We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$1,012
$792
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Beqa Lagoon Resort(Beqa Island)
$257
$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Nanuku Auberge Resort(Pacific Harbour)
$761
$666
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pearl Resort(Pacific Harbour)(Great Value!)
$195
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Waidroka Bay Resort(Korovisilou)
$167
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Uprising Beach Resort(Pacific Harbour)(Great Value!)
$117
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Crusoe's Retreat(Coral Coast)(Great Value!)
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mango Bay Resort Fiji(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
$55
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$297
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Naviti Resort(Korolevu)
$127
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,796)
Filter reviews
3,796 results
Traveler rating
1,386
1,303
611
280
216
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,386
1,303
611
280
216
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslagoon poolchi spabeach bar and grillkids clubocean wingfamily roomfiji timebeach massagefamily holidayvillage tourkids eat freegames roommain poolfijian resortground floorwater sportsbuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
3,597 - 3,602 of 3,796 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2008

Shangri la fiji, is absoloutley stunning, the bad things about the food and everything else is NOT TRUE. You are greeted by fijian musicians and offered free drinks at the reception. The staff will always greet you with Bula, and are always willing to help. The rooms are smaller then they seem but the sheets are clean, and they can chnage the sheets everyday if you wish. You can snorkel and kayak for free for 1 and a half hours, and the lagoon pool and beach is great. I suggest to eat a buffet breakfeast at the Lagoon Terrace as the food is great, and not bad like everyone else is saying.

I suggest you book into the firewalking ceremony, it is absoloutley a great night, with fire dancers and traditional fijian dances. Also do the day trip, its called the magical tour. You go to a stunning beach, ride horses, boogy board, snorkel and relax.

Most of the time you can just kickback by the pool and beach, and order food from wondering waiters to your beach and pool chairs. ( the cocktails are great)

Overall the resort is excellent, i would advise it for familys, dont be put off with all the bad things that people say, cause its not true.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank jardoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2008

Young families who can't afford 5 star resorts,then this is the place for you!.
Bus trip to Resort- Fine
Arrival-Staff genuinely pleased to see us and very helpful.
Room- Ocean family room, wonderful view.Lovely and clean (maybe a tiny bit of mould in shower.but nothing serious at all),comfy beds (huge).L shaped couch made into beds for 2 of our boys and a roll out bed for our third child (ages 5,7 and 10).No musty smells.Toothbrushes,toothpaste,shower cap moisturiser,shampoo and cond, replenished everyday if required.Dressing gowns supplied.
They are pretty spot on with charges and didn't make any mistakes with ours, but check it daily on your tv or go and ask for a printout.
Alot of walking from Ocean side,but it was a nice walk (you just had to do it several times a day).
Food-We prepaid for 9 dinners for my husband and i which i'm glad we did because the food prices are exorbitant. Kids enjoyed buffet (especially desserts).We did get a bit sick of buffet,so ate at Takali (chinese,very expensive) but quite nice and beach bar and grill $29.00F for a hamburger and chips.As previously stated snack foods are the biggest rip off,so i would suggest going to Sigatoka and stocking up or bringing what you can from home.$6.50F for a stubby of beer.
Staff-The girls who cleaned our room and made our beds were fantastic and very discreet. A +++.
Kids club- Our kids went at night and loved it.The girls who do it at night are just gorgeous and the kids loved them.(gave them a nice tip at the end of the hol).
Don't know whether this is true or not but we were told that their wages are terrible,so towards the end we tipped a few staff members.
Highly recommend Natadola beach tour (expensive but worth it,we thought).When you do this you get a 15 min free banana boat ride,which our older 2 kids loved.Otherwise it is about $29.00F for 15 mins.
Pools- we were closer to the coral pool (smaller) but our kids actually preferred this to the big one (Lagoon i think).All the pools are great.
Overall we had a fantastic 10 days,we have come home so relaxed,the kids loved it.I had no expectations before we left (didn't want to be disappointed) and have come away thinking that i would love to go again.
I actually thought the cocktails were yummy $16.00F.
I also only heard positive things about the babysitters.
Make sure you go to a village and join in the kava ceremony,i will remember this fondly(the locals are so welcoming and just gorgeous).
massage $80F for one hour,down near sea sports centre,very nice. New Chi spa is very expensive.
Bus back to Airport fine also.
Get ready to say Bula alot and relax and enjoy

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank my3sonsMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2008

Just back from ten days of holiday bliss. If you are looking for a holiday for parents and children then this is the place for you. My 2 children aged 4 and 6 never wanted to leave the kids club, so many activities, so many friends and excellent friendly staff.

We stayed in the lagoon wing and whilst the room was adequite with the fold out bed out it made access to the balcony difficult. No smells like previous reviews and housekeeping where teriffic making my kids day with the arrangment of teddy's on the bed and the floral arrangement. The lagoon wing is where i would recommend families stay as it is closest to the pool, kids club and restaurant.

Had no problem with the meals, we arranged a dinner package with the travel agent and saved a heap of money doing so. My only gripe about the resort is that drinks and snacks are terribly overpriced. To combat this we took food over with us and my wife found a shop in the village next to the resort which had snacks and drinks for a fraction of the price. I don't mind being charged a little bit extra but felt the resort charged well beyond that.

Went on a tour organised by the kids club to a local school, village, Sigatoka, Kula Ecopark and local hospital which I can thoroughly recommend. The local hospital was a real eye opener, there is a program where $5fj is put on your bill to go towards the facilities at the hospital which I recommend you do.

Was very sad to leave and so was the staff, you really get to know them if you take the time to talk to them and immerse yourself in their culture.

We will be back

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank bigfootVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2008

My wife and I reacently stayed at the shangri la Fiji for six days.
Positives:
Kalevu Restaurant-Very nice.
The Gym, Golf and Spa Facilities...excellent.
The Chapel--Where our Friends were married.Gorgeous design and setting.
The Fire Dancers at the reception; 10/10.

Dissapointments: The Inescapeable wailing and screaming of childeren.This is a FAMILY resort.....Be warned.
Shangrila's description of a "pristine"environment was highly contestable.
Really bad cocktails and mixed drinks, all made with "berri" pasteurised juices at premium prices...No mojitos, or anyone who was prepared to try making one.
No pool use after Sunset-Hello! We Are On Holidays In Fiji!
Powderd Milk in the rooms-or buy real milk for 5F$ a small jug.
No mini bar.
General State of Disrepair.
Dirty Laundry bag outside our room as what seemed like a permanent fixture.
Bad food. (Other than Kalevu restaurant -- if you must stay here book to eat at kalevu every night). Horribly abused meat, fish, poultry and vegetables will have you missing home in no time.

Overall,
We would rather have saved our money.

Thanks for listening,
Mike.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Mike71Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2008

We stayed at this resort for a wedding and with all 17 people giving the same feedback through the stay, we thought it best to share these experiences and ideas with others who may be about to spend their hard earned money.

When we arrived at the resort (own expense...there is no courtesy pick-up) we were welcomed with Fijian musicians and a much needed cold fruit juice. Reception staff awcknowledged us enough to ensure they had our credit card details and we had our key.

Almost all of us were scattered in different areas of the 110 acre property and, we must admit, the room was the only thing we were reasonably happy with. Although, ensuring your room was cleaned each day was a challenge and if so, it was usually done at about 5pm when we wanted to shower.

Food was terribly over-priced for what it was. We quickly became anxious about meal times when a simple hamburger was a disaster at FJ$32...with an over-cooked patty and half a slice of tomato. If they couldn't get that right we dreaded trying anything else! And cocktails...well if you expect these on your island holiday...forget it! They were by far the worst we have had at any holiday destination. Booking a table for a wedding reception was impossible too. The Bride and Groom were informed that if they did not want to pay several thousands of dollars for a function set-up then they would have to risk getting a table for 17 people because booking a restaurant was not possible.

All of us felt as though we needed to be nice to the staff so, we would get some degree of reasonable service and most things appeared to be a hassle! We were also charged FJ$5 for the hospital fund without being informed...it just appeared on the bill. While we were all used to this type of thing we were unhappy with the sneakiness of it.

And, if you are used to some activities being included in your price, particularly non-motorised, you can forget about that. The first 30 mins is free for snorkelling and anything over and other than that is charged. Oh, by the way, don't bring cash here. Everything is charged to your room.

If you are looking for some basic grocery items head into Sigatoka which is a 10 mins cab ride and is much cheaper than the resort store. Although, don't expect staff to tell you there is a supermarket anywhere nearby!

After a week here, we can safely say for a relaxing Fijian holiday or a wedding destination head directly to Denarau Island and not Shangri-La's Fijian Resort.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dk_qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews