We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks to the Radisson for a wonderful 10 nights stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
North East Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thanks to the Radisson for a wonderful 10 nights stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2008

My husband, myself and our two teenagers aged 19 (male) and 15 (female) recently spent 10 nights at the Radisson. I had investigated our options in Fiji for some time as this trip was a really special event for us. One of our preferred hotels could not guarantee us interconnecting rooms, and whilst a number of the others could, we would not have any lounge/dining area - only rooms with beds. As we envisaged some evenings in watching dvd's and eating breakfast in our room, we opted for a 2-bedroom apartment at the Radisson. We also thought that because of the proximity to the marina and other hotels, our children might find more things to do (the Bula Bus is fantastic for getting around). We arrived late at night, were greeted with beautiful cold fruit drinks, and were very pleased with our apartment, which was really two separate rooms with a common foyer area where you could shut two outer doors. They were very clean and everything was sparkling and new (which I was pleased about because I am very fussy). As mentioned by previous reviewers, the King size bed in our room was over-sized and huge, as was the bathroom, which had 2 sinks, a bath, shower, toilet, washing machine and dryer. I knew that we were somewhere near the beach, but to come down in the morning and see that the hotel was right on it was amazing. Our room had a balcony, a lounger and a small table with some chairs, and it overlooked the ocean and the grassy area between the hotel and the Sheraton next door. There are plenty of food options, amongst our favourites were the golf club, Cardo's, the indian/asian place, Mamma's Pizza and the Hard Rock Cafe (surprisingly) at the Marina, the fine dining restaurant at the Sofitel great food - Fijian service, but hey, that's O.K. with us. We also had a couple of really nice meals at the Radisson and one at the WorldMark next door. On our taxi driver's recommendation we had a meal at a Chinese restaurant in Nadi (?). I refused to eat anything for a while. Was a bit uncertain about the cleanliness, but got a look into the kitchen and all was well. Food was plentiful and a very good standard, and with drinks came to under 50 AUD for 4. Considering what we would generally spend on an evening meal, and what most of the staff earned on an hourly basis, my conscience was eased slightly when a young man in a coffee shop thanked us for visiting Fiji. He explained that without the tourists, he would be working in the sugar cane fields. We had three day tours, one out snorkelling, one to Lautoka and one to Nadi. Again, you're not shopping in Bourke Street Mall, but if, as we did, you want the kids to appreciate a bit of the Fijian lifestyle, it is worth the trip, and nobody bothers you too much. The guys also went scuba diving which they said was fantasic. I would advise that you visit the supermarket at the marina early in the trip to stock up and keep the little darlings out of the mini bar. We also regularly bought bread and pies at the bakery, and were more than happy with them. DIFFERENT STROKES FOR DIFFERENT FOLKS, I GUESS. We loved the place. Five star accommodation, service ? We would say five star, also! O.K., not as we may think of it in Australia, but folks, if you want our standard of service - STAY IN AUSTRALIA. If you want smiling, dancing, singing staff who forget the occasional order and appear to be striving strenuously to work to meet OUR standards, give them a go. We made a dear friend of a waitress, got invited to the home of a taxi driver for an authenic indian meal, and met many special people whom we are sure will remember us when we return. The Australian manager's that we came across are working very hard in the service area. I am perplexed by the criticisms about service standards - what did you people expect? The Fijian's themselves laugh about "Fiji time" (which we found to most often be more of a joke than a reality). Next time book yourselves into Hayman Island.

By the way, we have travelled quite a bit and generally stay in 5 star hotels - not bragging, just letting you know that I expect a high standard when I travel. However, Fijian people are generally so charming and try so hard, that if the latte was a bit weak or the chips hadn't arrived within half an hour - it didn't seem to be such a drama. This was NOT a regular occurrence - generally great coffee, especially at the Orchid Lounge.

Also, finally - the children at the resort were no problem to us at all. The only time that we really saw many of them was at the pool area, but as we spent our time at the adult's pool (we were the ones without the beer belly and cellulite - see previous review) they were not a bother at all.

Vinaka to one and all at the Radisson!

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — No dislikes, just negotiate your price with taxi drivers upfront
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Wendog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,575
    1,236
    404
    140
    91
See reviews for
2,504
1,181
97
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (875)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Papamoa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2008

We travel to a different resort every year but i have to say we will be going back to the Radisson. Everyone there went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Like most we dined out at other hotels but but we really could have just as easily have stayed at our resort as the food was second to none!!
We didnt have children but people we meet did and the complex catered well for both which made it easy to mix with others on holiday. The only complaint we would have was that the coctails were way to easy to drink:-)
Thank you everyone at the Radisson, we will see you again next year.
110% satisfied customers!!!

  • Liked — everything!!
  • Disliked — ???
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jjkolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2008

This hotel seems to be surrounded by a lot of hype, being that it is new and the only selling point really is the pools.

I feel in a way cheated cause i was convinced by reading other
"positive reviews" on trip advisor to make the booking here. Although in reality, it was different.

So I got to my room, yeah it was a pool view - of the kids' pool. I was woken up every morning by parents who seem to think that a pool makes an awesome babysitter.

My room had old food, had not been properly cleaned, and the fan in the bathroom was not working. So they sent a house keeper to clean it again and apologised for the non -working bathroom fan.

My Fiance and I thought the adults pool was a great idea. Although the
swim up bar should have been located here as opposed to the main pool where there are kids. I was actually told by some cheeky bugger kid to
get off the stool cause they wanted to sit them. I had to resort to obsecenities unfortunately.

The service lacked attention to detail. Its not the staff's fault they
really do try - i just think its a reflection of bad management or lazy management who cut corners.

For example, I had a rissotto from the kitchen (i should have listened
to the review that said not to eat there! d'oh!) and it was lumpy, grey and re-heated. I didn't have the heart to send it back to the kitchen. The food there is terrible. I had to resort eating out in Port Denarau, like the hard rock cafe, or the indian/asian restaurant there. Most of my meals where eaten at the Sheraton (next door) and mainly the Westin. My advice go eat elsewhere.

The poolside service was really bad. My Fiance ordered some food which
never arrived. This happened on a few occassions.

The Bar staff aren't proper "mixologists" so don't expect the cocktails to be nice. The Margaritas taste like salty water, and I had
a mojito, which I saw with my own eyes the bargirl substituted the vodka with white rum. If you want cocktails, (at the same price) go to
the Westin or bring your own alcohols in plastic containers to the pool.

The Main pool usually hijacked by pool sports like water polo and pool
volleyball, all well and good if you like that stuff, but if you are trying to relax by the adults pool you can still hear the screams of the little terrors. The pool seats always taken by old people who love
sitting under the shade all day near the pool. I don't know why they take the prime real estate and not go somewhere else. Plainly i don't consider old people in their bathers in the adults only pool romantic
- old men in budgie smuglers with their beer guts hanging out and old women with cellulite. Or the pool if there with a bunch of mid 20's idiotic men who act like children in the pool. Also no-one polices the
pool so you do get a few kids in there. The SPA (x2) are ok but half the day you cannot use them cause they are cleaning them. Fair enough but annoying.

I am just being realistic here of the type of crowd, not telling you what you want to hear.

Also I wasn't aware that this place does time-sharing so you get A LOT of families with kids and undesirables staying there, so I would call this hotel more a 3 star and their rates an non justifiable. Plenty of KATH & KIM types if you know what I mean.

In all fairness the hotel is "kid friendly" which is great if you have kids, and families. They really know how to cater for this crowd.

Also old people can stay here too.

If you are planning a romantic holiday or taking your girlfriend/
iance away I suggest look elsewhere where its not so kid friendly. I had a view of a few rooms from other guests hanging out with me. And just letting you know that garden and ocean view rooms are all the same no difference except the view, But Garden view can mean anything and ocean view can mean kids pool. I ended up switching hotels after the influx of families before new years.

The management here, have a LOT to answer for, especially the Food and Beverages Manager.

So I tried to make the most of a situation, and tried to enjoy myself before I had enough! and relocated. You can read other reviews and people will tell you what a great experience they have. I am being brutally honest and as someone who travels a fair bit and stays at hotels (nothing under 4 stars) I can say this hotel is deceptive in pricing and don't believe the brochures. I hope this review has helped
with your travel plans.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
16 Thank Joe80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2008

My b/f and I stayed here for a night while waiting for the next Catamaran out to Matamanoa Island. The hotel itself is very nice and new, the rooms were spacious and modern. You could not fault the rooms.

We found that there wasn't much to do there, especially when it started raining and there seems to be little entertainment in the evening after dinner.

The food was better than we expected, we were pleasantly surprised by our dinner after hearing that the food in fiji leaves a lot to be desired. We also had a galzone for lunch which was okay but the pizzas looked a lot nicer and may be the way to go.

The staff were friendly, although they don't seem very relaxed.

I would definitely come back here as a stop before heading out to the islands, however I wouldn't come here for an entire holiday. The islands are much more appealing than the main land as it is more picturesque and there seems to be more to do but thats my opinion.

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — scenery
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mangoSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.9 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
25.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#3 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island

Property: Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Address: Resort Drive, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#1 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#1 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiji's newest luxury beach front Resort offers a myriad of resort facilities nestled around lagoon swimming pools and lush tropical gardens combined with warm genuine Fijian hospitality. 270 luxuriously appointed and spacious guestrooms & suites combined with a contemporary and unique Fijian blend. Choose either a Guest Room or 1 & 2 Bedroom Suites with views of the Gardens, Lagoon or Ocean. Indulge in 5 lagoon swimming pools (one exclusively for Adults), Jacuzzis, Harmony Spa or free non motorised water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island Hotel Denarau Island
Radisson Fiji
Radisson Denarau Island
Denarau Island Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing