We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fijian has changed and not for better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fijian has changed and not for better”
Reviewed January 6, 2008

This was our seventh holiday to the Fijian, so we knew about the lack of maintenance and slow service etc but what we diden't expect was the money grabing attitude the management has adopted.

There is a lot to do at the resort but you soon tire of the high priced food offered and start looking for restaurants off the resort. The Fijian management seem to go to great lengths to keep you on the resort which is distasteful. The staff will tell you that they are not allowed by management to help you book any activity off the resort. Some unofficially gave us a phone number to ring but we couldnt call, because the internal phones were not working for the length of our stay.

For instance, there is a reasonable restaurant across the road from the Fijian about a ten minuite walk. This is ok in the dry but in the rain with children, it is difficult. This restaurant provides a bus to return you back to the resort but they are not permitted to pick you up.

We stayed in the lagoon wing which was reasonable and if you had a first or second floor room the hallway in the room was always wet and slippery. This is due to the poorly insulated air conditioning unit in the room below which cooled the concrete and caused condensation. We had to keep a towel permantly on the floor.

We will definately go back to Fiji because we love the people but we would definately not go back to the Shangri-la Fijian resort.

Regards,
Joe Grima
Australia

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
8 Thank pioneerintl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,256
    1,193
    573
    260
    202
See reviews for
1,960
876
40
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2008

We stayed at this resort for 6 nights with our 2 year old child. I have very mixed feelings about this resort (not sure if I would go back), especially since I thoroughly researched Fiji for the perfect place to stay (including the many reviews on Trip Advisor). Firstly we expected a much higher quality resort than what we got and I think the website is misleading. It certainly doesn’t show how tired the resort, restaurant and pool areas really are and this was disappointing. I strongly advise you that this is not a 5 star place.

The main pool is always completely full with children which is even a little overwhelming when you have your own. If you are honeymooners or a couple I would stay away from this resort.

The MOST disappointing part is the extremely poor value for money with the food. The standard certainly needs to be lifted -trust me it is no gourmet experience, bring your own wine if you can, wine by the glass is bad and expensive. Bring kids snacks with you if you don’t want them eating chips the whole time.

On the positive side, the gym is fantastic, the beach views from the coral reef rooms were amazing, heaps of grass area for the kids to run around, lots to do if you enjoy walking and playing golf, good variety of water activities.

Overall if you just want a place that keeps the kids busy while you relax and enjoy the pristine water and beautiful reef and food/resort quality is not high on your priority list, you will have a great time. On the other hand if you are expecting a 5 star resort with food, service and quality to match - this is NOT the place for you (go to the Hilton on Denarau Island, now that is truly an amazing 5 start resort experience).

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank rosj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2007

BULA!!!!!
We have just returned from our amazing first time trip to fiji & can't wait to go back again. When we arrived it was so humid which nearly killed us but after the first 2 days we climatised. We had booked through our travel agent the breakfast & dinner buffets for the 8 nights as we have a 2 year old & thought that would be better. The buffets were great but next time I wouldn't do the buffet for every night as we had heard that the restaurants were lovely & not overly expensive.
Our room was fantastic ( Oceanview family room) which was located on the ground floor & fantastic for our son who loved being able to run around outside on the grass & we could keep a close eye on him without leaving our front balcony.
I strongly recommend the babysitters there, they are just truly amazing. Our son is at the age where he is pretty clingy so I was a little concerned but I got a lovely lady named 'Thoa' & our son just loved her & we had her almost every day when he went down for his sleeps so we could go off & have a swim in the adult pool etc which I strongly recommend.
The resort was extremely clean & well maintained with the most friendly staff you could ever meet. We never found anything that was done on 'Fiji Time'......we never had to wait long for anything.
We booked a private car with a driver which could take you anywhere for F$150 for approx. 4 hours & we were advised to do a drive further down the Coral Coast. He took us to a few shops in Sigatoka which were no cheaper than the resort & then just drove us to a few resorts to have a look at. It started to rain fairly heavy so we skipped going to the villages & headed back to our resort. We found the drive was a waste of money as we saw nothing different to what you see coming from the airport.
The kids club looked amazing & the all the activities for the kids & adults were heaps of fun. There was so much to do except when it rains. It rained most afternoons which was not too bad as it came & went fairly quickly but on the 2nd last day it absolutely poured for most of the day & we found it difficult to entertain our son.
All I can say is if you want a holiday where you want heaps to do or you just want to laze around & do nothing......well this is the place to stay & do it without really needing to leave the resort at all & we can't wait to go back the same time next year.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brooklynsmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2007

My husband, i and 5 year old son stayed here in November/December this year.
We stayed in a lagoon family room on the ground floor, overlooking the lagoon pool and the ocean. The room was great, newly renovated and had a great outdoor area on the balcony for nightly cocktails at sunset. The room was cleaned each day, and flowers put on the beds which was a great touch. the housekeeper even took the trouble to line up all my son's cars in different ways each day which he thought was hilarious.
This was a holiday to do nothing but there is heaps to do if you want to get active, on top of the water sports there are activities organised each day such as socer, netball in the ball, scuba lessons in the pool etc.
The resort is well maintained and the staff incredibly friendly, there are people everywhere cleaning and making sure the presentation is good.
The kids disco each night was great, the Dj actually teaches the kids to do dances like the nutbush, macarena etc, and gets the dads up to make fools of themselves.

Food: Breakfast was included in our package and you couldn't complain about the variety and the quality of food available. The fod in other outlets is expensive given the quality, and lots has been written about this in other reviews. The best meal we had was at Geckos over the road, beautiful fresh seafood and geckos jumping all over the walls, which may not be everyone's cup of tea but my son loved it. Drinks are also expensive but you can either stock up in singatoka or in the market in the resort. If you journey into singatoks don't arrange a cab from the hotel foyer, we were quoted $55.00 for a return trip, but having read about this on this site we decided to walk to the road.A porter outside the foyer actually gave us a lift to the road where there was a cab waiting and he charged us $18.00 return for the trip, and actuall dropped us back to the door of our room, and even offered to help us in with the beer!

Australians love this place, and even when I read some so so reviews about the food, I took more notice of the reviews written by Aussies - we loved it and will definately return.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — bad internet access
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank jodi06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2007

This place is so beautiful. Don't think twice, just go. Stayed at the Naviti last time and that was a disapointment. The Shangri-la is so laid back. The people are so kind. The food is great, so much variety, we bought the meal package through our travel agent. The watersports are unreal, we did the parasailing and banana boat ride. This place is my mind is 5 Star. The ocean view room has the most stunning sunsets. Very clean and modern. There is no need to leave this resort, once you check in everything is there. I would not recommend the Sigatoka shopping trip, you can buy your pressies from the resort, they are the same price, it was a waste of a few hours going there. Have fun, we did. Also fly Virgin Blue, its cheaper and its gets you there at a much betta time of the day than Air Pacific.

  • Liked — Food, Entertainment, Watersports
  • Disliked — Cost of Alcohol, buy duty free and drink in room on balcony before you go, just buy a few cocktails from bar
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EnjoyingLifeToMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bargara
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2007

We have recently come back from the best 6 night holiday ever. My husband, myself and my 17 month old really enjoyed ourselves over there and would recommend it to everyone.

We paid a little bit extra and went for an ocean view family view room. This was perfect for us as they were slightly larger and have direct access out to the lawn and beach. The beds were comfy and the rooms serviced daily.

The retuarants...yes were expensive...but really nice. Make sure you get the buffet breckie included in your package as the parents can fill up at breakfast and eat a snack in the afternoon. Best resturarant was Kalavu (fine dinning) and then Takali (asian) The buffet dinners are always popular with much to choose from, but a very busy!

Chi Day spa was amazing!!! My husband was a first timer to day spas but he loved it. Cant wait to stay in the spa bura's next time!!!

It rained everyday that we were there, but it was either in the afternoon or the morning, really dosent matter anyway because its still hot, rain or shine!!

The fijian is a no cash hotel, so everything is charged through to your room (very handy though) We lived it up overthere not wanting to skimp on anything or be too tight with our money, but was pleasently suprised when we got our bill for $1200.00 AUS for the week. Well worth it!!!

The only tip we have (which we will be doing next time) is organising our own private transfers instead of through a coach. A private car will take you directly to the resort, but a coach has to wait around the airport for the rest of the people to arrive (1 hour sitting in a bus) then there are dropoffs they have to make and so on. Much quicker to get a private car!!

Best thing about the fijian, how big it is!!!! Be prepared to do a lot of walking. Always something to do, with many activities to choose from. And the Fijians love kids!!!!

We will return with the rest of the family next year!!!!

  • Liked — relaxed environment
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mantabargara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2007

Fantastic!
We booked directly with the Fijian (and booked flights online) as it was much more ecconomical to do so with our group booking and the exchange rate.
We were allocated a Wedding Coordinator who was our contact for all things 'Wedding' and we communicated via email when neccesary.
I have to say that not everything went smoothly (double booking of venues, bridesmaids flowers didn't arrive initially etc etc) BUT when things do go arie a solution was never far away!
If you are the sort who needs total control of a situation, or is going to get stressed if things don't go to plan, don't do it this way!! But if you can relax and go with the flo with the certainty that the Fijian is keen for you to experience the most fantastic day too you will love it.
The rooms were clean and modern. We had one of the family sized Ocean View rooms right next to the Coral cafe. As we had three children in the room this was neccesary. The kids beds were switched around in their design a few times which amused the kids. The beds were decorated with flowers every day, with wonderful little touches; like the kids toys decorated with flowers too! Be aware that the beds (apart from the roll away bed for the third child) are pretty hard and a little uncomfortable.
Room service good. Air con effective. Has fridge in room. Really enjoyed having ground floor room with little area with table and chairs outside and the Coral pool immediately in front. Nice large grass area too for cricket etc.
Pool open from 0700 - 6:00pm.
It is quite a walk to the dining areas and certainly a fair walk to the kids club and large pool. Our kids were older (9yrs, 11yrs) so it was not an issue but one of our party had a couple of 3 yr olds and opted to stay in the Lagoon View apartment.
For us, with a group of friends and family, we loved being by the Coral pool which was much quiter than the main pool. In fact it felt as if it was just our party most of the time!
The Coral cafe was open for lunch, coffee etc all day and dinner and we all agreed the food was best here. Try the salmon; absolutely beautiful! You order main dish and then get up and use buffet for salads, pasta, potatoe etc and buffet dessert.
We didn't particularly like the grill restaurant by the Lagoon pool. The buffet was good (it moved around a bit when we were there due to conferences and upgrading of other restaurants but we were kept well informed.)
Breakfast (a huge buffet; definately wait to have the omlettes cooked for you) was excellent and included in the price. Lunch for kids under 12yrs was a kind of hot lunch box (wouldn't appeal to adults but kids loved it!)Chips, fried rice, pizza, fish bites; that kind of thing.
We favoured the buffet for the kids in the evening although we didn't neccesarily eat with them, prefering the option that if they ate there and we ate somewhere else in the resort they still ate for free.
The night before our Wedding my fiancee and I ate at the Kavaleu restaurant. What service! Even the menu had been personalised for us! It was a very special evening.

The younger kids in our party enjoyed kids club and were happy to attend. The older kids were not so impressed but they are at the age where they are at the upper age limit anyway. They did attend the evening events however which seemed to be a bit more exciting.
Babysitters were excellent and reasonably priced.
The water sports are great. Also the kids over 10yrs had a free scuba diving lesson in the pool.
We didn't really leave the resort as that wasn't the kind of holiday we were there for but a few friends did and didn't have any probs with all things coup related.
The girls got their hair braided but be warned; it is hugely expensive inside the resort. If you venture just outside the resort it is a fraction of the price and the money actually goes into the locals pockets.
The golf was great; so I am told! The price included caddies.
The beauty centre was under construction but looks as if it will be a wonderful place to relax. Both this and the golf are at the Coral end, well away from the 'kiddie areas'.
The Wedding itself was supposed to be on the beach but with the weather a little tempremental we moved it to the Chapel at the last minute. The Fijian Village choir was superb and the Chapel has an amazing feel to it with its window walls looking straight out to the ocean. I would advise someone primed to take a few extra photos because although the photographer took the standard group pics he didn't really do anything more. That, or have a word with him before, stating what you want. (ie pics of you walking down beach, of your hands with rings, bridesmaids caught unawares etc) We had the reception at the Coral cafe and don't be afraid to ask for more options re menus if you don't see what you want on the few provided. I didn't want the whole sit down meal but wanted more than the cocktail menu. We ended up with a great combination of the two with platters handed out first and then 'stations' of 'walk and fork' meals (about 4 options) and dessert too.
We got permission to use the pool for the kids too until 9:30pm and they provided life guards too.
It was all lit up with tiki torches and fairy lights. It was magic. The cake was excellent too.
During our stay we had brought duty free with us and the staff were extremely easy going about us drinking it. We did pay for the alcohol package for the Wedding but brought our own champagne.
Also we asked the driver to stop on the way to the Fijian when we first arrived to pick up a heap of soft drinks for the kids. He was more than happy to do so and we stocked our fridge with these for the week (as reading trip advisor prior to going tipped us off about the high prices inside the resort).

Overall; my advise is to read up the Forums and reviews before you go (which; if you are reading this, you obviously are!!). They proved so helpful to us.
please feel free to email me specific questions.

  • Liked — everything on site
  • Disliked — it is what it is; we went elsewhere on our honeymoon!
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank bynny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yanuca Island
21.5 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
2,538 reviews
25.9 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,067 reviews
9.1 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
25.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
18.6 mi away
Naviti Resort
Naviti Resort
#1 of 3 in Korolevu
1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Address: Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Yanuca Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is exclusively located on the beautiful 109-acre private Yanuca Island with its pure white sandy beach and crystal clear, coral rich seas of the exotic Fiji Islands. Only 45 minutes from Nadi International Airport, the island is connected from the mainland by a causeway.A traditional Fijian village is the inspiration behind the layout of the 442-room resort. Every guest room, suite and bure features a private balcony with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean or the resort’s lagoon. Unlimited wired broadband Internet access is complimentary in all rooms. The Resort offers a range of activities, including water sports, scuba diving and golf, and a popular Kid's Club. A wide range of dining options are available, from Pacific Rim fine dining to informal fun dining at the poolside. Cultural shows highlight Fijian lovo, meke and firewalking rituals, South Pacific and Fijian Fire dancers.CHI, The Spa is a secluded spa village set away from the main resort, and provides the privacy and luxury of the largest Spa villas in Fiji. Four Oceanview and two Rainforest treatment villas feature relaxation areas overlooking either the Pacific Ocean or an exotic rainforest, with private garden patios, outdoor bath tubs, herbal steam room and outdoor showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Fijian Hotel Yanuca Island
Fiji Shangri La Resort
Shangri La Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Hotel
Fiji Shangri La Hotel
Fiji La Shangri
Fijian La Resort Shangri
Fiji La Resort Shangri
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa Fiji/Yanuca Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing