We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect holiday destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday destination”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Fijian resort has one of the best deals for a perfect holiday getaway.The all inclusive package just takes away all the tension of heavy packing especially when traveling with little ones.
The environment is so very laid back that just forces ones mind to rest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Farnaz Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,221
    1,161
    562
    256
    195
See reviews for
1,906
850
37
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goulburn, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Hi,
My wife and I, as well as 4 friends just returned from what I would call the best holiday of our lives.
The pace of everything at the resort was very laid back. The hotel employees should all be very proud, they made our vacation simply the best that it could be. We made personal friends of some of the staff and will be looking forward to meeting them again when we return, oh yes, we will be returning many times with our family and friends.
The food was fantastic in the a la carte restaurants, and also very good in the buffets.
The rooms were spacious, well appointed, clean and very comfortable.

Can't wait till our next holiday at this beautiful, genuine Fijian resort.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room, near the adults pool and the Tekali restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markandglenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at the Shangri-La in May for my Cousin's wedding. Venue, catering and the whole package I could not fault. The food was fantastic. The wedding was on the beach and a very memorable occasion.
Now to the resort itself. The Lagoon restaurant and Bilo Bar were both closed. We were not told about that on our arrival. Not that it was an issue. There are other family friendly and bars available. The family room was excellent for our family of four.
Bring your walking shoes to walk around the resort from your room to the resort facilities. This place is huge. Unfortunately, this resort is not 5 star but 3.5. Which sounds harsh. But the resort is a little tired now. We visited another resort for it's restaurant and were blown away by it's modern feel. Some of the resort roofs had blue tarps over it. Tiles were falling off others. The place could do with a paint and refresh. The bikes are in a poor condition. The speed boat for pulling up the parasailing or the banana boat was broken during our visit.
The staff were excellent and the play sport 'Now' activities man around the Lagoon pool our kids loved.
Great for families where you can get a bit of a break with the kids club. We went after school holidays and the older kids club wasn't happening.
If you snorkel BYO mask/snorkel and use their fins. From Lagoon beach swim out to the pools out 100metres for some good rock/corals and fish. But younger kids will enjoy the fish that swim in the shallows along the Lagoon beach edge.

Room Tip: Family rooms are a bit of a walk away to the Lagoon pool but don't worry, there is a infinity po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crinau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

WOW! This place is massive. Seemed to be lots of walking to get anywhere around the grounds but plenty of options with several pools etc.

Kids club was great. Our 2 kids loved it.

We were there for a wedding and had a ball. Loved the coral reef right at the front doorstep.

Great resort for families.

Just a shame it's 1 hrs drive from the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovebali2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was our second trip to the Shangri-La Fijian Resort. We went last year and was so impressed that we had to go back. This year there were some minor changes that really were to our advantage. We booked a Lagoon View Room but these were having a new air conditioning system put in so we were upgraded to Deluxe Ocean View Room. The room was amazing and spotlessly clean. It was serviced daily with a turn down service at night as well. the staff were the friendliest we have come across and went out of their way to help us. the Lagoon Restaurant is now a pizzeria but the buffet meals were now served in the Takali Restaurant next to the Adults only pool. The food was amazing - better than last year.

We will definately go back to the Shangri-La as it gave us a fantastic Fijian holiday

Room Tip: Rooms on the Ocean View side are a lot quieter than the Lagoon View rooms Ground floor rooms are gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

The family and i spent 3 nights here and what an amazing place. We hired a car from rosies transport at the wyndham resort denarau island and drove to shangri la resort. It took us about an hours drive. When we arrived we were welcomed by the awesome singing of the boys that unloaded our luggage from the rental and into the lobby to be checked in.
We were given nice cold drinks to cool us down from the humid heat.
Once checked in one of the boys took us to our room and showed us the many activities and facilities that were available at the resort.
When we got to our room we were welcomed with an amazing ocean veiw right out side our door. The kids being adventurous and curious loved it because they could open the door step out onto the beach and enjoy the wonderful marine life the island had to offer.

We went for a short stroll through the resort to checkout where everything was because this place is huge. We come across the Takali terrace restaurant and had a buffet lunch. The food was fantastic and they cater for all ages and had a good selection of food.

After our lunch we went to the lagoon area for a swim but on the way there we stopped at the shopping complex and brought a few things before going for a swim.

The swimming pool is huge and the beach is right next to the pool, so you have the option to swim in a nice fresh water pool or venture out into the sea and explore the reefs and coral.

They also have sport activities through out the day for eg. Volleyball, soccer, touch football, baseball all sorts of activities to keep you busy thoughout your stay. Marley is the sports event planner and is a good asset to shangri la. He's one if the funniest guys i've met throughout our stay in fiji and the kids love him. If your reading this marley Thanks for a good time bro and we hope you enjoyed your bag of goods.

Overall the shangri la is an awesome place to holiday and they have all sorts of activities and facilities to keep the most boring to the most energetic of people happy. They have a large selection of restaurants to choose from, there is an adults only restaurant and pool for those that want time out from happy, laughing kids. Theres a golf course, they have all sorts of water activities and even a meke and lovo if you want to experience a bit of the fijian culture.

Last but not least we want to thank the wonderful staff at the resort for having my family and I and it was a pleasure to be with yous throughout our stay. Thankyou to the boys in the lobby for letting me jam on the guitar with yous to welcome the guests into the resort.

Im sure everyone that comes to this paradise will enjoy it just as much as we did.

Kia ora. From the Tahau and Whakatau Whanau.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Hicksta007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We just spent 10 days at the Fijian Resort. I was very surprised that the resort was in such good condition even the rooms, as a few friends before we left advised that it was run down. Let me tell you it was not. The rooms were very clean and modern, the restaurants had great menus, we tried all the restaurants except the adults only one and none disappointed. The Shangri-La staff are the best, they were always so helpful and friendly. They seemed to be renovating all the time as the last week we were there the lagoon rooms were re-opening after renovation. It is a great place for families or if you just wanted to get away and relax. You can do as little as possible, lay by the pool or as much as possible like we did, scuba dive, banana ride, snorkeling, spa day (hot rock massage) amazing, half day village tour, the fire walking show at the hotel (there is a fire show every week but the fire-walking happens every 2nd week) we saw the none fire-walking show and that was great a lot of audience participation. Walk around the whole resort you get to see so much of the resort, tennis and golf courts, putt putt, chapel, spa, all the pools and different accommodations available as so much more. You don't need to leave the resort as it has everything you would want, but if you want to try something different try the Gecko's Restaurant across the road it's not flashy but the food was good, on Friday & Sunday they have Polynesian dancers. This was our first trip to Fiji and it wont be our last. Vinarka to all the Staff at the Shangri-La who made our trip so memorable.

Room Tip: We had the reef view room near where the buffet breakfast is served (Room 317) we had friends that s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mixy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yanuca Island
21.4 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,438 reviews
25.9 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,974 reviews
9.1 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
6.8 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
18.6 mi away
Naviti Resort
Naviti Resort
#1 of 3 in Korolevu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Address: Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Yanuca Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is exclusively located on the beautiful 109-acre private Yanuca Island with its pure white sandy beach and crystal clear, coral rich seas of the exotic Fiji Islands. Only 45 minutes from Nadi International Airport, the island is connected from the mainland by a causeway.A traditional Fijian village is the inspiration behind the layout of the 442-room resort. Every guest room, suite and bure features a private balcony with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean or the resort’s lagoon. Unlimited wired broadband Internet access is complimentary in all rooms. The Resort offers a range of activities, including water sports, scuba diving and golf, and a popular Kid's Club. A wide range of dining options are available, from Pacific Rim fine dining to informal fun dining at the poolside. Cultural shows highlight Fijian lovo, meke and firewalking rituals, South Pacific and Fijian Fire dancers.CHI, The Spa is a secluded spa village set away from the main resort, and provides the privacy and luxury of the largest Spa villas in Fiji. Four Oceanview and two Rainforest treatment villas feature relaxation areas overlooking either the Pacific Ocean or an exotic rainforest, with private garden patios, outdoor bath tubs, herbal steam room and outdoor showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Fijian Hotel Yanuca Island
Fiji Shangri La Resort
Shangri La Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Hotel
Fiji Shangri La Hotel
Fiji La Shangri
Fijian La Resort Shangri
Fiji La Resort Shangri
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa Fiji/Yanuca Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing