We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for a few nights stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Suva Lami Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Novotel Suva Lami Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lami
A TripAdvisor Member
“Ok for a few nights stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I've stayed at Novotel before but the experiences have been different. We arrived at the counter and waited for about 20 minutes before we could check in, not too sure why the delay. We were given our room and settled in quite quickly, although the room did seem to be not well lit during the day, it meant we had to have the lights switched on. The bathrooms were OK, it was good enough for a shower. We were supplied a mini-bar fridge and coffee tea but no milk. So wasn't sure how they expected us to drink hot beverages. Our child was a warm milk drinker in a babys bottle so of course we required a microwave, unfortunately at our request, the hotel does not have a microwave. We also had left over food from our lunch which we had purchased outside of the hotel and they were unable to warm it up as they didn't have a microwave. So we had to stick to the basics by boiling the kettle and warming our babys bottle. Also, found that the floors and tiles were not clean as everytime we would walk barefoot in the room, our feet would get dirty so easily. When we joined the two double beds together, we discovered that it had looked like the floors below the bed had never been dusted and cleaned. The only bonus was the fact that this accommodation was the cheapest than the others around suva and it was conveniently close enough to the local shops. The american buffet breakfast was great, our family of three enjoyed it and our dinner was nice too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonHarper, General Manager at Novotel Suva Lami Bay, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Lydz_2011

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Suva Lami Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive and constructive feedback about the hotel and the operations.

I will share your comments with our team they provide some areas for us to refocus our efforts - there should be a card in your room inviting you to call room service to have some milk delivered to your room and also we will use your comments constructively regarding more thorough cleaning under the beds.

However this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    255
    109
    44
    26
See reviews for
140
145
43
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Had a awesome time for 6 nights there date of arrival (27.01.13), i enjoyed the beautiful view, the pool, dinner, lunch, breakfast, live music down by the bar was great.The staff there are very friendly dont know all the names but the bartender he was great always making us laugh and serving us at his 100% best also the waiters and Noah, at reception they always greet you with a smile everyday & they are great to talk to. Some disadvantages about the hotel sadly it does have some renovations that needs doing on the outside, the rooms are superb! clean, modern, ect, there is also A LOT of bugs in the bar area, waiting area, down stairs at nights hated that. OVERALL i loved the place miss it a lot hated having to check out, i will definitely be back soon ;) Thanks NOVOTEL SUVA

Room Tip: We 1st stayed in a standard room top floor which was amazing! right in the middle amazing pool &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Missy_x_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonHarper, General Manager at Novotel Suva Lami Bay, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Missy_x_o

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Suva Lami Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, it certainly lifts the spirits of the team who work hard to make each guest experience a memorable one.

I will share your comments with all of our team, however I am sure Noah will be delighted he was personally recognized. This feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
692 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Spent 11 nights at Novotel Suva Lami Bay in January 2013. The hotel has been progressively renovated over the last 3-4 years. Regreetably it seems the hotel doesn't have a rigorous maintainance program even with the renovated rooms. Paint is peeling, some tiles are chipped and the rooms in spite of having a recent renovation are close to looking a little tired. Most of the staff try really hard but make sure you log into your thoughts, everything is on 'fiji time' when something needs to be done. Just plan in advance if you need something quick and your stay will be okay. The Husk restaurant has an okay buffet breakfast and even has some gluten free options freely available like cereal and muffins. Dinner at the Husk restaurant has many good food options that are reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room with a water view - has a neat aspect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesmdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonHarper, General Manager at Novotel Suva Lami Bay, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear the smdm

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Suva Lami Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive and constructive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team -as mentioned we appreciate all forms of guest feedback and actively work towards using it as a means to improve guest satisfaction and experience , as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

On checking the rates of the hotel we regularly stay at in Suva I found the rates had more than doubled since our 3 stays in 2012 ( totalling 8 nights ).
The Novotel Suva was a third of the Holiday Inn Suva where we stayed previously .

Whilst we only had breakfast ( which was good value & very nice ) I cannot comment on the food aspect of the hotel .
I did eat there 2 or 3 years ago & was not impressed . However , I believe there has been a big improvement in that area of the hotel's operation .

The fact that it is a 10 minute drive from the CBD did not concern us .

Overall it was a thoroughly enjoyable stay & being an ex- hotelier in Fiji can appreciate the level of hard work it takes to get to the Novotel's standard . Well done .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wananavu065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonHarper, General Manager at Novotel Suva Lami Bay, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Wananavu065

We thank you for choosing Novotel Suva and appreciate the fact that you enjoyed the value for money that the property offers within the greater Suva region. The property as mentioned is not ten minutes outside of the Suva yet offers an excellent experience and outlook over the peaceful Lami Bay.

We also appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Suva Lami Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, especially our food and beverage team who have definitely worked hard to improve the experience of guests when dining at the Husk restaurant.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We booked for two nights at Novotel Lami Bay, the check in person Noah was really slow and rude, he wanted to give us 2 rooms on opposite sides the the hotel on different floors. I pointed out to him that my children were young and we had booked inter connecting rooms. After approximately 45 minutes he found us rooms that met our requirement. Inside the rooms our air conditioning did not work and they brought us a fan. The bed sheets on both beds in one of the rooms was filthy. We asked for the sheets to be changed. The floors were also dirty and housekeeping mopped the floor with a dirty mop and made the floor worse; it was really sticky. Management followed up by offering us a complimentary breakfast. When we checked out they manipulated the final account by adding an additional $85 to the bill. I had to show the manager how to do the maths to correct the account. Despite the mishaps, we had a good time and the children enjoyed the facilities particularly the out door area on the bay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pal007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonHarper, General Manager at Novotel Suva Lami Bay, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear pal007

Thank you for choosing Novotel Suva and for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Suva Lami Bay. I am sorry that not all of your experiences met your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we will reviewing your comments and feedback with the relevant departments with a view to ensuring that we do not make the same mistakes with other guests.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near fut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

To all the wonderful staff at Novotel, especially Noa, Samisoni, Radini, Chetty, Room Attendants...thankyou & vinaka vakalevu for your friendly smiles, helpful attitude & excellent service, you all made our stay at this great location thoroughly enjoyable, although a couple of the grumpy ladies at the Travel Counter really need to learn to loosen up a bit..take heed from the rest of the friendly staff....smile & the whole world smiles with you. Mesmerising views towards the bay & luv the silidrigi in the evenings.

Would be an even better hotel if there was a functional laundry service for guests.

Perfect place to relax away from the hustle & bustle of Suva City...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tulailai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonHarper, General Manager at Novotel Suva Lami Bay, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Tulailai

Thank you for choosing Novotel Suva Lami and also for providing us with your review of our stay. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Suva Lami Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, especially the ones you have mentioned personally. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
I will also pass onto the relevant people regarding your comments of the ladies at the travel desk who are employed by another company.

I do apologize also for the lack of an in house laundry as we wait for this to be completed after refurbishment.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lami
3.2 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 12 in Suva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Suva
Holiday Inn Suva
#2 of 12 in Suva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
23.9 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#3 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
71.0 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
22.8 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
64.2 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Suva Lami Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Suva Lami Bay

Property: Novotel Suva Lami Bay
Address: Queen Road, Lami Bay, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Lami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Suva Lami Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated overlooking the gorgeous Bay Of Islands, 15 minutes from the vibrant Fijian capital of Suva, Novotel Suva Lami Bay is the ideal destination for business or leisure. Most of the 108 rooms feature balconies with views of the lush tropical garden or picturesque Lami Bay. Fun local activities including diving, snorkeling and sailing are easily arranged by the ATS Tour Desk staff within the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Travelocity so you can book your Novotel Suva Lami Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Suva Lami Bay Hotel Lami
Tradewinds Hotel Suva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing