Fiji La Shangri
Fijian La Resort Shangri
Fiji La Resort Shangri
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa Fiji/Yanuca Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing