We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Majorly disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Majorly disappointing”
Reviewed December 19, 2010

I am so compelled to say how average this hotel was I created an account just to do this. This really is a poor hotel for the price. For starters, the hotel reception was cheap and nasty; the first room we got stunk of cigarette smoke - the lady at reception (who was actually very polite) also agreed and she gave us a new room; the new room was clean but not inspiring; we then went to have a shower and the water pressure did not exist - we complained and the same receptionist checked it out and completely agreed it was hopeless; later than night we try to use a wine glass and have a drink and found the glass to be used and hadn't been washed; the restaurants are not inspiring and look more like food hall quality. All in all this hotel looks like it has been slapped together during construction and would not be surprised if it was originally meant to a time share business which did not work. Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank craig_m15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,507
    908
    347
    161
    99
See reviews for
1,006
1,438
81
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (797)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2010

We booked this resort for a family holiday early in 2010 and after reading some mediocre and bad reviews, I arrived with a degree of trepidation.
For business I spend about 60 nights away a year in 5 star hotels and we also do a couple of tropical resort family holidays each year - so I am very familiar with high standards and I am not especially easy to please....
I really do not understand what anyone is saying bad about this place. We are still here - 5 days into a 7 day pre-Christmas vacation with my family and another family - 4 adults and 4 teenagers in all in two adjacent family villas - and (despite looking) I simply cannot find a single thing to complain about here - maybe the 4pm thunderstorms - but I can hardly blame the resort for that - it is that time of year...
The service everywhere in the resort is beyond excellent (no "Fiji-time" here in the service stakes), the rooms (the villas anyway) are incredibly spacious and very clean and exceptionally well appointed and serviced immaculately. The numerous pools are fresh, clean and fantastic. The food options are extensive and with many cheap snack options to feed hungry teenagers - that really helps the holiday budget. Buffet breakfast is huge with every option you could consider, and open till 11am so brunch everyday is on our agenda.
The tour desk has been very helpful and has arranged fantastic island and activity tours for us. We have already resolved that we will be booking again for next year before we leave.
There are happy honeymoon couples here, families with small children and families with teenagers - everyone has their own space and it all just works really well. If you are looking for a really exclusive quiet romantic getaway - then pay more and go somewhere else (and be prepared to be disappointed there too - you just can't please some folks). I've stayed elsewhere in Fiji - and this is the best by far. If you want a great relaxing holiday with outstanding, modern, cost-effective food & facilities, really friendly staff and fellow guests - then you simply cannot go past this resort...
Maybe winning a hundred bucks in the frog racing has coloured my judgement - but this place is pretty damned special...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LoveTheTropicsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2010

We stayed at the Hilton for the second week of our honeymoon (first week at Royal Davui), and after visiting the other hotels on Denarau Island, we would recommend other honeymooners to stay at either the Radisson, Westin or Sofitel.

The main issues at Hilton - uninspiring dining options, reception lobby in urgent need of a renovation (very poor in comparison to its peers on Denarau), most staff seem demotivated and uninterested in their work (had to ask 4 times for a spa menu) - a stark contrast to Royal Davui where the staff are just wonderful and great to be around. Made mistakes on final bill, missed our wakeup call and always took ages to answer phone.

On the positive side (not all gloomy!), the rooms are very nice (Hilton standard, but you wouldn't know you're in Fiji), the pool is one of the best on the island, the housekeeping staff were the friendliest, they had a real coffee machine and washer/dryer in our room which was very welcome!

Denarau Island is a great place to use as a gateway to the islands as we did (we went on Mana Island tour, Seaspray tour, Treasure Isalnd tour etc). After eating at Blu in the Radisson (BEST buffet EVER!) and Moo Moo at the Westin (OMG get their signature Wagu steak for 2 - mouth still watering it was so good!), you will realise that the Hilton is very vanilla - nothing memorable but nothing exceptionally bad either.

Wouldn't recommend for honeymooners due to lack of nice dining choices and being too vanilla - not memorable enough for such a special holiday. I can't recommend highly enough Royal Davui - best honeymoon island!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_0084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

It was my first trip overseas and my husband and I decided to stay at the Hilton because of it's world known name.
I LOVED the room-the view was amazing!!!
And the service was subperb!!!
I could not fault anything about it!!
We spent a few nights on Mana Island-but if I were 2 go back to Fiji I would most definately stay at the Hilton again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess8384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koo-Wee-Rup, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

The Hilton was our first Fiji hotel. We stayed there for 7 nights and had a pretty good time. I found that the employees did not seem to be very happy to work there, as they seemed to be at the Westin and the Outrigger (where we stayed for the second week).

The Hotel has good facilities, its pools are quite attractive, but not as fun as the Sofitels or Westins. There is no public spa pool at the Hilton.

Meals are quite expensive at the resort, I tried to minimise our meals at the Hilton to breakfast only, which is exceptional value. What you cannot get for breakfast at the buffet is just not worth having! :) Catch the Bula bus ($6 FJD) into town and enjoy better value at all the restaraunts at Port Denarau. Better than average Fiji shopping at Port Denarau - dont bother with Nadi if you go here, unless you want to save a couple of dollars - the price difference is not big enough to make it worth the pain.

The 5:30 - 6:30 PM happy hour at Nuku Bar is good value as you get 2 for 1 cocktails - 2 for FJD$22.

Good for those who want to unwind but dont want to do any activities. Rooms are very comfortable, however any door slamming or conversations held in the entryway which is shared by several others is amplified and echoed through the entire room. Very quiet and relaxing when no activity outside.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2010

The Hilton is only 4-5 years old and is positioned where 6 other major hotels (Raddison, Sofitel, etc) have their resorts and has its own 1.5 kilometer beach frontage. We stayed in room 2804, a 1 bedroom beachfront vila which was situated about 100 metres from the main pool area. The room was clean, tidy, spacious, modern, well set out and very comfortable. It was self contained and had 2 TV's. It also had an exit to the patio which had a BBQ and table and chairs and led out to a grassed area and deck chairs. The room was very quiet and the air conditioning was very effective. The staff were very helpful, courteous, attentive and friendly. The grounds and leisure area were spotlessly clean and plenty of deck chairs around the 7 (yes 7) pools. The restaurants provided an excellent choice of food and was very tasty, as was the wine list. Service in both restaurants were excellent.

I would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fletch30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Since seeing a picture in a travel brochure I was sold on staying at the Hilton and a special birthday was the perfect excuse for a trip to Fiji. My husband and I along with my parents had an 8 night stay at the resort in an ocean front 2bed apartment, which we found to be modern, clean and spacious and with fantastic ocean view and a great outdoor area. We all loved the fact that it didn't feel like we were staying in a hotel room. The resort is spaciously set out along the length of its grounds and yes we did have over a 1km walk to the pool and restaurants but the exercise meant we arrived home without putting on any holiday weight which is a bonus!!!
The restaurants and cafe served delicious fare and it was nice to see the head chef there each night checking each plate before it left for the table. Nuku was just great for breakfast and dinner and we had fantastic pizzas and fresh breads from L'picier.
Having read quite a few negative reviews before we left for our holiday I was a little apprehensive about what we would find on arrival but after a couple of days really wonder just what the moaners really had to complain about, other than they like to just moan.
The only moan I have about the whole trip is a buffet meal we had at the Sheraton one night - $440 fijian for what was the worst and most unappetising meal of our entire stay!!
I recommend using the bula bus for travelling easily around denerau - $6 per person for all day travel is great. Bone Fish restaurant at the Port was fantastic for the hugest seafood platter you'll ever see.
Fiji Beach Resort and Spa managed by Hilton you will see us again!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msmichelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
39.1 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,493 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
0.6 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,392 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#3 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Denarau Island, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What's your idea of the perfect escape? Perhaps it's spending precious time together as a family. Maybe you want to rediscover romance, in a setting that's simply breathtaking. Or perhaps you'd rather enjoy relaxing spa treatments and superb cuisine...For sheer romance, a glorious honeymoon, your best family break ever or a golfer's dream holiday, Hilton in Fiji makes the perfect setting. Welcome to your perfect escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiji Beach Resort And Spa Managed By Hilton
Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Managed By Hilton Hotel Denarau Island
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Denarau Island
Hilton Denarau Island
Fiji Hilton
Denarau Island Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing