We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Travelled here with my husband and 1 year old. Stayed in one bedroom garden view suite on the second floor. Loved this resort. Grounds and pool area are wonderful and the tropical feel and the up keep of the grounds are exceptional. When compared to the other resorts in the area this wins hands down.

Stand out Positives
Babies pool is a massive plus and it is separate from the toddlers and adults pool so that you don't get other kids splashing around scaring the babies. My one year old doesn't walk but happily crawled around in this pool and had a great time. The bottom of the pool seems like it has just been resurfaced and is very rough so he was a little uncomfortable kneeling in it but he survived. Lots of pool space for everyone. We didn't use the swim up bar and I know people complained about kids being up there. But it is a family resort so kids are a all over the place. It is just part of the package. Didn't use the adult pool but I found I didn't need to. It wouldn't be that quiet anyway as it just has a few bushes separating it from the main pool.

Rooms are spacious and clean. Is very child friendly and had lots of room for him to crawl about. Bed is massive and very comfy. Kitchen comes equipped with microwave, toaster and plates and cutlery and all the things you expect with an apartment style room. Bathroom has a big bath and double basins.

Nanny service - whilst my son couldn't go in the kids club we used the nanny service a few times and even though my son is hard work he loved our nanny. After a really grumpy day she had him giggling within 5mins of arriving. If you need someone that is genuinely lovely Ima was our nanny. She would take him down to the kids club to keep him distracted and would take him to the torch lighting activity in the evening.

Location to other resorts is really handy. All have different shops and restaurants you can try out and there is a walkway connecting them all.

Stand out negatives
The food was a big stand out for me. Breakfast was average at best. Food just seemed overcooked and old. Whilst we ate here every morning it was only because it came as part of the room rate. Also we didn't realise that when they come around and ask if you want a coffee and you say yes that it is charged to your room. We paid 16fJ for two disgusting undrinkable coffees. So be warned. Cocktails are also average. We only ordered them during happy hour. We also got takeaway a few times from blu and portion sizes were very poor compared to eating in. I wasn't surprised about the food as I had seen this in previous reviews but I was surprised by how not up to par it was at times. It's not the worst I have had but when you are paying AU prices for things you want to see it reflected in the food.

Beach is very average but that isn't the hotels doing! But don't come here if you want an amazing beach to swim or snorkel from easily. The pool made up for it though.

All in all we had a wonderful trip and the service was fantastic from everyone. We would def come here again and would recommend to others. Especially those with young kids.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank CherieClenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Bula CherieChenik

We appreciate your comprehensive review of our property here on Denarau and am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay, appreciating many aspects off our services and facilities. Vinaka!

I have read carefully your stand out positives and stand out negatives. Firstly, I'm so pleased that overall you had a fantastic time and would recommend Radisson Blu to others. I did take careful note of your observations regarding food & beverage and have passed them on to our Department Head for consideration and action.

I would love to have the opportunity to welcome you again and in the meantime

Kind Regards

Gerard Knight General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,054)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,408 - 3,414 of 5,054 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

My family of 5 incl 3 children aged 3, 5 & 7 have just returned home from 12 days spent in Fiji (celebrating our 10yr wedding anniversary) with 7 of those nights stayed at the Radisson. Wow!!! We were wowed from the very second we pulled up out the front of the resort and continued being wowed until the second we departed!!! The genuine service and warmth showed from the beautiful staff day & night was fabulous & very appreciated by our family. The resort was immaculate with the staff always working on something to keep up the pristine condition of the grounds. Our children LOVED the 'banana boys' (activities staff) especially Harry Banana & Bill Banana who spend their days entertaining & occupying 'the resorts kids' a big thank you goes out to these boys. Whilst Denarau offers the convenience & option of accessing the other resorts facilities / eateries along with the Marina (accessible by the Bula Bus) we found the Radisson to offer enough activities, dining options not to have to leave the resort. The Buffet Bfst was amazing as was the service ( especially from Megna & Pertrina) & kept us full for the majority of the day with only needing a very light snack if at all to tie us over until dinner. The 3 piece band that played during brekky and other times throughout the day was a great touch, we were brought to tears on our last morning with their beautiful farewell song which was sung by members of staff. Overall our holiday was perfect with a lot of the credit going to the beautiful staff, our 2 older children both cried almost all the way to the airport once we drove away from the resort which is a testament to the amazing holiday they had. We could not recommend The Radisson highly enough for families with children but it is also a fabulous option for families without children. We are already planning our next visit to the Radisson...

Room Tip: Lagoon Courtyard Rooms close to the pool = ease & convenience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NicoleFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Bula NicoleFife

What an amazing review of our property and what a great family holiday you had by the description of your experiences here! We are just delighted that we managed to exceed your expectations and help you celebrate your 10th Wedding Anniversary in style.

I will definitely share this fantastic review with the team and especially with those you mentioned. I do hope that your children aren't missing the Banana team too much and can probably be cheered up by helping you with plans for a return visit.

Vinaka Vakalevu and appreciation for taking time to write about your stay with us

Gerard Knight General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this resort for a few days in January on our way to Australia. The hotel is surrounded by tropical gardens and man made lagoons. It certainly has a spectacular setting and deserves much of the positive comments and credits that other reviewer's have given.
It appears that most of the guests were families from Australia and New Zealand and the swimming pools and children's programs were perfect for families.
A couple of cautionary notes for North American visitors. This hotel had been described by our travel agent as being a "beach front hotel" .... in my opinion, its not, its more like a sea front hotel. The sand in front of the property is covered by the sea much of the day and is not accessible. When the tide is out the thin strip of beach exposed is not that attractive with dirty sand and grey sea water. As such, it is deserted most of the time with the guests using the artificial beaches around the pools. I understand all of the hotels on Denarau Island are like this.

During our visit there was a major problem with birds infesting the open air Blu restaurant. They were so bold that they flew into the buffet area and landed on the serving tables. If you left your table for a minute you would return to a dozen birds eating your food ... Not Nice. There seemed to be limited effort by staff to reduce this problem at that time. I do understand however, that since then the Management have taken steps to reduce this problem by installing fans to discourage the birds.
We also missed having a stand up bar in the main section of the hotel where you could mingle with other guests. There was a small lounge with a few tables where you could get a drink but it had no atmosphere and was deserted every night we were there.
It seemed that most people went to their rooms at night after supper.
I must add that most of the staff we met were very friendly and helpful which certainly made our stay more enjoyable.
A special thanks to a young lady named Tavinesa, a waitress who with a lovely smile and helpful friendly personality was an excellent representative for the Hotel.

Room Tip: We had a third floor room with a nice view of the lagoons and garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JBH44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear JBH44

We appreciate your kind comments about our property here on Denarau and thank you for your recommendation. Vinaka! I'm so pleased that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful.

I did take careful note of some suggestions for areas of improvement. You are correct in stating that we have taken big steps to reduce the problem of birds in our open air areas.

We have never promoted ourself as a hotel with a beautiful, pristine beach. We have amazing pool areas and guests do have the opportunity to swim in the sea and take full advantage off our free non- motorised water sports. It really is lovely out on the water.

We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Fiji and to Radisson Blu one day in the future

Gerard Knight General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at the Radisson blu for 5 nights at the end on February 2014.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had requested a porta cot for our room for our 2 year old, which, when we put him in it to test it out, it collapsed! No injuries, so we called reception and they sent someone to replace it within 5 minutes. The DVD player also had to be replaced as it wasn't working, but again, they were there within 5 minutes of a phone call which was great service.
There was a lot of variety if you ordered the buffet breakfast, which in my opinion was quite expensive (we got the continental breakfast which was still almost $30 per person). The cereal was stale and there seems to be no fresh milk anywhere, and their long life milk is pretty gross compared to our Devondale etc LL milks.
The meals at Blu restaurant were nice and reasonably priced.
Heaps of pools for everyone.
Overall I would highly recommend this resort for families and couples.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Bula Kristy H

We really appreciate the time taken to write a review on our property here on Denarau. Vinaka!

I do apologise for the issues regarding your porta cot and DVD player but am glad that our staff were efficient in rectifying and provided good service. However, it seems that otherwise you had a great time and hopefully created some fantastic family memories.

We thank you for your kind recommendation to others and for choosing to stay with us.

Gerard Knight General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Had a 3 night stay with family and friends. All 6 adults and 4 kids loved it!

We all just had the basic room, but it was great and big enough for each family.

The pool is definitely the highlight especially with the slide, but still had other good things going for it. Decent gym, good little kids club and a variety of places to eat.

We did not try cross restaurant but it did look good, found the buffet breakfast and dinner to be ok. Water court Asian was good although very slow service. Neptunes done a good pizza but the rest was average.

There is enough around denarau for young and old to keep everyone happy. We visited 9 yrs ago and it has changed a lot. But the main problem is still the beach, dirty black sand makes it not inviting for a swim.

We stayed at the Sofitel back 9 yrs ago which was good, but would have to say the radisson beats it.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank szkut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear szkut

I'm delighted that you found us to be a "worthy 5 star stay" and that your party had such an enjoyable time with us. Vinaka for your kind review.

We would love to have the opportunity to be able to welcome you all back again and extend our Fijian hospitality for which we are well known to you all.

Kind Regards

Gerard Knight General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This is a very complete and large resort in Denarau, often indicated as a great option for families. We visited as a couple and really enjoyed our stay. As many other reviews pointed out, the staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a beautiful pool complex, pool bar, a couple of very good restaurants and great breakfast service. However, I recommend trying some of the restaurants in the other hotels around Denarau as there are some excellent options. The price is good for what you get and Fiji is really a unique place in the world, so you can't go wrong. Enjoy and relax!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel, away from pools are quieter at all times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear PaolaB2012

I'm delighted that you found Radisson Blu Fiji to be a special place for couples - it certainly sounds as if you had a wonderful stay with us. Vinaka for your great review and recommendation to others, especially other couples!

What a great piece of advice for other Tripadvisor readers - "Enjoy and relax". That's what we aim to help all our guests achieve and I'm glad that we succeeded with you.

Kind Regards

Gerard Knight General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel and we experienced the same great service that we experienced on our previous visit. It was great to see some familiar faces from our last visit and once again we were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We joined Trish on a visit to two local schools which was a fantastic and humbling experience. Special thanks to Pritika, Shalini, Rocco and of course the bananas - Bill, Elmo and Simon aided by Ma. I am sure that we will visit Fiji again and we will definitely return to the Radisson Blu on Denarau Island.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mooks01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Mooks01

Thank you for choosing to return to Radisson Blu for a second time - we really appreciate our guests who are repeat visitors. Vinaka! I'm especially pleased that your second stay with us was as enjoyable as the first. I'm sure that many staff would remember you and welcome you back warmly.

Thank you also for mentioning our school tour and Adopt a School programme - we work hard with the local community to raise educational standards for our local Fijian children and we appreciate our guests amazing support and donations. We do have a Facebook page which keeps guests updated with our local projects. Radisson Blu Fiji Adopt a School. We are glad you enjoyed the visit to Ratu Navula College and Nadi Primary!

We look forward to welcoming you for a third visit sooner rather than later.

Kind Regards,Gerard Knight General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
1.0 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,305 reviews
11.3 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
753 reviews
23.1 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island

Address: Resort Drive, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#1 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range: $146 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiji's newest luxury beach front Resort offers a myriad of resort facilities nestled around lagoon swimming pools and lush tropical gardens combined with warm genuine Fijian hospitality. 270 luxuriously appointed and spacious guestrooms & suites combined with a contemporary and unique Fijian blend. Choose either a Guest Room or 1 & 2 Bedroom Suites with views of the Gardens, Lagoon or Ocean. Indulge in 5 lagoon swimming pools (one exclusively for Adults), Jacuzzis, Harmony Spa or free non motorised water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Prestigia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island Hotel Denarau Island
Radisson Fiji
Radisson Denarau Island
Denarau Island Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing