We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great family holiday”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We've just retuned from our week stay at the Raddison Blu. This was not just our first time to Fiji, but our first family holiday with our three children (8,5 and 2).
I cannot speak highly enough of the staff, who were always friendly and helpful. The one exception was the bar tenders at the swim up bar who rarely smiled or spoke.
Housekeeping were friendly and very obliging in working around my toddler's nap time.
We were slightly disappointed with the quality of the food at the buffet at dinner, considering the prices we were paying. The breakfast buffet was enjoyable however occasionally there was a wait for items such as glasses.
All in all we had a great time. We loved spending our days by the pool, kids loved the water slide and poolside drink/food service was friendly although a bit slow.
I would like to take this opportunity to make special mention of Elijah. He was a constant sight at the pool, interacting beautifully with guest and children. He is an asset to the resort.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlspragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Bula jlspragg

It certainly sounds as if you and your family enjoyed the experience of staying with us here at Radisson Blu Fiji and your 3 children enjoyed their first family holiday together!

I will pass on your regards to the team members you mentioned and have taken careful note of some of the areas you felt let down your overall experience here. We constantly endeavour to improve our service and use guest feedback to pinpoint areas of improvement.

Vinaka and I look forward to welcoming you back, perhaps for your second family holiday together!

Kind Regards

Gerard Knight General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,676
    1,273
    416
    145
    92
See reviews for
2,610
1,214
99
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (896)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We just spent Christmas with our family at the Raddison Blu Resort. It was just lovely, our suite was just lovely, the grounds were beautifully maintained & the pools were very nice! The resort had 5 restaurants, so there was a good choice. All the meals we had were very nice. All the staff in the resort were absolutely gorgeous, nothing was too much trouble.

I would highly recommend this resort to anyone planning a holiday in Fiji.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meredith402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Bula Meredith402

We appreciate your 5* rating of our property here on Denarau and thank you for the time taken to write a review for the Tripadvisor community. Vinaka!

I was so pleased to read that we had helped in a way to make your family Christmas a particularly memorable one. Yes, our staff are a pretty friendly bunch and I'm glad that they were happy to assist in any way possible. Perhaps you may be back to celebrate Christmas 2014!

Kind Regards

Gerard Knight General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was our second time to the Radisson Blu, we enjoyed staying here for a couple of nights previously as we felt the rooms were modern and clean, unfortunately our most recent stay changed our opinion.

The first room we were taken to smelt of sewerage, we aired the room out but when we came back there was still a strong smell so we requested a room change. The Radisson staff very quickly set us up with a new room, however room 2 had a very strong mouldy smell. We decided to put up with it as we were only staying for a night. I noticed the source of the smell was mould stains on the bathroom ceiling, the entry ceiling and the ceiling just above the air-con vent. I would consider the rooms very modern and clean if it wasn't for this, and a mould treatment would be all that is required but it was obvious that this problem had been ignored for some time.

Whilst we were disappointed in the room I must also note that I believe the Radisson have the nicest pool areas of all the Denerau resorts. The cocktails were great and the food at Watercourt Restaurant was lovely. All the time we spent outside the actual room and around the resort was quite enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmelieKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Bula AmelieKat

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Radisson Blu Fiji. I was pleased to read that time spent outside your room were positive ones - good food and cocktails, as well as enjoying our pool areas. Vinaka!

However, I read about your experience of the hygiene level of your room with a little disappointment, as we had failed to meet our normally high standards with regard to room cleanliness. I do apologise for this unfortunate situation, it is unacceptable and we will be revising our room checking/maintenance procedure to ensure that this situation does not occur again.

I do hope that you may give us the opportunity to show that what you experienced is below our normal standard and you consider choosing us again as your holiday destination.

With apologies

Gerard Knight General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We spent Christmas at the Radisson. Overall our experience was excellent and my findings matched previous reviews. Summary: great hotel for families- the pool and kids club were a hit! The pool is suitable to ALL ages. Lots of babies there. Staff really nice but service is slow. Food is ok but expensive for what you get-prices not too dissimilar to Sydney. Overall did not enjoy the food but Flying Fish @ Sherathon next door was fantastic. Beverages are expensive outside the 4-6pm happy hour. Facilities: not a lot to do beyond relaxing by the pool and some water sports. Besides the pool bar, nowhere to socialise comfortably, the reception and front bar are awkward and uninviting. Overall great place to relax and please the kids. I would recommend it for families, it's a nice 4 star hotel in my opinion....For couples/ group of friends, I think you can find more excitement elsewhere.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Snitcorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Bula Snitcorby

It was very pleasing to read that you had such an enjoyable Christmas break with us celebrating here at Radisson Blu. We thank you for your kind comments.

I did take note of your observations on our food outlets and have passed this information on to our Director of Food & Beverage. We appreciate your honesty and always try to use constructive feedback to improve service to our guests.

I do hope to be able to welcome you back here again in the future - possibly Christmas 2014,

Kind Regards

Gerard Knight General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I came to Radisdon Blu 3 years ago and have just arrived back again today with my two children (5years). I still think its the best all round family resort but I was horrified when we dined at casual beachfront BLU restaurant thus evening and walked away with $100 AUS bill. Two kids meals, a burger and fajitas. I'm sorry but I save that kind of spending on an a la carte dining experience. This was burgers in the beach. No wonder nobody was eating in the restaurants. My husband and I cldnt stop commenting on the fact that a supposedly 'sold out' hotel had very little families dining. Left a bitter taste on our first evening. Looks like we'll be venturing out!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dixie2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Bula Dixie2509

Thank you for taking time to write a review on Tripadvisor and for choosing to return to Radisson Blu. I do hope that your overall stay was a memorable one and you had a great family holiday with your two children.

I have noted your comments regarding price structure at Blu restaurant and will pass this observation onto our Director of Food and Beverage. Unfortunately we have to factor in that some of our ingredients and produce are imported, and although we do support local suppliers as much as possible their range is limited in Fiji. Food supplies brought in from overseas are not cheap.

I do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort in the future and that the rest of your stay with us was relaxing and fun filled.

Vinaka Vakalevu

Gerard Knight General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Family of 4 for a 7 night stay. 1bed apartment plus adjoining hotel suite.
Pros comfy beds, multiply air con zones in 1 bed apartment, washer and dryer handy. Good pools and grounds. Kids club staff so friendly. Good breakfast buffet.
Cons: DVD players which were outdated ( and incorrectly wired in), bathroom a little mouldy, no clocks in 1 bed apartment, very limited tv options. Housekeeping quality is variable.

The biggest disappointment was the food at the blu restaurant.i found it to be overpriced and of an average quality. We ate next door (at the Mexican) and in the port on numerous occasions.
Overall - good but not great for the price.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AMMIE01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights over Christmas 2013. Our room was spacious, modern and very clean. Staff were very helpful and although there were delays at times with some of our requests overall we were very happy. The swim up bar was a big hit, and every time we ate at one of the restaurants the food was great. The absolute highlight of the stay was the Lomani Wai dining in the water on Christmas Eve. It was an extravagant, wonderful, unforgettable experience that would be extremely hard to top.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLndBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
1.0 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,018 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
25.5 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#3 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island

Property: Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Address: Resort Drive, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#1 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#1 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiji's newest luxury beach front Resort offers a myriad of resort facilities nestled around lagoon swimming pools and lush tropical gardens combined with warm genuine Fijian hospitality. 270 luxuriously appointed and spacious guestrooms & suites combined with a contemporary and unique Fijian blend. Choose either a Guest Room or 1 & 2 Bedroom Suites with views of the Gardens, Lagoon or Ocean. Indulge in 5 lagoon swimming pools (one exclusively for Adults), Jacuzzis, Harmony Spa or free non motorised water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Rezidor, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island Hotel Denarau Island
Radisson Fiji
Radisson Denarau Island
Denarau Island Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing