We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE OF THE SCREAMING KIDS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BEWARE OF THE SCREAMING KIDS”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

This is an excellent hotel with great facilities, rooms, and breakfast, and very friendly service, but the hotel was populated with millions of screaming kids - it certainly is very much a family hotel!
Although there is an 'adult only' pool it is directly adjacent and linked via a small rock dam to the main pool so it is still not QUIET!
We and our adult daughter were forced to go to the adjacent Sheraaton Villas pool to have a quiet location to "vege out".
If you are adults and want a quiet peacful location do not go to the Radisson - try the Sheraton Villas or the Westin which had a great adult pool isolated from their main pool facilities.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were located overlooking the Shearton next door and some sea view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dally1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,730
    1,306
    420
    149
    94
See reviews for
2,668
1,244
100
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (907)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Loved it. We had heard different opinions, before going to the Radisson, but it found it was perfect for our needs.
We had a 1 brm suite which was large in size and inlcuded kitchen and laundry facilities which was handy.
Radisson is a very lush enviornment, and a little more relaxed in feeling than the Westin, Sheraton or Sofitel.
The food we had in house was the best of meals we had in Denerau, definately recommend the Cross and Watercourt.
We were travelling as a couple, and yes it is very family but at least this gives it some life. Some of the more 'adult' resorts such as the Westin are so quiet they feel like they have no soul or fun to them, a bit morge like really! (Others may see this as tranquil??) We will be back to the Radisson without a doubt.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Lagoon view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobCre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
158 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We had a lovely stay at the Radisson. After reading the reviews I was a little concerned that this was really just a place for families but I needn't have worried. Yes there were a lot of kids, particularly in the pools but you can still have a relaxing holiday as couple.

Do keep in mind though that Denarau is faux Fiji - you won't get an authentic experience, but it is nice and easy and comfortable.

Loved the layout of the Radisson - we thought ti was the nicest of the hotels. Lovely gardens and pools. And the room (367, a lagoon view room) was big and had great views of the lagoon. Also loved that the sound proofing was very good - just close the balcony door and you won't even hear that there are any kids in the pools.

The only minor gripes we had was the cleaning wasn't quite as thorough as it could have been and there was a whistling noise coming from the air con (not overwhelming, just in the background). Nothing major though.

Do try the pizza (around FJD 28 to 30) and fish and chips (FJD22) from Neptune's - yummy and reasonably priced. And if you time it right you could grab one of the outside tables and watch the sunset. A great ending to the day! Also went to the Wyndham next door one night and had their curry special (Wednesday nights - buy an entree for FJD6 and a main for around FJD to 26 and you get a dessert free). Yummy. Cross was also delicious woth mains for around FJD 40. There is also a shop (mostly for touristy things but also some drinks) and a convenience/bottle store (this wasn't well sing posted unless you stayed at that side of the hotel- we found it by accident), which had snacks, cereals, bread, drinks, icecreams etc. Slightly more than you would pay at Port Denarau (or even cheaper in Nadi town) but not extravagantly so.

We walked to Port Denarau - about 15 mins walk for us. Also a good chance to have a look at other resorts. Tried the Bula bus too (FJD7 for a whole day) but that was quite crowded and you may have to wait a while till a bus with spare seats arrives.

All in all a lovely and relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwi-1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Turned up too early and they couldn't check us in which I completely understand. went to Denearau for some lunch and came back later on and the room was still not ready. Not really too fussed and about to head to the bar when they made a point of making sure we could get a room. Turned out the room wasn't really ready and we had to wait five or ten minutes for the maids to finish up.

The thing is,we didn't notice or really care that there had been issues with the booking in process. Nevertheless the next day there was an ice bucket and a bottle of champagne in our room and a letter apologising for the inconvenience. From our prespective, there had been no inconvenience.

Every other hotel in Fiji - this is how you do business. Great hotel also and great breakfast. Would highly recommend as it is probably the best hotel in Deneareau. I signed up with Tripadvisor just to tell people how good this hotel is.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank axalotl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We decided to stay here for a spot of pampering after all the travel we'd been doing. The last place we'd been in New Zealand was actually a camper van so it was nice to have a suite room! The bed was bigger than the camper van!
We took a cab from the airport as it was cheaper than taking a bus and more convenient. A warm drum roll welcome as you arrive with the word Bula!
The room was lovely, the bathroom was nicely appointed, with a bath and a shower, two sinks, as well as a washer and drier (which proved to be rather useful for us). The kitchen, lounge, diner were all nice also. There was also free internet which was fast and useful.
The resort itself is pretty family friendly. There were a couple of different restaurants, one an asian style overlooking the pool, another a more buffet style, but where you pick what they cook. Which also did different food at lunch. There was also a takeaway pizza bar which also did amazing battered prawns with chips! This place was more reasonable in price. There was also a store onsite which sold food stuff's and was good for basics like eggs, bread etc. They had kayak's you could use for half an hour, but there's a relatively small space in which you can use it. When we were staying they were revamping the spa so they had moved it to another room, so we didn't try their spa.
We did take a cab to the local Denarau town (which is also where the boats leave from for excursions), there are more shops there, a bigger supermarket, a few restaurants & a video store. Cabs were pretty cheap, so for the most part we used those to get back and forth from Denarau rather than the island bus. We did one day excursion on the Seaspray which took us to the island they filmed Castaway on, as well as another local island to see the islanders and experience a little bit of a real Fijian village. Amazing water out there by the boat, we swam in it after the village trip, although there were some small stingy things which were not visible but you could feel them. For me that day trip was well worthwhile. Besides that we didn't do that much, walked along the water/beach. The beach and water around Denarau isn't that clear or white because its a manmade reclaimed island. So if you want the idyllic sandy beaches then you need to go to one of the further out islands. The Fijian people are very friendly and laid back and it does feel like they have their own timescale on things in general. It was perfect for us to relax and just enjoy being there. Everyday there was a storm usually late afternoon, which made for some amazing sunsets, there was one day where the rain lasted most of the afternoon and was pretty torrential for the most part, but it does tend to clear up fairly quickly rather than the drizzly rain in the UK. Unfortunately this also brought out a lot of mosquito's which wasn't so good for me as they liked the taste of my blood. It was a nice place, although if you wanted a more fully emmersive Fiji experience then this is probably not for you as this was a self contained resort feel, but for what we wanted and needed it fitted the bill perfectly.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minxonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We just got back from Fiji and had a fantastic stay for 8 nights at the Radisson. We read the good reviews but I was still a little sceptical. I was very pleased to find that the resort actually exceeded my expectations! We had a 1br classic suite which was huge (for just my husband, 3yr old daughter and I). The room had self contained kitchen with lounge/dining and a separate bedroom with the biggest bed I’ve ever seen. There is a TV in each room and a dvd player in the lounge area - great for a bit of quiet time in the middle of the day. The bathroom has a separate bath and shower. Our daughter slept on the sofa bed which you can close off from the main br allowing you to watch TV etc without disturbing a child that is completely wiped out by 8pm from all the swimming and water sliding each day. Being away from the pool had the advantage of being quiet as well. As for the food - the Asian restaurant near the waterfall is really good. As is Neptunes if you just want a pizza. The buffet at Blu's is not very exciting but fine. We didn’t get around to eating at Cross. There were a few minor hassles with the room – mostly revolving around seemingly possessed appliances. They were quickly sorted (mostly). We aren’t the type to let little hassles bother us. The staff are so friendly I don’t see how you could get angry anyway.
The beach isn’t that inviting but the coconut palms fringing the beach still form an attractive sight- nice for walks and great sunsets. The pools are so good that it really didn’t matter to us. The waterslide in the kid’s pool is great value. Once our 3 yr old got her nerve up, we couldn’t get her off the whole stay. We made good use of the 2 for 1 cocktail hour – my tip here is dont be in a hurry and to order another when one is delivered. We intended to use the kids club but didn’t get to it as the resort is so kids focused that we just had a fantastic time together as a family. The torch lighting was a highlight with our little girl and we did get a nanny one night which was lovely.
We did 1 finding Nemo ½ day trip which is good but very rushed. You are briskly herded onto a glass bottom boat which is a great experience for kids too little to snorkel (and there is no Nemo which was a bit traumatising for a number of kids present...). We went into the port a couple of times, into Nadi (a rather unattractive place) and ate at some of the other resorts, but really we had full days just swimming and relaxing and didn’t feel the urge (or the time) to do much else. One advantage of a stay at Denerau is you don’t feel pressure to take in all of the sights as there really isn’t that many. I thought 8 nights might get a bit boring but we adapted to the lifestyle fast and didn’t want to leave.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reches F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcliffe, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We had 6 days here and enjoyed every minute. Would loved to have stayed longer. The resort is modern, clean, very well appointed and well located. We walked & carried our clubs to the Denaru Golf Course (across the road) where the golf, scenery and food is top notch. We also walked to the marina and checked out the other resorts. Views from everywhere are beautiful. We ate all our meals overlooking the islands, whether at the resort or marina. Took a day trip on PJ's sailing adventure and that was a bit of a let down. But the price was good and there was no overcrowding - only a dozen or so passengers on the old sailing boat. The reef we were taken to for snorkeling was all but dead but that is the unfortunate price of tourism in some areas. The crew were great. The highlight of our holiday was meeting so many wonderful Fijian people. Rachel at the Concierge desk at the Radisson has to be about the nicest person I have met and the rest of the staff there are so polite and friendly. If I go back to Fiji, it will be to the Radisson. BULA!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wynnuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
1.0 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,068 reviews
39.2 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
2,540 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,059 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#3 of 8 in Denarau Island
708 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island

Property: Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Address: Resort Drive, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#1 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#1 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiji's newest luxury beach front Resort offers a myriad of resort facilities nestled around lagoon swimming pools and lush tropical gardens combined with warm genuine Fijian hospitality. 270 luxuriously appointed and spacious guestrooms & suites combined with a contemporary and unique Fijian blend. Choose either a Guest Room or 1 & 2 Bedroom Suites with views of the Gardens, Lagoon or Ocean. Indulge in 5 lagoon swimming pools (one exclusively for Adults), Jacuzzis, Harmony Spa or free non motorised water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island Hotel Denarau Island
Radisson Fiji
Radisson Denarau Island
Denarau Island Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing