We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay was too short - Would stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stay was too short - Would stay again!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We go to Fiji almost every year and my wife and I got married in Fiji out on one of the islands. This time we returned with our 23 month old baby for his 1st trip to fiji. Usually we return from the island and hop straight onto the plane and return to Sydney but this time we decided to stay a night within Denarau and WOW were we surprised!!!

We were surprised on a few different areas. The Resort was amazing and we loved it, there where some painting of the walkways when we stayed but this did not impact on our stay. The room was great, very clean, clean bathroom and clean sheets. We asked for a porta cot and the cot was in good condition and also made up with a sheet. The kitchenette was clean and there was only 1 glass that wasnt 100% clean but everything was very well designed. It was a little bit of a walk to the room but it gave great opportunity for our son to run back and burn some excess enjoy off. My wife loved the pillows but I didn't.

The pool area was superb!!! The waterslide was great and the pool area was kept clean and tidy. There is a great Adults only area of the lagoon pool and also a little kiddies pool. Pool towels were also provided which was awesome!

We ate at the watercourt where they serve asian food. The food here was excellent and we enjoyed the meal here far more than at the Blu restaurant BUT they are expensive. Alcohol and food was cheaper out on the island than on the mainland. Watercourt was clean and tidy but very small as we were lucky to get a table. At the Blu restaurant, we had lunch and it was like being back home in outback Australia with the flies!!! One hand moving to keep the flies off your meal while trying to shove food in your mouth with the other hand before the flies took it away.. The other thing we noticed was the constant need for the waters\waitress staff to continually get rid of the indian minor birds.

Service was slow in the restaurants and compared to the island where we stay, the staff weren't as friendly. It was very random that you would receive a big BULA from the staff. Don't get me wrong, the staff were nice but not as happy as island staff.

Check in and out was great and we had no problems with our bill. Our only regret was that we didn't stay here for a few nights rather than just 1 night as it was simply to short. We would recommend staying here as a couple or with a family but the $$$ will add up rather fast.

Looking forward to coming back and staying a few more nights

Room Tip: Rooms on the Sheraton side have a nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kizza_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Kizza_11

Thanks for taking time to write such a positive review of our property here on Denarau. It was great to read your comments.

I am delighted that you were pleasantly surprised on arrival about our standard of rooms and the different pool areas. Watercourt, our Asian restaurant, is always very popular with guests and I'm glad you got to experience it.

As you say, one night is not enough! We look forward to welcoming you back soon with your wife and child. Until then,

Kind Regards

Gerard Knight General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,783
    1,327
    425
    151
    94
See reviews for
2,727
1,257
100
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (915)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in March. We booked a 1 bedroom suite - had 2 singles, 1 rollaway and the sofa bed for 3 ladies and 1 child. Room, bathroom and the balcony were all nice, spacious and clean. The suite also has a kitchen - but I wouldn't recommend trying to make meals here except for simple breakfasts. Meals at the hotel are expensive - we only had Sunday brunch onsite and the food/spread was okay. The rest of the time we ate elsewhere (mainly at the marina). Staff was good except for a few mix-ups here and there (which were later fixed). The hotel is nice - the pool areas are lovely and there's a lot of seating alongside the beach (great for sunset drinks). There is an adults pool, and a small water slide in the childrens pool. This hotel is more family oriented.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbugslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Bula travelbugslc

It was good to read that you enjoyed your stay at Radisson Blu and found our rooms to be suitable for your requirements. Thanks for taking the time to post this information for others to see.

Our sunset/ocean decks are always popular, particularly at sunset where many guests seem to have a cocktail in their hand! It really is a very special spot.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you on a return visit and we appreciate you choosing us as your holiday destination.

Kind Regards

Gerard Knight General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZL
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here in 2011, This resort deserves its 5 stars.
Staff are friendly
Resort layout is excellent
Variety of restaurants
Can walk to other resorts (easy walking distance)
Best swimming pool of any of the other resorts in denarau.

The only thing that disappointed us was the birds at breakfast ate more off our plates than we did! but you can hardly blame the resort for that! and the beach could do with a bit more attention in rubbish removal. Look forward to coming back!

Room Tip: If you can afford it get a room near the beach or over looking the pool (if you don't mind a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Bula JJ R

it was very pleasing to read that you rated our resort as deserving of its 5 stars. Vinaka! Thank you also for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

I noted that your last stay was in 2011 - I'm sure you are due another trip to Fiji soon and I do hope that you choose Radisson Blu again! We look forward to welcoming you.

Kind Regards

Gerard Knight General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The resort facilities incl the pools, kids club & activities were good, staff are very friendly as well. The dissapointment is with the food we tried the buffet dinner at the blu on the first night which turned out to be an absolute waste to money with very limited choice, below average taste and expensive. We braved the restuarant at the radisson again at the water court. The food was again below average with the only saving grace being not as expensive as the buffet at the blu. The rooms were nice however we found plenty of cockroaches small and big. Overall we enjoyed the warmth of the raddisson staff and their services. Just a bit dissapointed with the food. Recommend the stay the raddisson eat at port denaru for better quality and value for money food.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank praveend79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Greetings from Fiji praveend79

We appreciate you taking time to write a commentary on Radisson Blu Fiji and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our resort facilities including our pool areas and kids club. However, it was disappointing to read that you the dining you experienced did not meet your expectations. I sincerely apologise and have passed on your comments to our Food and Beverage Director. He will certainly use this feedback when implementing further training.

Vinaka Vakalevu for choosing Radisson Blu as your holiday destination and I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Gerard Knight General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My hubby and I stayed here for a week and we loved it.!!! Could not fault a thing, service was excellent.!! We had dinner at the Lomani Way which you could not fault. A dinner at a signature table for two was superb!!! Had two massages at the beauty room, the staff were fabulous. Cant wait to go again.!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you have a family I would suggest a double room with a washing machine,dryer and kitchen are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeBee1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Bula DeeBee1952

Thanks for taking the time to inform others about your stay at Radisson Blu Fiji. It certainly sounds as if you had a lovely holiday of pampering and relaxation!

I am so glad you experienced our in-water dining option of Lomani Wei - it really is a unique way to enjoy a night of beautiful food under the stars in a unique setting. Radisson Blu is the only hotel on Denarau to offer this to guests.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and look forward to your return visit.

Vinaka Vakalevu and Kind Regards

Gerard Knight General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Whilst we have been to Fiji on numerous holidays we have only visited Denarau Island so this was our first stay. We choose the Radisson Blu for various reasons over the other resorts in this location.

After a quick look around both children gave the resort a huge thumbs up after they found the water slide. Well our children literally spent hours on this slide. My youngest was so tired at the end of each day from dragging himself out of the pool and climbing the stairs to the top of the slide. He was so in awe of this slide he insisted I gave it a go. Wow I can see how they were hooked.

The buffet breakfast in ‘Blu’ is outstanding. So much to choose from. It was lovely start to the day.

For me personally when you are on holiday nothing beats a swim up bar and to my surprise there was one here. Oh joy. Great enjoying a cocktail whilst watching the kids in the pool.

We enjoyed a lovely take away meal at Neptune’s. Prompt service and the meal was great. I sampled many a cocktail and enjoyed all. Blu restaurant was great for lunches.

We ate at the Watercourt and totally enjoyed our meal. We were there during May and when we arrived we were advised that children eat free when they eat with you. This was such a bonus, as our 11 year old can eat. We enjoyed a buffet meal one night which there was heaps to choose from even our kids had it.

The staff is friendly and especially housekeeping they go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable etc. Though it is nothing to return to your room at 4pm for it not to have been serviced yet. But we are on Fiji time!
They have kids club here but whilst we were here they were repainting it and the meeting place was moved to the pool towel bure. My two were not remotely interested in kids club here they had too much fun with each other on the slide.
This resort has a lovely adult’s only pool, unfortunately with 2 active boy’s hubby and I did not get the opportunity to indulge. The pool set up was great, excellent family pool. Good water activities for our 11 year old he got involved with water polo, aerobics and volleyball.

The highlight for the kids would have been the torch lighting each evening. The staff went out of their way to ensure all kids that wanted to participate could. Well our two decided to get involved. They dress the kids in grass skirts. The boys are shirtless with ‘bula’ painted down their torso. War paint on their faces. Then they all follow the torch lighting man around each of the torches to be lit in the resort. All the children get to light a torch. It is wonderful, great experience.
Free wi fi was a hit for the 11 year old with his ipad.

Unfortunately I ran out of time and did not get to experience the ‘Harmony Retreat’.

The Bula bus is great and goes around the resorts dropping and picking up to Denarau shops and the golf club. We had lunch at the Hard Rock Café which was lovely.

Hubby and our 11 year old had a round of golf whilst our stay at Denarau.

The added bonus with this resort is it is only 20 mins from the airport. So to kids that have been on a 3 hr flight and just want to get to the resort to have a swim this was a positive.

The negatives, we stayed in a lagoon view room which was lovely. We did try and upgrade to a 1 bedroom suite but we were told the resort was fully booked to try again tomorrow. Which we did but we were told the same thing, so we gave up then. There was a sofa bed which had a very thin mattress, not comfortable at all. The room definitely is not suitable for 2 adults and 2 children aged 5 and 11.

For a resort that was fully booked we certainly did not see a lot of people around. We had no problem at any time of day finding a lounger around the pool, it was great.

There is a handy store about 10 mins walk from the resort.

All in all we were impressed. We asked the kids should we return and they both said we should so I will dare say we will be back in the near future but this time we will ensure we book a one bedroom suite for a bit more room and comfortable sleeping. We did get the opportunity to check the one bedroom suite out and they looked welcoming and better suited for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank familyoffour_2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Bula familyoffour_2010_10

Thanks for writing such a detailed and informative review for other Tripadvisor members to use when choosing a resort to stay at. You certainly covered most of the services and facilities Radisson Blu has to offer!

It was good to read that you sampled food at Blu, Neptunes and Water Court as well as enjoying a few cocktails. Parents often find they can find time to relax when their children are mesmerised by our water slide.

As a first time guest to Radisson On Denarau I do hope that your future plans involve a return trip at some point. We will be here to welcome you with our friendly Bula!

Kind Regards

Gerard Knight General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

The staff are friendly, the room & facilities great.

The pools, all with sunshades, caters for all ages - our 15 month old loved slashing around in the infant pool & we loved taking him in the bigger family pool. (& I'm sure the people in the adults only pool loved being away from us families!)

The breakfast buffet was good, & most of the meals we had were good - the only disappointing meal we had was a $65 dinner buffet - food was very average & not worth the money - order from the a la carte menu instead!!!

All in all a great family holiday destination.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Shannon7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Bula Shannon7979

Thanks for your positive comments on your stay at Radisson Blu Fiji. It certainly sounds as if you and your family had a memorable holiday!

We are pleased that you found us to be a great family holiday destination, with your little one especially enjoying the different pool areas we have available for our guests.

Our friendly staff would be delighted to welcome you back again and in the meantime

Vinaka Vakalevu and Kind Regards

Gerard Knight General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
1.0 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,125 reviews
39.2 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,586 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,084 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#3 of 8 in Denarau Island
717 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island

Property: Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Address: Resort Drive, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#1 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#1 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiji's newest luxury beach front Resort offers a myriad of resort facilities nestled around lagoon swimming pools and lush tropical gardens combined with warm genuine Fijian hospitality. 270 luxuriously appointed and spacious guestrooms & suites combined with a contemporary and unique Fijian blend. Choose either a Guest Room or 1 & 2 Bedroom Suites with views of the Gardens, Lagoon or Ocean. Indulge in 5 lagoon swimming pools (one exclusively for Adults), Jacuzzis, Harmony Spa or free non motorised water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Rezidor, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island Hotel Denarau Island
Radisson Fiji
Radisson Denarau Island
Denarau Island Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing