We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My partner and I stayed four nights (five days) at the resort over the school holidays in July 2012 (as he is a school teacher).
When booking I requested a room up high and away from the children’s pool due to noise and it being the school holidays. Unfortunately on arrival we had been allocated a room on the top level although it was situated right above the children’s pool, which we were a bit disappointed about, the window cut out a reasonable amount of the noise but we were unable to enjoy the room’s deck. I understand that this may also be the fault of the travel agent but feel that to make the customer experience better more attention should be taken to room preferences.
I was also a little disappointed as housekeeping forgot our room two out of the five days and had to be asked to come back to do it, which was also a bit of an inconvenience. But once the room had been visited it was always beautifully clean.
The majority of food at the resort was great; I was really impressed with the room service food and its reasonable prices. Although I did feel that the Thai restaurant food was a little disappointing, as the meals were quite plain and small.
I was also quite disappointed by the beach in front of the Radisson Blu, it was not desirable to swim in, we felt slightly mislead by the hotel advertising and felt that customers should be made aware of this prior to booking the beachfront resort. The undesirable beach also restricted us only to the use of the pools where it was extremely difficult to get a lounger after 7am. I understand that we were there at one of the hotels busiest times, but perhaps this is an issue which needs to be addressed during times of peak capacity.
I felt that the accommodation was exceptional, although service was not the best in some areas. Potentially because of the large size of the resort and staying at its busiest time staff attention to some of the smaller details were lacking and decreased my overall experience. This was a little disappointing considering the amount of money paid; I was accepting that it was the school holidays and the hotel was extremely full, although I was expecting slightly better service.

Overall we were disappointed with the Radisson Blu.

Hannah.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,052)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,052 - 4,058 of 5,053 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed in a 1 bedroom Lagoon View Suite for 4 nights due to being there for a Wedding.
The Wedding was well executed by The Radisson and Paradise Brides. Great Wedding buffet and attentive service for drinks and table clearing.
Very spacious with kitchen, dining and lounge areas and a big balcony.
Bed was kingsize, comfortable with nice linen.
Bathroom was also very large with a shower cubicle, huge bath and vanity, toilet of course, and washing machine and dryer. Nice amenities and towels.
Air-con and fans worked well.
Housekeeping attended each day at different times and were efficient.
All staff were welcoming and helpful.
Food and drinks were priced up and typical for Denauru Island. Favourite was Neptunes for seafood and pizza.
Very family/children orientated resort.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mynatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We recently spent ten glorious days at the resort and it just wasn’t long enough!!! My wife, my son and his wife & kids all had an amazing time thanks to the staff at Radisson who were so lovely, made us feel very special, and ensured we had a great time. The staff are a great credit to this resort. We will definately be back next year!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in September with my husband and 2 children (ages 2 and 4). This is the second time we stayed here (the last time was 3 years ago) and once again we had a wonderful family holiday.

We actually spent the first half of our holiday at the Shangri La Fijian Resort on the Coral Coast to try something different but we much prefer the Radisson as a resort.

Accommodation: - We stayed in a one bedroom ocean suite. The suite was really large and well designed. There was a fully self contained kitchen, a large living/dining area and a separate bedroom. The bathroom was also large (with bath) and could be accessed either via the bedroom as an ensuite or from the main living area. The bathroom also contained laundry facilties with a washing machine and dryer and washing detergent was supplied.

The One bedroom suite was plenty of room with children of this age.
There was a television in both the living room and the bedroom. This was great as it meant we could watch tv in the bedroom while the little ones were asleep in the living area at night.

Resort - The resort felt new and clean and the rooms were very thoughtfully planned and appointed. It had a nice tropical feel to it and was set in lush gardens. The facilities were great for families. There were swimming pools to cater for every age from the toddler wading pool right through the adults only pool for those wanting to escape the families. There was a fabulous water slide in one of the pools which provided hours of entertainment for the kids at the resort.

Food and restaurants : There is a good choice of restaurants and food at the resort, all priced reasonably. I found the food to have improved markedly from the last time we were here. For those interested a quick summary of the food options:
-Asian cuisine restaurant was really good and I'd highly recommend it. If you go try the spring rolls.
-Fish and chips from Neptunes- really good - much improved from our previous stay
-Buffet - I am not usually a fan of the buffet and was reluctant to try it after our previous stay, but it was actually really good this time with a wide choice. We went there on the night that there was the Polynesian show. This was no additional charge and was great to see the traditional dance and song. The kids absolutely love it.
-Breakfast - decent choice.
Cross Restaurant - Fine dining option. We were underwhelmed last time and did not go there this time.

On the whole we thought food and drinks were reasonably priced at the Radisson. We did go to check out the marina as had heard the restaurants are just as good but much cheaper there and we were not impressed by anything we saw there and it did not seem to be cheaper at all anyway.

We also ventured into Nadi for dinner one night (it's a 10 minute cab ride). It was nice to get out of the resort and see Nadi at night and dine in a local restaurant but the restaurant was nothing great. We also went next door to the Sheraton's Flying Fish restaurant which is on the beach. This was a really good meal and I would highly recommend trying this restaurant.

Golf Course- there is one opposite the resort and my husband played and enjoyed it, although not as much as the one on the Coral Coast.

Day Spa - I took my own advice from last time and avoided the day spa and instead went to the Westin for a facial. This was really lovely.

Service - We found the hotel staff and the Fijians in general to be really friendly and they do seem to love children. There is a kids club there for ages 4+ . Our children went in there a couple of times and had fun with the activities organised. These were often beach or water based.

Service was friendly and nothing was any trouble. They also went of their way to ensure that we were provided a late check out so that our youngest would have somewhere to sleep in the middle of the day.

We would definitely stay here again. We love Fiji as a holiday destination and we loved the Radisson for the way it caters to families. It is not a luxurious hotel but it is clean, well appointed and extremely well set up for families. The hotel grounds are stunning - amazing lush tropical gardens really give it a great atmosphere. There were also plenty of people there without children and they seemed to be enjoying themselves too. We plan to go back again soon!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fionafromaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I spent 7 nights staying here at the Radisson with 3 kids (8yrs, 5yrs and 10months) and have to say its been a really enjoyable stay. I decided to break the review down into small areas so that readers can pick and choose the parts they are interested in.

1 Bedroom suite
It was a very comfortable setup as the couch extended into a double bed, which was more than suitable for my two older kids. It would probably be a little too small for 2 adults however. We left it in the folded out bed position for the entire stay and still had ample space to move around. Our baby stroller was able to move in between the bed and the TV shelf without any issues. There is only one bathroom in this unit so it got a little tricky at times especially with the older kids. There are ample common toilets around the resort, which are very well maintained so it wasnt much of an issue in the end. My only complaint on the unit was the few runaway cockroaches, mainly in the bathroom area. Those small roaches seems to be a common problem on the island as i encountered the same problem while having dinner at the Sheraton Feast restaurant. I would recommend all travellers call the housekeeping straight away as they are prompt at responding and cleaning the problematic areas. The room also contains a washing machine and dryer which was used every other day due to the constant visits to the pool and beach.

If you like to keep tabs on your expenses that have been charged to the room, there is a function on the TV that lets you view the outstanding amount to date. Very useful especially if you just need a quick check and not have to call up the reception all the time.

Eateries (Cafes and Restaurants)
We tried Neptunes, Blu Restaurant and the Water Court throughout our stay. The prices for each dish is high (all of them) as you would expect from an eatery that is stationed within a resort. A quick summary of each one:

Neptunes: The pizza was fairly average. We tried the Hawaiian pizza equivalent, the Chicken Satay, a garlic bread and the fish and chips. The kids enjoyed them but would only recommend them if you are just after something quick and easy for lunch or dinner. It has a great seating area overlooking the beach however.

Blu Restaurant (Breakfast). Quite a decent spread although it doesnt change very often. Throughout our entire stay there, they only changed a few dishes once. The typical spread is fried rice, steamed fish, baked beans, pancakes, fruit / banana cake slices, muffins, eggs, bacon, fruits, cereal, bread and toasting facilities. Overall i felt it was more than enough for what we needed so definitely no complaints.

Water Court. Very good asian food! Our kids loved the chicken satay with fries while the adults had the Nasi Goreng and Char Kway Teow. Both were very good and would have gone there again if we had stayed a little longer. They do recommend making reservations earlier in the day however.

Pool, Bar, Beach facilities.
This is really where the family spent most of their time. The pool is one of the best ive had so far. The kids spent hours in there at a time. On a sunny day, if you dont manage to secure a deck chair, dont expect to get one until late afternoon. It didnt really impact us however as we were in the pool most of the time and was happy just placing our personal belongings in a corner. The place is safe so we felt comfortable leaving our items unattended. We made it a point not to bring anything valuable however. There is a towel station for hiring towels to be used by the pool or beach. On a real busy day, they actually run out of towels (by late morning) so get yours early. Alternatively, request for more room towels from the reception and bring those with you to the pool or beach.

Access to the beach is great with multiple stairs and ramps to get there. There are multiple showers by these ramps to wash off the sand before heading back to the main area of the resort.

Kids Club
The kids were hesitant at first but after a few tries, they just kept wanting to go back. The carers were great and the daily programs are well planned out. They will always provide you with the following day's program the night before and have it delivered to your door step. They have 3 sessions in a day, morning, afternoon and evening. It starts at 9am and finishes at 9pm. Lunch and dinner breaks in between can be provided at an additional cost. This arrangement was probably the most valuable service as it gave the adults some much needed quiet time although our 10months old was with us the whole time. There is the option for a personal baby sitter however we decided against it as we were happy bringing the little one along for our shopping and beach strolls.

Transportation
The Bula bus is definitely the best way to get around the island. At FJD$7 per adult (unlimited for the day) and kids under 10 (or was it 12?) ride for free. It stops in all the resorts as well as Port Denarau. It comes by every 15mins so its not a long wait if you miss one. There is also ample space for a baby stroller to placed onboard which helps for families with a similar setup to ours. Even though the schedule shows the circuit that the bus takes, i liked the fact that the driver used their discretion and skipped a stop if there are no passengers hoping to get on or alight. This saved a bit of travelling time. You can choose to take a private taxi if you wish but the Bula bus was more of a fun experience for both the kids and adults.

Overall
I love this place! It had everything we needed and more. Our plan was just to have a relaxing holiday so we didnt do the island hopping activities. That will be for our next trip there. For families with strollers, if you are staying on either level 2 or 3 of the resort, there are lifts around so you dont have to carry the stroller up / down the stairs. I do wish they had more ramps around however but it was easy enough to get by nonetheless. I gave this a 4 out of 5 stars instead of a 5 due to the cockroaches we had in the room.

Recommendations:

1) Watch the sun rise / sun sets. It is absolutely magical. Bring a decent camera to capture the moment. There are deck chairs around as well as a dedicated sun lounging areas.

2) Check the tides. You cant get on the beach during high tide so it pays to check the tides so that you can plan to head to the beach during low tides.

3) Check out the other resorts. Each resort is next to each other with no more than a 5min walk along the beach. This is allowed across all resorts on the island so feel free to venture across, check out the cafes, restaurants and shops if you are bored of the ones in Radisson itself. The gift shop in Sheraton and Westin are the best in terms of variety. Loved the coffee at the Pantry in the Sheraton lobby.

4) Bring more than one set of swimmers. We were in the pools / beach most of the time and the kids will probably head there more than once a day so being able to rotate through more than one set of swimmers helped alot.

5) Definitely bring your own food! The cost of food within the resorts are expensive. With 3 kids, we brought the necessary baby food as well as dried food stuff for the trip. We unfortunately had some of the food items taken at customs (ie: minced meet and shredded chicken) despite being vacumm packed. A quick trip to the small supermarket at Port Denarau helped us replace those items however. We ended up having pasta bake and spaghetti on some nights which the kids totally enjoyed. We brought along the pasta sauces which got through customs fine. Small packets of milk are provided by the resort each day as well. Do note, the supermarket at Port Denarau isnt very huge so the selection is quite limited compared to your local supermarkets. The convenience stores located in the resort is even smaller.

6) Bring along and use Fiji cash where possible. The resort has since introduced a 3% surcharge on all transactions using a credit card. This is specific to Radisson as far as i can tell. Purchasing items in the Sheraton, Westin and Sofitel didnt bring about any surcharges.

7) Relax and enjoy. In the end, you are here to relax so try not to plan too far and just enjoy the facilities!

Hope this review benefits others. If you ever need more info, feel free to place a response. I would be happy to add more details if you need them.

Room Tip: Choose the high floors. Level 3 gives the best view. Level 2 is also good. Level 1 is mainly blocked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank 930JeremyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

BULA!! We (me, partner, 3 1/2yo and 4 month old) have just spent 5 wonderful nights in Fiji (not long enough).
We had a 1 bedroom unit on the third floor on the Sheraton side, overlooking one of the pools (room 364). As a family with young children we loved this room type as we were able to put the kids down for a sleep and still able to watch tv etc in the living area without disturbing them. Another great feature was the laundry facilities. Housekeeping was quite happy to provide as many packets of washing powder at no extra cost which was great. The bedroom was great. You could easily fit 3 to 4 porta cots in the room if you needed to. Each room was individually air-conditioned and adjustable.
I would recommend this resort to all ages. We were lucky enough to be fairly close to the lift but it was a bit of a walk to it. If you were restricted with climbing stairs or walking distances I would reconsider booking this resort. ‘Blu’ restaurant where breakfast is, is a bit of a walk around the pools depending on where in the resort you are. You access the resort from the 2nd level. If you are on levels 1 or 3 you need to walk up and down flights of stairs. If you have a pram I would ask for a room on the second level or near the lift. We got great views and a lovely breeze being on the 3rd level. Friends on level 1 said they didn't get a breeze and couldn't leave their door open when they weren't there due to no security. Veranda doors are fly screened.
We had breakfast included at 'Blu' restaurant. It was quite adequate with all the normal items but as someone who loves to have hashbrowns at a buffet, I was disappointed as they didn't have them. We also ate the buffet dinner there one night and I really enjoyed that. We had dinner another night at Watercourt which was very reasonably priced and wonderful food. We had lunch at Neptunes and that was also really good. Everything is served very quickly and the majority of staff were happy to accommodate anything we needed. I am a fussy eater.
This was a great resort and VERY family friendly. If you are a couple on your honeymoon I wouldn't recommend this resort. They do have an adults only pool but it is only separated from the other pools by a small garden.
The beach is kind of non existent unless you walk towards Sheraton and Westin. If you want white beaches, Denarau is not the place to stay; you need to go to an island. The sand is clean but brown/black in colour with lots of small rocks. Definitely make use of the resort pools, especially the slide which we could hardly keep our son off. It was a hit.

We did a tour up into the highlands which we enjoyed (can't remember the name but it was a yellow brochure). Bumped our way up a very steep dirt track in a Landcruiser 4WD nursing my infant son. Visited a school and a village which was really good. At the village tour they prepared a feast for us. It would have fed about 8 people. We had been told to eat lunch before we left so didn't eat a lot. If you were intending to do some sort of trip to visit a school, I highly recommend bringing blank work books and pencils/pens and story books to donate. It was sad to see their library so sparse. My son has more books than they do.

We had a great time in Fiji and that was thanks to the resort and its staff who were more than helpful. I have already started saving to go back again! Next time we might stay at an island though to see something different.

Room Tip: Rooms on 3rd level don't get scraping chair etc noise. Rooms on Sheraton side are good at the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Finnmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My 9 year old son and I just spent five nights at Radisson Blu and it was the best holiday of our lives. The resort is immaculate, and has everything you dream of in a tropical holiday. Sitting overlooking the ocean in the warm breeze at 8am, eating my freshly cooked breakfast, and drinking my icy papaya smoothie, I could not have been happier. The variety of restaurants and bars on offer is great and although expensive, not outrageously so, and there are a variety of options and prices. It's also an easy Bula Bus ride down to the marina where there are plenty more food options to choose from. We were there in school holidays so yes, there were a lot of children there, but I didn't find this difficult. The main pool is very large, and everyone was in such a good mood! But what really makes the Radisson so special is the staff. From Litia and Savu who greeted my son by name every time they saw him, and made him feel so special, to John the "wine ninja" who stealthily filled your glass every time you weren't looking, during the highly enjoyable Lomani Wai dinner (dinner at tables in the water in one of the pools!). We had breakfast included in our rate and the breakfast buffet was sublime. Icy smoothies, beautiful chilled fruits, eggs and omelettes to order, and anything else you could possibly want. Our room on the third floor was lovely and had a gorgeous outlook. Other people have commented on TripAdvisor about being on the same side as the Wyndham redevelopment next door. We were on this side, but I can honestly say that I didn't notice it at all. The rooms don't face that way so there is very little noise. I feel very sad to be home, and think I'll get on the internet tonight and work out how quickly I can get back to Radisson Blu Fiji. Thank you to all staff who made our trip so wonderful. My only mistake was not booking for longer.

Room Tip: I think I'd avoid the ground floor as you may have people walking right past your balcony! And...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmagood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
1.0 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,304 reviews
11.3 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
752 reviews
23.1 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island

Address: Resort Drive, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#1 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range: $148 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiji's newest luxury beach front Resort offers a myriad of resort facilities nestled around lagoon swimming pools and lush tropical gardens combined with warm genuine Fijian hospitality. 270 luxuriously appointed and spacious guestrooms & suites combined with a contemporary and unique Fijian blend. Choose either a Guest Room or 1 & 2 Bedroom Suites with views of the Gardens, Lagoon or Ocean. Indulge in 5 lagoon swimming pools (one exclusively for Adults), Jacuzzis, Harmony Spa or free non motorised water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island Hotel Denarau Island
Radisson Fiji
Radisson Denarau Island
Denarau Island Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing