We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa(Denarau Island)(Great Value!)
$214
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sheraton Fiji Resort(Denarau Island)
$264
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $300/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Terraces Apartments(Denarau Island)(Great Value!)
$180
$167
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji(Denarau Island)
$325
$254
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $343/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa(Denarau Island)(Great Value!)
$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Sheraton Denarau Villas(Denarau Island)
$698
$544
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $58/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$42
$17
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$84
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Palms Denarau(Denarau Island)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,459)
Filter reviews
5,459 results
Traveler rating
3,244
1,469
477
163
106
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,244
1,469
477
163
106
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubthai restaurantlomani waibula busone bedroom suitelagoon viewfamily poolswim up barfish and chipsthe sofa bedpizzafamily holidayyoung familieshappy hourtorch lightingadult poolwashing machine and dryer
Filter
Updating list...
3,669 - 3,674 of 5,459 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2014

This resort is for families with young children. Very young children! I would not recommend it if you want peace and quiet as the children were very vocal all day! The main pool was over run with them screaming and I mean screaming! The so called token adults only pool was only a very small area which was an extension of the main pool area and is only separated by some rocks so you really couldn't get away from the noise. We had a massage but the day spa is in the middle of the kids pool area so all you could hear again was screaming children. The relaxing music could not drown out the noise. Not sure why you would locate a day spa in this area when there would be a more suitable location elsewhere in the resort. The resort was also very cramped and crowded as they have tried to fit too much in to the common areas where the pools and restaurants are. The rooms are on three levels and our room was nice enough. Had a little balcony which had a glimpse of the ocean. The bathroom was fitted out well, the bed comfortable and there were some unexpected extras such as robes and bottled drinking water each day. The staff were friendly and accommodating. Archie makes a mean Mojito the best we tasted in Fiji. The manager spoke with us a couple of times asking pertinent customer service type questions and remembered us the next day so followed up re our restaurant booking. There are 4 restaurants - we only ate at two and the food was good (Asian and Pizza). Again if you want a quiet dinner avoid the main restaurant which is children focussed as they have 'hamburger building nights' and 'build your own sandwich'. We had breakfast there twice once a la carte and we had to wait at least 45 min for our eggs and only after we enquired were they brought out to us. The did bring a complimentary plate of fruit but as we were in hurry (going on a day trip) we didn't get to eat much of it. The other morning we had the buffet breakfast and it was chaotic! Kids running around everywhere piling up their plates with food they were never going to eat. I was waiting for an accident to happen like one of them being scolded with hot water or tripping over. The set up was disjointed with some food items in very strange places like the berry compote at the egg cooking counter so people were constantly pushing through the line to get things. We did check out the other resorts at Denarau. The Wyndham next door looked modern with an inviting beach side very large pool area and a beach bar. We ate at the Mexican restaurant and the food was fabulous. We have stayed at the Westin before which I would recommend. We did a walk through the Sofitel where the beach side pool and grounds were spacious and lovely. They too had an adults only pool area which was away from the main pool. A Taxi to airport from Denarau takes about half and hour and costs $45. There are frequent buses into Port Denarau where there are some nice coffee shops, restaurants and retail stores. We walked into the port and it took about half hour. Next time we stay at Denarau we will stay at the Wyndham or the Sofitel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 381 on the third floor close to the beachfront so you could not hear the noise from the pool area.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Bula Karen M

We appreciate you taking time to write a review on Tripadvisor about your stay with us here at Radisson Blu. It is only sad that we failed to meet your needs and expectations.

We are unashamedly very popular with children and families - we have never disguised this fact if you read previous Tripadvisor comments. However, we do still have many couples who just love us for many reasons. I glad that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay such has the comfort of the rooms and the standard of our food but unfortunately the presence of children was not your ideal holiday scenario which I can totally appreciate. I apologise for any shortcomings during your stay and would encourage you to return to beautiful Fiji again - there are many accommodation options which would ideally suit you.

Kind Regards

Gerard Knight General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

So does the Radisson Blu deserve its top TripAdvisor rating as THE place to stay on Denarau Island? I think the answer depends on your personal circumstances and expectations. If you're looking for a bustling, family-friendly haven, where the kids will be spoilt for choice from dawn to dusk, this is your place. Smiling, helpful staff who clearly love kids complement a range pools (including a popular water slide) and a host of entertainment. If you're travelling as a couple, looking for a peaceful retreat, you may want to look elsewhere. We were there at the height of the NZ/Australia school holidays and the resort was bursting at the seams. This means a few inconveniences like a daily battle for sun loungers, and a buffet breakfast where the staff struggled to keep supplies topped up. The western aspect gives this resort a better position than its rivals, and the food was consistently good and reasonably priced for this standard of accommodation. Our Lagoonview suite was comfortable, well-appointed and clean. Number one on Denarau? Not quite, the Hilton still edges it for me, and the Sheraton feels less crowded, even at peak times. But if you can get the right deal, and you're travelling with children, I would still happily recommend you give the Radisson a try.

Room Tip: Would recommend a Lagoonview Suite. Rooms on the third floor are possible a little quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank russell_underwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Bula russell_underwood

It was great to read your observations on your time spent with us here on Denarau. Vinaka!

As you rightly point out, we are unashamedly very popular with families, especially during school holidays (you will find most resorts on Denarau increase their numbers of families staying at this time). However, we do receive many positive comments from couples, solo travellers and honeymooners as we do have areas of "tranquility" allocated specifically for adults. I am glad that you would recommend us to others and do hope that you may consider returning again, especially during the quieter months!

Kind Regards

Gerard Knight General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We have just returned from a very disappointing 6 day holiday at radisson. We felt like we were crowded around a freezing cold swimming pool - too cold for my sons (preschool) to enjoy swimming - and i couldnt blame them as it was too cold for us as well. To be fair, the pool was generally full but of older kids and we heard a lot of people around us making similar comments. Such a shame as the pool would have otherwise been great fun for the kids who would usually swim for as long as they can. The sea water by the hotel by comparison was like a bath but was too full of seaweed, branches etc to be swim-able. There are 2 large spas which are both adults-only which I thought was mean when the pool water was clearly so cold - at the very least the toddler pool needs to be heated. The hotel staff were absolutely lovely but we definitely wont be back. We did have a fantastic day at Cloud 9 - and wonderful swims in the sea from there - which I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank firsttimereviewermum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Bula firstimereviewermum

Thank you for your first time review - I'm only disappointed that it was not more favourable and that you had a major issue with the temperature of the pools which obviously impacted negatively on your experience with us. I do apologise sincerely and after reading this comment now have pool heaters on order for some of the pools. A small consolation after you have departed but hopefully will help the comfort of future guests. Unfortunately, it is the middle of the Fijian winter here and although we generally experience rather glorious temperatures for the majority of days our large pools do cool down.

It's a shame that you say you won't return as we are generally described as the best family resort around and children usually have a awesome stay with us. I do hope that you may consider changing your mind....

Kind Regards

Gerard Knight General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We moved to this hotel after four nights at The Sofitel just up the road. The Sofitel frankly is a dump which looks old and has the energy and vibe of a tramp's vest. The Blu is clearly much better and saved our holiday as seven nights at Sofitel would have been very disappointing.

Lots to do, great atmosphere and friendly staff. I do not think it is quite up with The Sheraton which we stayed at previously but this is probably a matter of taste and I am sure others would disagree with me.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Russell197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear Russell197

I'm so pleased that we managed to assist you with creating some happy holiday memories after a less than ideal start. Vinaka for your kind comments and recommendation to others. I do hope that if you were returning to Fiji again you may consider staying with us.

Kind Regards

Gerard Knight General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We have been here four days and so far the kids have found faeces (human) floating in the pool on two of these days. Upon notifying the staff we have been very disappointed and disgusted to wait around twenty minutes before staff attend to it. This consists of a fishing net and a bucket of chemicals. The offending poo is scooped out of the pool and casually carried off in the dripping net to be disposed of while another staff member tips the contents of a container of chemicals around the general area. No one is notified, the pool is not emptied and life goes on. I am so disgusted I cannot bring myself to swim in the pool. We are going to spend the next five days travelling to other hotels to enjoy a cleaner swim. Yes this place is family friendly, but I do not want to spend my time or money in a five star resort with my children pointing out poos in the pool.

Finally, the food is very disappointing. Staff seem thin on the ground, so there is very little service and the food is not of a high standard.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwicrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Bula Kiwicrush
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of our resort on Trip Advisor and the team are all delighted to read that you found them to be family friendly. At the same time we apologise sincerely for the fact that you found the restaurants disappointing with too few staff. We currently have over 360 staff but in peak season it’s still a challenge to have exactly the right team in the right place at all times. Your comments remind us of the importance of continuing to work on improving this agility in our team.

We are obviously also very disappointed that it was you that discovered fasces in our pool. Thankfully it’s a very rare occurrence here at Radisson Blu and unfortunate that it wasn’t the parents of the offending child that drew our attention to the situation when it occurred on two consecutive days recently (undoubtedly the same child). Whilst an unpleasant sight the environmental health guidelines (that we follow carefully) are quite clear on the requirements of a pool operator under such circumstances. Provided the pool chlorine levels are within the required range (we actually run ours relatively high for safety reasons and check them as part of the response process) then pool closure is certainly not required.

Whilst it’s not something any hotelier likes to talk about, I am afraid that the other hotels you went on to visit will almost certainly have experienced the very same issue you saw at our property. It’s completely un-related to star rating, price or hygiene standards but clearly even less common in adult’s only resorts. Your only completely safe haven may well be at home.

We hope that with some quick research on the internet you will see that our team followed the generally accepted guidelines and that as this overriding memory of one unfortunate situation fades, you might give the team another chance and return to our corner of paradise for a future family holiday.

Vinaka Vakalevu. Gerard Knight, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews