We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to shabby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
wellington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not to shabby”
Reviewed November 21, 2008

We stayed at the Radisson for 5 nights from 20th oct till the 25th in suite 226 which over looked the ornamental waterfall and the bar. Our first trip to Fiji and we were very impressed with the hotel. I had done some; ok lots of reading about this hotel before we left so I knew that the restaurant food was going to be bland and it was! I knew it was going to be full of stressed out parents running around after their children and it was but we couldn’t really find any fault in the place. There was mention of the beach and how uninviting it was; well I have seen worst beaches in New Zealand so it didn’t stop me from going in. The service at the Radisson was great we never had to wait long if we needed anything from housekeeping, and our suite was always immaculately made up. Breakfast was expensive at $30 a head for adults we were lucky to have that added into our package so I’d agree with what some others have said about stocking up in nadi on supplies like bread milk cereal etc… The pools at the Radisson were great especially the adults only one, oh and the one with the bar  Our second night there and after a few vodka’s we went and explored the kids pool as it has a slide ok so the pool was closed at 8.30pm!!!! There wasn’t a single soul around so we had a bit of fun; I can see why the kids love it. We would defiantly stay there again, although it’s not really a place for couples as your pretty much overrun with families and kids but if you’re taking the kiddlets then The Radisson is for you

The Bula bus is great and we managed to get around to other resorts on our way to the Denarau mariner. This place is a tourist hub and as you would expect rather expensive in every aspect from food to souvenirs although that didn’t stop us from buying things we could get back home for half the price, we were on holiday haha. We had one meal at Amalfi an a Italian restaurant in Port Denarau, it was nice I enjoyed it and I didn’t have to ask for extra salt so that’s a good thing. Yees superret is really really expensive I almost choked when I saw the price of a bottle of vodka, it was close to the $100 mark, We stopped off in Nadi on our way in and grabbed our alcohol. Some have said get your duty free alcohol, Id agree with that too. So if your on a budget get supplies from Nadi if not spend and worry about the credit card payments later.

We did two tours while in Fiji you can book at the tourist desk at the front entrance of the Radisson for pretty much anything anywhere in Fiji Our first tour was on the Seapray which is run by South sea cruises, omg it was fantastic we ended up on the island that they made a movie on “Castaway” with Tom Hanks. I won’t go into anymore except check out their website before you go, they have loads of different cruises to suit and this one was just awesome for us. The second one was a cave hike in Sigatoka. Again just awesome. Adventures in paradise are the company that run the tour, check it out if you’re into hiking and getting away from the touristy stuff and doing off the beaten track things. It was loads of fun.

The only thing that I was totally shocked and horrified with Fiji was the amount of rude obnoxious moaning people from across the ditch that were everywhere, just shameful!

  • Liked — the pillows they were sooooo soft
  • Disliked — to many dingos and pups
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank daerwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,783
    1,326
    425
    151
    94
See reviews for
2,727
1,256
100
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (914)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2008

Radisson Resort Fiji..all we dreamed about and more.

We booked a One bedroom suite here for 10 days in August 2008. The stay was superb, the staff ever so helpful, the weather perfect and the resort itself is the best we've seen. This would have to be our best holiday ever.....we love it here.

Arrived at the resort to be welcomed by the friendliest staff ever. Check-in was quick. While we filled in paperwork we were served a lovely cold drink..much appreciated in the 30 degree celcius heat.

The room...where does one start.

It was spacious...light, airy, modern with a fijian style twist and had everything we needed and more. It has to be seen to be believed...it's very deluxe! The suite itself consisted of a main living area with a decent full kitchen.-dishwasher,microwave,cooktop, cupboards galore etc. A lovely lounge area with large Lcd tv and dvd, dining area, private balcony..with great sea views, a sun lounger, chairs and coffee table. Air-conditioning and two ceiling fans in the suite kept us cool at all times. If was effective and very quiet.

The bedroom itself was very spacious with a super super king size bed, a second large Lcd tv, lots of storage space and lovely linen. The decor is fabulous throughout. So clean and modern without being sterile. Flowers on the bed made for a warm and homely welcome.

The bathroom was the best and biggest hotel bathroom we have ever seen...consisting of a styly his and hers vanity..lots of space between basins for toiletries etc. A vase of fresh flowers was a lovely touch. The bath was a full size two person bath, the shower spacious and clean with great pressure. Also of note the suite had a washing machine and dryer which was very handy for drying towels etc. The room was serviced daily to high standards and necessities replenished. We tipped the staff as we know this makes a difference and was our way of showing appreciation for long hours of hard work on hot days! Bula to the housekeeping team!

The resort complex was a pleasure to walk through. Gardens immaculate, lighting great and we felt very safe here. Everywhere we went we were greeted in the traditional Fijian way...BULA! the fijian people are the friendliest in the world.

The lagoon style pools were excellent with seperate adults area, kids and toddler pools, a water slide etc. The unique design feature was the walk in access to all pools. Sand lined the edges like a "beach". We thought this would be great for kids as they can paddle around rather than "fall in". Also plenty of shade over main pool and swim up bar was always popular (try a pina colada)! Although the Radisson seems to be very family orientated we did not feel that this mattered to us as a couple without kids (yet). There were lots of places to relax in and the kids didn't bother us a bit, infact it was nice to see a wide variety of guests enjoying a Fijian holiday. The pool complex is a great design feat. The gardens and palm trees are delighltful. At the Radisson they've created a "oasis" that stands out from other resorts! There's something to suit all ages and stages here. Well done.

The sun loungers were always in plentiful supply. Pool towels always fresh in our room daily. Many umbrellas too, to cut out the sun if you didn't want to get burnt.

Food-wise there are plenty of options at Port Denarau and neighbouring resorts. In our 10 days we found lots of variety. Neptunes pizza at the Radisson was great ( for both lunch and/or dinner). It was tasty and very well priced.

Other meal options we liked were Maravu noodle bar at Hilton, and Salt at Sofitel. Port Denarau provided good lunch options, as well as many shops including a great hot bread shop (85c a loaf!!). We preferred eating at the resorts restaurants in the evening for better ambience. The NZ Natural ice cream shop as well as many small gelato shops made a good dessert option. The bula bus was great for transfers to other resorts or the port, however most resorts are an easy and pleasurable walk (even at night we felt safe at all times).


In summary this was a fantastic holiday that exceeded all expectations. We did check out the accommodation options at all the other resorts and NOTHING could beat the Radisson. The Radisson in our minds provided everything we wanted and Denarau Island has collectively created a superb vacation venue.

Thanks to the awesome staff at the Radisson. You made our stay very special. All the smiles and "bula" greetings made us feel relaxed and "at home" here in Fiji. We miss you and hope to come back next year. For us there is only one place to stay in Fiji..and thats the Radisson Resort.

Thank you. Vinaka vaka levu.

  • Liked — Everything..the resort, the location, the people..and more.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TEAM-GEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2008

We were two single females holidaying together and found the Radisson great. Ideal location within easy access of other resorts. The place is new so it is nice and modern. We had a basic garden room which was really nice, plenty of space and everything you need. Nice pool area and an adults only sunbathing and pool area which we appreciated. There is a lovely childrens pool as well. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, not overpowering but genuinely helpful. We had a couple of small problems with the room which were fixed literally within five minutes of going to reception. A couple of downsides would be there was really only one bar area and one restaurant. It is very easy to visit the other resorts on the bula bus and we found the Sofitel for example had two or three bars and a selection of restaurants. You can also eat out down at Port Denarau so it isn't really too much of a problem. We also found the tour desk a bit lacking and in the end found our own tours which they were happy to book for us. Apart from that great place to stay, highly recommended

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness and service
  • Disliked — lack of restaurant, bar facilities
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rossol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

We just returned from 7 nights at the Radisson. We travelled with 2 kids (3, 6yrs). Hotel was great, immaculate rooms, staff & pools etc. Staff were so nice & anything we asked for was attended to straight away. Babysitters too are so easy to book & lovely. This resort was perfect for our family, so much so we hardly ventured away during the day. Pools were fantastic - great for all ages from babies to adults. Even a lovely adults only pool. We checked out all the pools in the Denarau resorts and this is definitely the best for families (Hilton & Westin looked great for couples/adults). There was only the one restaurant & takeaway pizza place here which was nice.... but the free bula bus around the resorts makes it very easy to try different places. We found Salt at the Sofitel great and good for kids with sushi & vege dishes for a change!

If your package doesn't include meals you'll probably end up spending F$200 a day for food for a family. Breakfast buffets were $30full, $20cont. Dinner buffets about $40. But lots of the resorts had various al-a-carte menus. Take all your packaged snacks from home as they are very expensive on Denarau (chips, crackers etc are about twice the NZ price). The Watermark resort next door has a fresh fruit shack, not cheap but nice fruit & bread for $1 a loaf.

All in all we loved it here - so relaxing, easy & lovely surroundings. Even the beach is nice (although not like the islands but still nice for swimming/playing)

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank BensHero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2008

26/10/2008
Kevin and family from Sydney

Stayed 14/10-21/10/08 - one bedroom Lagoon View suite.

The Radisson Resort made you feel special from the moment you arrived. You are greeted with a radiant smile and heartfelt 'Bula' and are escorted to a lounge area where you are seated, and provided with a welcoming drink while you relax and fill in the registration forms. If you arrive late they apparently speed up the process to get you to your rooms quickly, it is all about what is best for you.

The room was magnificent with a kitchenette, shared bathroom, King sized main bed, pull out sofa bed, table and chairs, two zoned air-con, overhead fans, and two TV's with cartoon channels for the kids.

The pool areas were wonderful, with a waterslide that it took 4 seconds for my daughter to come down, plenty of shade over the family pool areas, sand around the pools a swim up bar of course, and a adults only pool with two jaccuzis. (the only criticism is no shade over the adults pool) and a little fenced kiddies pool. Although the pool areas aren't supervised as such, there was always a staff member keeping control of the rules on the water slide.

The restaurant was nice food, not special, but the price was reasonable, and the portion large and the buffet dinner was $38 per adult and only $5 for children. There are copious other choices on Denarau and would recommend the Golf club for reasonable priced meals and plenty on your plate, Mamas Pizza in Port Denarau, check the sizes as even a small pizza is you average medium to large size. Indigos for Spicy meals, not expensive, really good food, but slow service. This was Fiji, so who cares. HardRock Cafe was fun. meals not that cheap, but good sized and the whole staff jumped up on furniture and sang and danced to YMCA while we were there, The staff seemed to enjoy working there so the atmosphere was nice.

If you want to eat in your room or make sandwiches to eat out, you can get stocks from the express mart to take back to your room. On this, Long life milk is the only milk you can get here so be prepared for this. There is a cafe outside the Sheraton Resort that sells, muffins, cakes, hotdogs etc at a reasonable price and portion sizes you can share. A great little stop with kids at times, my daughter loved hotdog for lunch.

Back to the Port, Jacks was a great place for clothing and souvenirs at the best prices we saw. The souvenirs are all treated so the receipt will get you through customs without argument. There were numerous other shops there but we did feel this was the better choice. Of course not to forget, there is a pharmacy at the Port also, so it is not hard to get anything you really need.

The staff at the Radisson seem naturally friendly and you feel as if you are the single most important person to them. The concierges can never do enough for you and the kids club staff put thereselves out for the kids. The kids club room is not special but the staff were and there were tears when we were leaving, not bad as on day 1 & 2 my daughter did not want to go there, lol.

The buffet breakfast was expensive, but you could fill up on breakfast and nothave much for lunch, the breakfast was always nice and you can have eggs made to suit and even have pancakes cooked for you. If you don't eat much it is not worth paying for the buffet brekkie though.

The beach at the Radisson was the best of the Denarau beaches, it almost looked normal, almost, lol

I will certainly return there and made a couple of friends of staff members, so this is my choice for resorts on Denarau without doubt.

  • Liked — The Warmth of the staff
  • Disliked — Leaving it behind
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Kev2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2008

There is nothing that the staff at the Radisson could have done to make the first part of our honeymoon more enjoyable.
The staff are exceptionally friendly... always greeting you with a heartfelt "BULA".. and I dont mean "bula because I have to"... I mean "bula because I care"!!!
On our second day, we must have been greeted 200 times before lunch, it got to a point where our mouths were hurting from smiling so much.
The resort itself was immaculately clean, the staff were efficient, warm and friendly and overall we couldnt be happier.
The pools were in great condition and I thought the "adults only" pool was a nice touch, meaning that my wife and I could get away from other peoples children..and have some alone time in the water.
If I had to find a bad point, it would be that the "beach" is not so much sand as it is dirt. That being said, anyone who knows Fiji knows that these areas are not the places to go for white sands.

  • Liked — The warm atmosphere
  • Disliked — That we couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zincberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2008

Our family have just returned from 4 days at The Radisson Resort Fiji Denarau Island in early Oct 2008 as part of a 8 night trip to Fiji. Overall we were very happy and can recommend it as a great place to stay for a few days, especially if you are traveling with kids. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite which easily fitted the four of us 2 x Adults 1 x 2 y.o. 1 x 6 y.o. The property is only a year or two old so everything was quite new. Our 6 y.o. especially loved the pools and water slide. The Fijians really love kids and it was Bula all round from morning to night. The only negative was the food, which was rather bland. The onsite shop was also very expensive, 250% the cost of items down the road at the local supermarket i.e. Fiji Water @ FJ$7 for 1500ml. The weather was perfect 30 Celsius everyday though I understand the rainy season which is just about to start can get rather monsoon like.

  • Liked — Spacious & Clean
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank FamilyGuy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
1.0 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,128 reviews
39.2 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,586 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,084 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#3 of 8 in Denarau Island
717 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island

Property: Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Address: Resort Drive, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#1 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#1 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiji's newest luxury beach front Resort offers a myriad of resort facilities nestled around lagoon swimming pools and lush tropical gardens combined with warm genuine Fijian hospitality. 270 luxuriously appointed and spacious guestrooms & suites combined with a contemporary and unique Fijian blend. Choose either a Guest Room or 1 & 2 Bedroom Suites with views of the Gardens, Lagoon or Ocean. Indulge in 5 lagoon swimming pools (one exclusively for Adults), Jacuzzis, Harmony Spa or free non motorised water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island Hotel Denarau Island
Radisson Fiji
Radisson Denarau Island
Denarau Island Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing