We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vinaka Raddison!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Vinaka Raddison!”
Reviewed August 30, 2011

It's only fair that I write about our recent holiday, as I spent hours if not days researching The Raddison and others on TripAdvisor.
My Wife and I, and our two children (5yrs,7yrs), had the most relaxing 11 day holiday (9th-19th August) at the Raddison we could have ever wished for!
Yes the pool is certainly the best out of all the resorts within Denarau Island for families. It's a good idea if you pack some beach/pool toys for the kids such as buckets and inflatable toys.The room was far bigger and better then we had wished for.Yes a little mold in the bathroom but I had to go looking for it as I had read about it in earlier reviews.
The different restaurant/food options which were on offer were outstanding. Don't miss happy hour and get your order in at 4pm on the dot,as they can take a while, I guess they're on Fiji time! The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. A beautiful lady called Paulini who works at Blu Restaurant at breakfast was the most wonderful host you have ever met. She greeted us every morning with smiles and cuddles for both our children. A highlight for the kids was the fire lighting ceremony, where they got to dress up as Fijian Warriors and run around the resort on sunset screaming out "Bula!" We did two tours during our stay, one was to Mystery Island which was lovely and the other was the Highland Tour which were both booked via the front tour desk at the resort.The Highland tour (half day) was amazing and at the same time emotional as you visit a Fijian village, and see the real Fiji. What makes this tour so special is the tour company only does one car load (4people) at a time. You get to walk around the village and visit the classrooms where they sing for you, visit their medical centre, wonderful time had by all. Make sure you dine at the Lovo Restaurant at the Westin great night with great entertainment. I think the best way to sum our holiday up is that our 7year old daughter was in tears when we were leaving, as she had a wonderful time during our stay and had made lots of friends through the kids club!
Thanks Raddison for the experience we can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Awesome082011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,730
    1,306
    420
    149
    94
See reviews for
2,668
1,244
100
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (907)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights, the hotel is pretty impressive. Pool area is great and staff very friendly.
We did have some minor problems; Our room had a very strong 'stuffy' odour which made my asthma act up and our bedding felt moist to touch. After complaining they came is to spray our room with air freshener and we had to say no we want to change rooms, then we were given a new room which was fine. The rooms are quiet spacious and the beds really comfortable. The only other complaint I have is that at breakfast there was no soy milk available. My husband is allergic to dairy and needed to have soy milk for his cereal, coffee etc. Each morning we asked for soy milk but they said the supplier was out of it. However on the 3rd day we had discovered there was soy milk in the botique shop on the premisis and when we told them they said we would have to purchase it ourselves. Then we spoke to the manager on duty about it and they agreed soy milk should be available and they used the milk from the shop for our very last breakfast. For a 5 star hotel, soy milk should be an option on the menu. Having said this, everything else about the breakfast was fantastic and most definatly 5 star, so much choice, everything was fresh and tasted great.
It's really nice to have local Fijians selling handicrafts along the paths because staying at any Denarau resort is like staying in 'Fake Fiji' its not the real Fiji but designed for tourists just like surfers paradise in Australia. If you stay here take the time to do day trips to a village and experience the true locals. Also dont expect to see crystal blue beach, the beach is not very suitable for swimming but the pool makes up for that. Also double check your bill before checking out, we had charges for another rooms breakfast. This was quicky rectified.
Overall a nice and comfortable place to have a relaxing holiday

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Hi, We just spent 4 days at said hotel and I felt ripped off and disappointed. That said, the kids enjoyed the pool and waterslide, although it seemed there were many families from other hotels also using the fun facilities. This made for a noisy and pushy place where sun lounges were often hard to come by. There were also kids banging away at a wooden drum all day just by the sun lounge area which was not conducive to relaxing. The worst part of it, other than the fj$300 (au$175) they tried to charge us for ONE bag of laundry with some kids clothes that did not even come back clean (they did revise the price down to fj$200 which is still absolutely absurd) was the doof-doof music that came on at happy hour by the kids pool - we just got up and left each time. I wonder whether their motive was to get rid of everyone for the cheap drinks time? I will not be returning or recommending it to others.
Helen

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Great location and environment for R & R . Arrangements for transfers and two Island trips all worked well. Generally, food good, but not great....breakfast very good. Good massage at Harmony spa. It will pay to check that your vouchers are going to be honoured as you expect them to be - before you start to enjoy yourself - we had a bit of a 'tussle' before leaving to ensure that we got all that we were expecting - all was OK....in the end but it did leave a bit of a bad taste! Would we go there again? - yes.

Room Tip: If your voucher indicates that you might get a room upgrade check before you get there whether an ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Our family of 5 ( 3 kids 21,19 and 12 yrs)recently stayed for 5 nights in a 2 brm suite.It was fantastic and the facilities amazing.We enjoyed happy hour in the bar and my husband was greeted by name by the staff each night!.
We had 2 fantastic meals at the Watergarden Restaurant- beautiful, fresh asian food that all our family enjoyed.
The pools were great, if noisy as there were many families with preschoolers- we found a quieter spot down by the beach to sunbathe.
The buffet breakfast were great, very efficiently run and you did not wait long for a seat.
The rooms were well serviced and very comfortable.
We hired a babysitter one night and she was lovely and our 12 year old enjoyed her company.
This is my favourite resort in Denarau and we will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leannebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We just returned from a group family holiday where we stayed for 4 nights at the Radisson. For some of the negative reviews I had read prior from previous travellers to this resort - all I can say is they must be hard to please. From the moment we stepped out of our transfer from the airport, the beautiful warm smiles we received and the fast and efficient check in to our rooms was just amazing. The food is superb. The buffet breakfast is great and the restaurants serve great quality food. We found the staff so happy and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Will definitely return to this resort again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtgsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Just arrived home from 8 nights at Radisson Fiji and felt compelled to write my first ever review.

We selected Radisson based on Trip Advisor reviews, proximity to airport (to minimise travel with 6 month old baby and toddler) and size of rooms. Must say that it did not let us down. 20 minute drive from airport. We had a 1 bedroom apartment with baby in hotel supplied portacot and 2 year old on the sofa bed plus there's a kitchen and dining area. Service was excellent from beginning to end in all areas of the hotel, eg reception, housekeeping and restaurant staff.

We ate at Blu, Cross, Neptunes and the Asian restaurant and was happy with all. Blu do a good brazillian bbq buffet style meal with kids under 4 eating free. Blu also does an excellent buffet breakfast with eggs made to order plus fresh smooothies and juices. Cross is their fine dining restaurant, which we saved for our last night and it didn't disappoint. Neptunes serves variety of fish and chips and pizza - and I was very impressed that they had gluten free bases available. In regard to other restaurants I definitely recommend Flying Fish at the Sheraton next door and we were told by a number of people that Indigo at the Mariner was very good.

As everyone says, the beach at Denarau is not great but still nice for a walk and making sandcastles. Radisson has a variety of pools, including waterslide, adults only, toddlers with fence and the main pool with swim up bar where we spent most of our time. We visited the pools at the Sheraton and Westin and the Radisson pool's definitely looked better to us - larger and more kid friendly. Radisson could do with some more big open grass areas for kids to play - like what we saw at Sheraton but this wasn't a problem for us.

Our room was well cleaned and tidied every day. Felt very peaceful and quiet in room - no noises keeping us awake other than our own children :)

We only used a babysitter once, which we were happy with. Kids Club only accepts children over 4 or children under 4 if they have a carer with them. Good full timetable of activities. Not to mention the waterslide that they all loved.

We liked the convenience store.

I had a few treatments at the day spa, which I enjoyed.

For ease of travel we booked private return transfers with 2 car seats through travel agent, which was great. Bula bus can take you to the other Denarau resorts or mariner.

Room Tip: We stayed in a ground floor 1 bed apartment close to water and on the Sheraton side - recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AussieTravelllers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
1.0 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,068 reviews
39.2 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
2,539 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,059 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#3 of 8 in Denarau Island
708 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island

Property: Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Address: Resort Drive, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#1 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#1 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiji's newest luxury beach front Resort offers a myriad of resort facilities nestled around lagoon swimming pools and lush tropical gardens combined with warm genuine Fijian hospitality. 270 luxuriously appointed and spacious guestrooms & suites combined with a contemporary and unique Fijian blend. Choose either a Guest Room or 1 & 2 Bedroom Suites with views of the Gardens, Lagoon or Ocean. Indulge in 5 lagoon swimming pools (one exclusively for Adults), Jacuzzis, Harmony Spa or free non motorised water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island Hotel Denarau Island
Radisson Fiji
Radisson Denarau Island
Denarau Island Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing