We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We all really loved this Hotel , staff were amazing always so happy and always smiling.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“We all really loved this Hotel , staff were amazing always so happy and always smiling.”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

The room was great even though they were flooded a month before we got there.
The food was lovely and the staff were FANTASTIC .
My daughter had fun snorkling right outside our room I recomend the oceanview over the lagoon view as they are bigger.
We at lunch at the coral cafe near the oceanview pool.
Great value.
With burgers or sandwiches which are huge and taste amazing you also get a side order of chips and salad.
We ate breakfast at Takali Terrace you couldn't get a better view and you are always welcomed so warmly.
The Kids ate dinner in the lagoon Terrace my eldest daughter 10 loved the variety and that the would make her pasta just the way she wanted it.
We also have a two year old daughter who also loved the food and her nanny she had while we went to a wedding.
They asign one nanny to you over your time at the resort which is great as the kids always know who is comimg to watch out for them.

The wedding was amazing the chaple is beautiful and they had a choir that came from a near by village to sing.
The had their reception outside, the food was unbeliveable never had better.
Will be back again soon

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cassie436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,299
    1,238
    582
    266
    204
See reviews for
2,029
900
40
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

When we arrived after phoning the previous night to inform them of our 2pm arrival and that our 7 year old son was on crutches due to a foot injury, we were assured that we would have a room with limited stair access and that our room would be ready the hour earlier than their 3pm check in time, however we didn't get access to our room until 3:30pm, and it was on the third floor without ramps, so a total of 42 stairs either way to access any restaurants, beach, or pool areas. The tv in the room did not work the whole time we were there, despite reporting it daily during our 5 night stay, the phone didn't work at all, and the sink in the bathroom constantly gurgled and filled the bathroom with the smell of swerage. Some days our rooms were attended, other days only towels were taken and never replaced. We learnt to dry ourselves with a face washer on 2 nights, just purely because we couldn't be bothered walking around trying to find someone, as our phone never worked to phone reception.
There is no way in he'll this place could be classed as 41/2 star in Australia, it is run down and badly run. The Fijian people who work there are absolutely the salt of the earth, and are truely beautiful, but the $ we pay to stay there certainly doesn't go to them as they only earn $3.00/hr, and the resort is a decomposing relic of accommodation.
We were there for a beach wedding, which didn't even happen on the beach, and at 9:30 at night we were still waiting for our banquet meal that never arrived, but alas we still were charged for it!!!
Keep all your receipts is all I can say, as our party of 90 guests, not one had a invoice that was correct!
Never again Shangri la, never again!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon1074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Went over for a wedding and a holiday with my sister. Staff are very friendly. Ocean View room was amazing with great views. We tried all the restaurents and loved all the food. The cocktails are amazing try a toberome. Wedding was at the resort and was just perfect. This is a relaxing family resort perfect for kids, dont expect any nite life however we did rock ther marlin bar til closing one nite but were the only ones there. We will be back......Thanks for the great holiday Shangri - La

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank melly1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed at the Fijian for 9 nights in early July when the resort was at peak capacity and really enjoyed ourselves. I was hesitant to book here due to some questionable reviews, but I feel that going armed with the knowledge that this resort was built around 40 years ago and has had renovations since then, but is not 'shiny new', helped lower our expectations. We travelled as a family with a 3 and 5 year old and did not end up leaving them with either a baby-sitter or the kids club but all managed to have a really fun and relaxing holiday.

Lots of food on offer, and a decent variety, the breakfast buffett has to be seen to be believed. Our kids had a ball each morning choosing their mountain of food for that day. Our fav dinner was the Indian buffet night at the Takali (great value for adults and kids ate free) and the seafood market and regular menu at the Beach Bar and Grill was also good, despite reading some reviews to the contrary. Also a lovely outlook, right on the beach and meant it was a lot quieter even during 'kid meal time'. You do need to book your dinners in advance though as the smaller places book out.

I took a tip from another review which suggested going to the Friday night fire dancing show at Gecko's resort, which is a AUD $5 cab ride (just outside the resort, but saves a long walk across the causeway in the dark with little legs). Their show is free and much more intimate than the one put on by the resort. There were only about 50 people at dinner the night we were there and although the food was good, rather than great, the atmosphere was fantastic.

The only day we left the resort was to go on the Sigatoka river safari, which although quite expensive was worth it. Our driver up the mountain was great, really informative and the same for the jet boat captain. Seeing a traditional village first-hand and being able to join them in a sing and dance-along was one of the more memorable parts of our holiday. And visiting there will hopefully help explain to our kids that not everyone has the luxuries they do. I just hope that the village really does benefit in a positive way like they say they do, it does feel a bit strange to arrive to a village wtih no power and limited other resouces in a jet-boat. Apparently when they started running the tours they gradually gave all the villagers a ride in the jet-boats, that would have been a funny sight.

All-in-all we got what we went for. Warm weather, lots of swimming, relaxing and eating and time to just hang out as a family.

Room Tip: Book the lagoon wing if you have small kids, lots closer to walk to the pool and main Lagoon restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aussiefamily033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

A wonderful hotel suitable for the active young family. Great Kids club and lots of free sporting activities to fill your day. Very friendly staff, particularly Johnny at the Lagoon Pool. Food OK within the resort. However, if you are a little adventurous and would like to venture out of the resort - Call Francis on 921-8465 (he is a lovely local Taxi driver) he will take you to Tomlous restaurant for the best chilli mud crab you have ever tasted. Tomlous is very closeby (only approx 20 Fijian dollars return cab fare) and also has wonderful lobster and great chicken fried rice. Just be prepared though - great food but very little in the way of atmosphere. (I promise you will want to go for seconds). Francis is also a wonderful local tour guide with excellent english and also good knowledge on Fiji both past and present. A real gem - He informed us of a local Rugby game in Sigatoka - 10 dollar cab ride away - and we enjoyed a wonderful afternoon in VIP seats, watching a great quality game. (From our seats, you could see the kids in the distance, high up in the surrounding trees - who couldn't afford tickets - watch the game from dangerous heights - would never be allowed in Oz). Sigatoka is also a good place for shopping for souvenirs (make sure that you bargain though). Also purchase beer and bottled water here = both substantially cheaper than at Hotel. Remember to ask Francis (ph 921-8465 or a/h 650-0371) about Natadola beach - voted in top ten beaches of the world - nice day trip and he can drive you there.

Room Tip: If you are without kids - steer clear of accommodation near the Lagoon - go on the ocean side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TravelwheneverIcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

I just wanted to say, anyone who rates this place badly needs to get a life... The people were exceptionally friendly, and helpful and more than happy to make our time there super special, despite the fact that they only get paid around $2 hr for there services. The food was better than anything I've eaten in Australia, REALLY, and the resort was more than enough fun. My three year old said "mummy, Fiji is too much fun for a little girl, makes a little girl tired". My adivise is to stay away from the aussies (hehehe) they are the only ones who display rudeness, and seem to complain about things that are so not worth complaining about. Shangrli La is beautiful and I would highly recommend it to anyone, couples, singles, families, there's something for everyone. Enjoy.

Room Tip: If you have kids, get the family lagoon room, on the ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharnelea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We just spent 4 nights at the Shangri-La for a friend's wedding. The resort was beautiful, on a large island with gorgeous surrounding water. We enjoyed our time with friends and the wedding ran very smoothly. However we were constantly disappointed by the service at the resort. The staff weren't friendly at all. Everything seemed too hard for them, including making a simple reservation for dinner or ordering drinks or a meal. They just didn't seem to want to be there or help. I'm aware we were there in a large group and during peak season but the service just wasn't up to scratch for what you expect for a Shangri-La resort.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aimes66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yanuca Island
21.5 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#6 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,624 reviews
25.9 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,176 reviews
18.2 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
9.1 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
25.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Address: Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Yanuca Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is exclusively located on the beautiful 109-acre private Yanuca Island with its pure white sandy beach and crystal clear, coral rich seas of the exotic Fiji Islands. Only 45 minutes from Nadi International Airport, the island is connected from the mainland by a causeway.A traditional Fijian village is the inspiration behind the layout of the 442-room resort. Every guest room, suite and bure features a private balcony with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean or the resort’s lagoon. Unlimited wired broadband Internet access is complimentary in all rooms. The Resort offers a range of activities, including water sports, scuba diving and golf, and a popular Kid's Club. A wide range of dining options are available, from Pacific Rim fine dining to informal fun dining at the poolside. Cultural shows highlight Fijian lovo, meke and firewalking rituals, South Pacific and Fijian Fire dancers.CHI, The Spa is a secluded spa village set away from the main resort, and provides the privacy and luxury of the largest Spa villas in Fiji. Four Oceanview and two Rainforest treatment villas feature relaxation areas overlooking either the Pacific Ocean or an exotic rainforest, with private garden patios, outdoor bath tubs, herbal steam room and outdoor showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Fijian Hotel Yanuca Island
Fiji Shangri La Resort
Shangri La Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Hotel
Fiji Shangri La Hotel
Fiji La Shangri
Fijian La Resort Shangri
Fiji La Resort Shangri
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa Fiji/Yanuca Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing