We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I went with a group of friends for some significant birthdays to Shangri La on Yanuaca island, This is a huge resort - possibly the largest in Fiji. Although big, you would not know it on the ground the design and landscaping hides the size. The staff are fantastic - in the typical Fijian way. 'Bula'. The resort was recovering from Cyclone Evan that had hit the western parts of Fiji the week prior to us arriving and there were signs of the clean up still under way to building and gardens with the golf course still closed. Some rooms were closed due to cyclone damage.

The resort is well serviced by 6 in-house restaurants spread throughout the complex. There is a variety of buffet and a la carte eating options available. Generally the food was good but tended to be a bit expensive. There is also 2 bars - The Black Marlin that also is a disco after 9pm and the Bilo Bar a beach side where David sings and shares kava. David has been a part of the resort since 1974 and is a local legend. Drinks were also a bit expensive (kava free) I had a Superior Lagoon View room which was excellent. It was very clean and well maintained by the ever friendly and attentive house-keeping staff.

There is plenty to do as far as water sports go with free kayaks and boards. Also available is para-sailing (F$100 - and fantastic), fishing trips, water skiing and tube rides.

Overall this was great resort in a great location. it is well suited to families but there is enough room to separate the children from adults.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top level have the best views and if you want to escape the general busyness of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilK049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,208
    1,150
    556
    255
    194
See reviews for
1,881
846
36
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aussie
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had to change our plans because of the cyclone and went to the Shangri La. After a room change to accommodate our family we had a great few days. There was plenty to do and the staff were wonderful. They were always polite and helpful. It was only marred by SSC with whom we had booked a day trip with. The staff at The Shangrila contacted them on our behalf and were told that the trips were cancelled until further notice. They DID not say check again. Anyway we lost a considerable amount of money due to this. Having said this we had a great few days the little ones were happy even got Nana to Bike ride!

Room Tip: If you are travelling with children have the Lagoon rooms as they are close to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poppynana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Yanuca Island is beautiful and I have say that I enjoyed my stay. I enjoyed the breakfast where tropical island fruits were plentiful and sweet. The golf course is an executive golf course, which means it is okay for anyone with a high handicap. However, if you are a more serious golfer, than you should go to Natadola, or better yet, plan a golf vacation on the Big Island of Hawaii where excellent Championship golf courses are abundant.

The beaches are sandy and the crystal blue waters are mesmerizing and relaxing. It is a wonderful place to unwind. You will find a lot of honeymooners enjoying themselves in Shangri-La.

It is a good location for a business meeting. The conference room is good. It is the one meeting everyone will want to attend. It is a good selection for building camaraderie.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 12Safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Shangri-La’s Fijian Resort. It’s not just about warm spots, in pools, near kids.

“Why do you want to stay there? Isn’t that a family resort?” moaned a few misguided friends. “ Why not one of the islands, like Castaway or something?” (For a start, every family I know with young children stays at Castaway).

Besides, I’ve stayed at the “Fijian” nine times since its inception in the late 60’s, for the simple reason it is the best. It ticks all the boxes, and now, with the opening of the Chi spa and exclusive 5 star bures it ticks even more.

The Fijian resort is unique in its location. You are not restricted to an island (while the resort is on the109 acre Yanuca Island it is connected to the mainland by a causeway), but you benefit from the security, and exclusiveness of an island.

“It’s like this”, I tell my well-meaning friends, “the resorts of the coral coast are beautiful and all front a wonderful coral reef. This is lovely, except the reefs are too shallow for swimming, and the beaches are oft to full of coral to comfortably lay down a sarong and ‘bathe’ .”

Of course, those resorts have lovely swimming pools.

“Then,” I go on, “you have the Denaru resorts. Fabulous and opulent. 5 star, no less. Everything you could wish for in a tropical resort, except for idyllic tropical waters in which to swim. “

Of course, Denaru has lovely swimming pools, too.

Shangri-La’s Fijian has three lovely swimming pools, and one of them is adults only.

There is a shallow reef surrounding the island to explore on a leisurely stroll. A small wave breaks on the outer edge of the reef , and there is a lagoon. The lagoon has clear water and a sandy base which makes for lovely swimming. Borrow some snorkelling gear from the water sports bure and swim out to where the sand gradually morphs into coral reef . There you can view a myriad of rainbow coloured fish – all the usual suspects, Nemo, Dory, Gill and Bubbles.... - as well as some enchanting coral, and all just a lazy 10min walk/swim from your hotel room.

Five restaurants, one cafe, and two bars, a 9 hole Peter Thompson designed golf-course, tennis, volleyball, gymnasium, deep-sea fishing, scuba, water-skiing, in fact, an abundance of water sport activities, a fantastic kid’s club, and more. The resort is extremely well-serviced.

The best part of this island holiday, however, is that there are many places in the resort where you can be totally oblivious to all of this wonderful activity. You can be completely alone.

One of these places is the two year old Chi Spa Village, home to the island’s luxurious, couples only, premier ocean bures. Assigned a golf buggy, due to the seclusion from the rest of the resort, and a 24hr butler the service, the 1 bedroom bures offer complete comfort and privacy. Stylish and tropically modern with a separate king size bedroom overlooking the Pacific, and a sunken lounge area – all dark timber beams, and soft white curtains that billow with gentle sea breezes - the bures are an unprecedented step-up in luxury for the Fijian Resort. The bathroom is huge with indoor and outdoor showers, a spa bath, and a range of delectable L’occitane products at your disposal. The real drawcard, for me though, was the private outdoor spa, in the private outdoor garden overlooking the coral reef. Champagne glass in hand, watching the sunset - blissful, heavenly, delight!

Nearby, the Chi Spa offers a menu of treatments based on the traditional Chinese five elements, that will leave you feeling even more pampered and relaxed.

For the romantics, picture this... The “Dusk ‘Till Dawn Journey”. You arrive at the spa in the afternoon, and sink into a Himilayan water bath, followed by a skin polish treatment and then a coconut oil massage. A delicious Spa dinner, and it’s off to bed in your luxury bure, lulled into tranquil sleep by the sound of waves breaking on the outer reef. Woken in the morning to a scrumptious breakfast, a facial, and then, well.... Let’s take a little, romantic step up... Adjacent to the Spa village is a chapel. It sits, bleach-white, the centrepiece of a manicured and palm-fringed garden, the altar - part of a dramatic backdrop beyond an expansive glass wall that looks out to the reef, and the ocean beyond. Imagine a sunset wedding... the smell of tropical flowers, a warm breeze caressing your bare and pampered shoulders, Fijians softly harmonising your favourite love song... I don’t think you can get much closer to paradise than that.

Fiji is one of my favourite destinations. The people are lovely, the climate is perfect and the natural beauty is stunning and varied. The Fijian Resort did become a little tired for a while, but in recent years, with renovations that managed to improve while still maintaining the essence that always was the Fijian, it has grown in leaps and bounds, and now it really does offer something for everyone. To my querying friends, I had to ask “My dears, why wouldn’t you stay there?”


Pictures here...
http://www.wheresmyrider.com/2011/06/the-fijian.html

and here...
http://www.wheresmyrider.com/2011/06/more-from-the-hotel.html

Room Tip: Chi Spa rooms are divine, but Lagoon View (soon to be renovated) are an old favourite of mine
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqui T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We have just returned from 5 nights at the Shangri La Fijian (3rd stay) followed by 4 nights at another '5 Star' Coral Coast resort (1st stay). Traveling with two children we stayed in 'family bures' at each resort so we didn't have to sleep in the same room as the kids. Our bure at the Fijian was far superior to the other (more expensive) resort. The Fijian was water-front, had a large lounge with kitchenette and a private patio and grassed area for the kids to play. The other resort was a 'garden bure' (the only two bedroom option) so it was nowhere near the water, couldn't see or hear the ocean, didn't have a kitchen sink (to wash baby bottles), and didn't have a seperate lounge.
Luckily once again the Fijian was outstanding. Honestly, the place does need some TLC, but overall it is a great resort on a huge property with the best protected beach on the Coral Coast that you can swim at regardless of the tide. The staff are fantastic (especially Emmanuel at the Bilo Bar) and with the 'adults only' pool and breakfast, I would think couples could enjoy the resort as much as families.
We will definitely be returning to The Fijian!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHA589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

After our last trip to the Shangri-La Fijian I swore we would not go back but I couldn't resist the people and we checked in again on December 22 (just after Cyclone Evan). Once again there were dramas with our room. We booked a Lagoon Suite and our friends had booked a Lagoon Family room. Upon check-in we were told that we were at opposite ends of the resort and in a room that we did not book. The resort is not full (as we have been told) and it took 3 room changes to get the room we booked. Not good enough!!! Mind you this happened last time. We should have learned our lesson.

The Management of the Shangri-La Fijian need a good kick up the backside!!! We have been coming to this resort for years and it has never been this bad. Where are all the kids activities like previous years?? Where are all the organised tours and dinners?? Where are all the staff??? This cannot be blamed on Cyclone Evan. I hope the Shangri-La Head office in Hong Kong take note of this review and do something about this place PRONTO. It is in a fantastic location and has great staff who are doing their best. If the resort lost a few key staff this place would completely fall apart. Such a shame.

We had lunch at the Intercontinental hotel and WOW what a difference. Amazing service and we even met the Managers who were wondering around talking to guest. Perhaps we should take our money there next time.

If H.O is interested to hear the truth from guests who have been coming for years I would be more than happy to discuss.

I would like to finish on a positive note and say that Mun who has been at this resort for years is doing a fantastic job and has always looked after our family including our girls who absolutely love him.

Room Tip: if you have more than 1 child book the 1 bedroom suites. Family rooms are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sorrento70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Arrived one day after hurricane Even roared through, and the grounds were a mess, both pools and the beach closed....staff worked around the clock and within two days were back in business. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Lots of families and kids. Rooms clean and adequate. Enjoyed our stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yanuca Island
21.5 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,392 reviews
25.9 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
25.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
6.8 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
18.4 mi away
Naviti Resort
Naviti Resort
#1 of 3 in Korolevu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Address: Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Yanuca Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is exclusively located on the beautiful 109-acre private Yanuca Island with its pure white sandy beach and crystal clear, coral rich seas of the exotic Fiji Islands. Only 45 minutes from Nadi International Airport, the island is connected from the mainland by a causeway.A traditional Fijian village is the inspiration behind the layout of the 442-room resort. Every guest room, suite and bure features a private balcony with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean or the resort’s lagoon. Unlimited wired broadband Internet access is complimentary in all rooms. The Resort offers a range of activities, including water sports, scuba diving and golf, and a popular Kid's Club. A wide range of dining options are available, from Pacific Rim fine dining to informal fun dining at the poolside. Cultural shows highlight Fijian lovo, meke and firewalking rituals, South Pacific and Fijian Fire dancers.CHI, The Spa is a secluded spa village set away from the main resort, and provides the privacy and luxury of the largest Spa villas in Fiji. Four Oceanview and two Rainforest treatment villas feature relaxation areas overlooking either the Pacific Ocean or an exotic rainforest, with private garden patios, outdoor bath tubs, herbal steam room and outdoor showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Fijian Hotel Yanuca Island
Fiji Shangri La Resort
Shangri La Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Hotel
Fiji Shangri La Hotel
Fiji La Shangri
Fijian La Resort Shangri
Fiji La Resort Shangri
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa Fiji/Yanuca Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing