We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday ever with children”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were extremely satisfied and happy with the Radisson Blu...The staff are so friendly..the pool excellent especially the adult section (no kids allowed) the activities for the kids..free paddle board and canoeing..excellent food and gin and tonics..can not fault the place..def be back...Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cody4489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Bula Cody4489

Thanks for your Tripadvisor review and kind comments about our property here on Denarau.

It was wonderful to read that you were extremely satisfied and happy with our resort and had the opportunity to utilise our free water activities. I do hope you enjoyed your gin & tonics while watching a beautiful Fijian sunset!

See you again soon hopefully!

Gerard Knight General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,933)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,613 - 3,619 of 4,933 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was our second trip back to the Radisson. We enjoyed our stay but there were a couple of small issues. The room was not as we had ordered with our notes upon booking> We ordered/paid for the family package which also was not listed and included free breakfast, late checkout and free kids club. It's like no-one ever marries the booking up to the deal?? Most of that was fixed for us and although the room was not ground floor as we requested it was still great and offered a lovely view of the lagoon. The biggest issue here was that the pool lounges were full by 8a.m. every day. Many families had reserved them before breakfast and even had them reserved for small children which seems unnecessary. We didn't get a pool lounge until the last day which was a disappointment. We were there in school holidays though so I guess it may somewhat be expected. The food orders around the pool were wrong more often than right and the food itself was quite frankly terrible. I have stayed in dozens of resorts and many struggle to live up to the menu and the Radisson was no exception. Breakfast was OK and the Asian restaurant was really nice. The afternoon cocktails whilst watching the sunset was lovely and the bar on the beach is open 24 hours which is great. The grounds in the Radisson are lovely and well cared for and the pool and slide are great for kids. The kids club was fun for our kids and was busy every day. The last day we were supposed to have a 6pm checkout (as per the deal) and despite reminding them it was part of the package on 2 occasions they still had us on file checking at at midday and our room cards didn't work. Given that we got quite a good deal I think it was value for money but the Radisson really needs to work on a few things.

Room Tip: We had third floor lagoon view which is great. The 1BR apt was plenty bigenough for us and our 2 boy...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shar8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Bula shar8888

It was great to read that you have chosen our property on Denarau for a second trip back to Fiji - vinaka! It was also nice to read that on the whole you had a pleasurable stay with us and enjoyed many aspects of our beautiful resort.

I have taken on board your comments regarding sun loungers being "reserved" with towels and service around the pool area. We will certainly use this information to improve the standards in our hotel.

Our team here at Radisson Blu look forward to welcoming you back for a third visit, hopefully in the near future!

Kind Regards

Gerard Knight General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Raddison is part of a group of swanky hotels on Denarau island.

Pros
- Only 20 minutes from Nadi airport.
- A large well appointed suite including full kitchen, dining area, outside private courtyard/balcony, washing machine and dryer, daily servicing (eventually, sometimes not until 5.30pm)
- Close to tours from Denarau port, especially if you are going on to another resort
- Fantastic pools, kids loved the slide, quite a nice beach to walk along. Beautifully maintained if somewhat artificial garden
- Quiet (where we were on the RHS as you face the beach) and not too crowded even at peak time.
- Some free entertainment (singing, fire-dancing) outside Blu restaurant on site.
- Perfectly sited for spectacular views of sunsets

Cons
- the room was spacious and looked good but the door lock between the bathroom and bedroom was broken, the tap in the bath swung loosely, and there was some stains on the tiling. We didn't complain about it as couldn't be bothered but it is the sort of thing that should be regularly checked and maintained.
- whilst we got a good deal on the suite rate, we found the food and drinks expensive across the board. Minibar was exceptionally expensive ($F50 for Chilean merlot, $F14 for chocolate bar). If you wanted to eat in and use the full kitchen, you could only buy a small range of exceptionally expensive supplies at a little mini-mart at the marina. Breakfast for us wasn't included and was $F30 each for a pretty average buffet, tasteless fruit, all self-service, and confusing layout. The restaurants were overpriced and the food at Blu was not great, had few vegies apart from chips, and had small servings except for the self-serve buffet ($F65). There was some entertainment but a lot was brought in from other countries (Samoa, Hawaii) and just didn't seem as genuine as we saw at another place we have stayed in in Fiji (Outrigger) where local villagers of all ages came.
- service around the pools was poor. We were at peak time/June but there appeared to be only 1-2 waiters around and you had to find them to order, then wait an hour or more for the food, which 2 out of 3 times was not what you ordered. I felt sorry for the over-worked staff. Drinks were also expensive and not tasty. For a country that has loads of fresh fruit, we couldn't get any fresh fruit juice, even in the cocktails or at breakfast. Pina colada tasted like dishwater.
- the other major downer was the distinct lack of friendliness compared to our previous experience. You rarely got a bula or even a smile and as the place is so big (over 600 rooms) you don't get to know any of the staff and they don't learn your names, or you theirs.
- the hotels and private residences on Denarau are kept in a secured compound with security at the "check-point" on entry. It made you feel like you were entering a luxurious concentration camp! All the staff can't afford to stay there so have to travel in and out every day on the local buses, which we took ($F1 to Nadi instead of $F7 just for around the hotels on the Bula bus).

We have mixed feelings about this hotel. The previous year we had an idyllic stay at the Outrigger on the Coral Coast and couldn't help but compare the two. Overall, Fiji is a largely safe, friendly, poor country and it depressed me that we were ripped off and taken advantage of as rich westerners excluded from the life of the locals

Room Tip: Choose a suite on the ground or 21st floor (avoid steps) close to the beach to avoid long treks to t...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaritaJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear MaritaJB

Thank you for your extensive review of our property on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read your list of supportive comments but disappointed that you found so many constructive items to share during your holiday here.

We regularly compare our Food and Beverage prices with the surrounding properties and generally find (and guests confirm) that we represent good value for money especially as our prices all include the governments 20% tax while other nearby properties note in their fine print that this will be added when they present the account. The F$ is currently around AUD$0.55 or NZ $0.65 so Our breakfast special (available at check in only) at F$32 is AUD$17.60 or NZ$20. I assure you that with the tax we include and the cost of imported foods here in Fiji that nobody is being wrapped off.

We have 135 one bedroom suites and 135 guest rooms - I am not sure where your estimate came from but clearly we are a good sized resort that is much larger than any of the island properties. My local team are famous for their Bula welcome and the Fijians are incredible at remembering guests by name even when they haven't returned for some years. I am sorry that you didn't experience this and had some maintenance issues in your room on arrival.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to convince you to stay again some time in the hope that you will experience the wonderful hospitality that I know the team can deliver here at the Radisson Blu Resort Fiji.

Warm Fijian regards - Gerard Knight, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This resort is perfect for young and old. We had one of the most relaxing stays we have ever had. The resort is quite spread out so it never seems crowded. There are four pools : Toddler's, children's, family and adult's. As we were there without children we enjoyed the tranquility of the adult pool!
The gardens are beautifully kept and a joy to walk through, something I did every day.
The rooms are modern and well appointed and the beds very comfortable.
The staff were the friendliest and most helpful we have ever met and really wonderful with children. Everything was done with a smile!
There were many extended families (grandparents, parents and children) in the resort and the accommodation was perfect for them, as by closing off an outer door, a two bedroom plus a one bedroom apartment becomes a three bedroom, two bathroom apartment!
We enjoyed the food in the restaurants, although it was probably a little expensive.
We certainly would recommend this resort and hope to return one day.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet opt for a Garden Room. It is a longer walk to the pools but much more pe...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Greetings from Fiji Aileen G

Thanks for your 5 star rating on Tripadvisor - it is always heartening to read that our team here at Radisson Blu have helped to create such great holiday memories.

It was great to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful grounds so much - we value our gardening team who take a lot of pride in maintaining and keeping them so immaculately.

We would love to welcome you back to our property here on Denarau in the future and in the meantime,

Vinaka Vakalevu

Gerard Knight General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

To be fair, we only stayed here overnight, having arrived back from the Yasawa Islands that afternoon, and flying home the next afternoon, so my review is based only on 24 hours. But I must say that we were glad it was only that short!

The good - our welcome reception by the staff was fantastic, greeted with smiling faces, tropical juice on arrival and escorted promptly to our room.
The room was well kept and modern and very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable.

The not-so-good
We were here during school holidays (with our own children) but the resort felt so crowded, it certainly did not provide the relaxation one would hope.
The breakfast buffet was SO crowded, I have never experienced anything like it. The poor staff could not replace the items fast enough and one of my kids described it as like a feeding frenzy at the zoo.
Equally the pools were not set up for the size of the crowds staying at the resort, guest "reserved" the limited number of deck chairs with towels but no-one was lying on them - we had to STAND watching them for over an hour while our kids used the pool.

The resort would be lovely I'm thinking in the off-season, but we were very happy that we'd chosen to spend most of our time on the outer islands.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa31jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Bula lisa31jane

Greetings from Fiji! I had mixed feelings when reading this review and thank you for your constructive comments.

I'm so pleased that you enjoyed our warm welcome and the high standard of our rooms but disappointed that you found breakfast and our sun lounger situation frustrating. I do apologise that we were less then perfect in our delivery. We certainly use our guest comments to work on constantly improving our service - since your observations we have reviewed our breakfast layout in order to help alleviate congestion at busy times.

I do hope that you may find another opportunity to stay with us again and let us prove we are more than "average".

Vinaka Vakalevu

Gerard Knight General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Please do you and your family a favour and take them to the Radisson Blu Resort in Denarau Island in Fiji. The staff are the most friendly people I have ever encountered! We visited other resorts during our stay and I can say the people at Radisson are by far the friendliest! And, their pool is hands down the best pool going around! There are quiet pools for the adults only, the family pool for everyone, the slide pool (which keeps the kids entertained for hours on end), shallow pools for the kids and a separate fenced off baby pool for the littlies.

There are staff in the pool simply to have fun with the kids and friendly Fijians playing music and wearing huge smiles everywhere you go.

The nannies are superb and ever so accommodating for even the most challenging children.

Nothing is a hassle at Radisson Blu! A friendly and happy holiday destination for any age group! We encountered honeymooners, families with young kids, twenty something backpackers and grandparents who all agreed that this was one of the best places they had ever been. Oh, and even Mel Gibson checked in while we were there!! Apparently he is a regular!!

We drank the water, ate the salad, had ice in our drinks and all the other stuff we were warned not to do and none of us got sick. The Radisson was clean and fresh. Oh and the breakfast was amazing!

We had the best time and we as a family from 2yrs up to 35yrs all highly recommend this as a holiday destination. The only thing I will say about Fiji is that it was far more expensive than I expected and the two tips that I was given and didn't do were; taking snacks for the kids (which would have saved us a lot) and the other tip was to pack a change of clothes and some swimmers in our hand luggage in case your luggage gets lost. Well guess what... our luggage did get lost and we spent our first day in our jeans and jumpers in 31degree heat as we had come from 2degrees in Melbourne that morning!

Another handy hint was to take a few pairs of bathers each as it is quite humid and things take a while to dry. The kids lived in their swimmers for the whole week and it was good to have dry swimmers to wear each day.

All in all - no negatives. You'll love it! We did!

Room Tip: We had a one room apartment for 2 adults, 2 kids and a toddler. There was plenty of space, a dining...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Bula Sandy N

What a fantastic commentary on your experience staying at Radisson Blu. It seems that you and your family had a memorable stay - we are glad to be able to help with this!

Yes, our team is a friendly bunch and always have time for some fun with the kids in the pool! It's even better when adults can escape for some R & R at the adults pool while the children enjoy themselves with our Activity crew!

Sandy N, it sounds as if you had a fantastic holiday with us and thanks for the glowing recommendation - we appreciate it. See you again soon!

Vinaka Vakalevu

Gerard Knight General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Good:
one bedroom suite excellent quality, well equipped, great bathroom, great room service with a smile
didn't agree room was as we had booked on arrival, we were moved the next day to a room with sea view - very happy resolution
immaculately kept grounds which were a pleasure to walk around
very friendly staff, a bula where ever you go and some of them even learnt my name
fabulous investment in activities for the kids- activities staff everywhere and the kids loved them
great pools, something for everyone
free wifi- nice touch and works well considering there's about 600 people on it at any one time

The bad
Too few wait staff around pool. Only 1 at times, had to wait ages for food and beer, if it came at all (orders forgotten three times!)
Breakfast restaurant is too small, so you may have to queue in the morning, sometimes up to 20 mins; and there is no shade where you are waiting so you BAKE!
Families "booking" sun beds by the pool by dumping their towels, despite signed promises from hotel that they will move belongings if unoccupied for 15mins. I never saw this happen, and it should, because you often couldn't find anywhere to sit.
Bula bus is too expensive

The ugly
All the food is overpriced. The a la carte menu at the main restaurant Blu is a DISASTER! Book half board so you can have the evening buffet, otherwise you're going to be stung $65 a night for a buffet/person (ouch). The Fish&Chip/pizza place was great, but there's only so many pizzas you can eat in one week, and they too were on the expensive side. The Asian was OK-ish, but again waaaaayyyy over priced. We didn't dare try the most expensive cross in case that was an equal disaster.

Room Tip: Get a garden view 1 bed suite - most also have an ocean
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrea g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Bula andrea g

We appreciate you taking time to write a constructive review of our beautiful property here on Denarau and have certainly taken note of the negative aspects of your stay as well as the positives.

Please be assured that we have taken on board your comments regarding sun loungers, pool service, breakfast service and value for money in our restaurants. You were obviously staying with us at a peak time of the year but this does not excuse our drop in service standards. I do apologise on behalf of our entire team as our aim is always to provide the best experience for our guests.

I would just like to clarify for Tripadvisor members, our food prices are all quoted in Fijian dollars and include tax (be aware that some restaurants do not show menu prices with tax included). Our all you can eat dinner buffet with tea and coffee equates roughly to $36 Australian dollars as a guide.

I do hope that overall you enjoyed your stay here and would welcome the opportunity to show you that we do deserve our number 1 Tripadvisor ranking.

Kind Regards

Gerard Knight General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
1.0 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,226 reviews
11.3 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#3 of 8 in Denarau Island
735 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
23.0 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island

Address: Resort Drive, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#1 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range: $153 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiji's newest luxury beach front Resort offers a myriad of resort facilities nestled around lagoon swimming pools and lush tropical gardens combined with warm genuine Fijian hospitality. 270 luxuriously appointed and spacious guestrooms & suites combined with a contemporary and unique Fijian blend. Choose either a Guest Room or 1 & 2 Bedroom Suites with views of the Gardens, Lagoon or Ocean. Indulge in 5 lagoon swimming pools (one exclusively for Adults), Jacuzzis, Harmony Spa or free non motorised water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Prestigia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island Hotel Denarau Island
Radisson Fiji
Radisson Denarau Island
Denarau Island Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing