We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect!! Vinaka!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2009

We recently got back to Australia after staying at the Hilton Resort & Spa Fiji. The resort is simply amazing. Photos that we had previously seen before our trip on this site did not do the resort justice. The place is postcard perfect. We stayed in a King Beach Front Villa which was beautiful. It was massive!! Complete with rear verrandah with clothes line, seperate washing machine area, seperate shower, seperate toilet, vanity and stand alone bath tub. Bedroom was beautiful. Our bed was covered in Fijian flowers on arrival and then refreshed through out our villa daily. Full kitchen with stainless steel appliances including espresso machine. 2 plasma tvs in our villa, seperate lounge room and then balcony with our own bbq. The view was amazing. Please check photos attached with this review. The staff were amazing. Friendly, happy, fast. They all make you feel at home and are genuinely interested in making your stay wonderful.

The restaurants and pools were awesome. The restaurants are expensive to eat at but the meals are 5 star and decent sizes. Not like many 5 star restaurants in Australia where they build the plate high but with not much food on the plate. There are 8 resorts stretched along the beach that you are completely free to roam at your leisure. Walk into the front via the beach or catch the "Bula Bus" to the reception area of every resort and just walk in. Out of all of the resorts there, Hilton and Raddisson were the best. The others were nice but to high standard of these teo resorts. Sharraton was very close though. Hilton seemed more private though which suited us as the Hilton is stretched out further along the beach where as the Raddisson is tucked in between other resorts.

We booked our holiday through Virgin Blue which was easy and efficient. Package deals are the way to go as they are cheaper. You can also include day cruises, travel insurance, airport transfers etc.

I would like to extend a VERY BIG THANK YOU to Hilton reservations staff Eta and Shirlyn for all of their help and assistance in helping me prepare an amazing beach front dinner at which I porosed to my girlfriend. Also, A HUGE VINAKA to our beautiful private waitress Una who made our night beyond PERFECT!!!!!!!

All up - If you want a 5 star resort that is quiet, relaxing, quality, and a home away from home with amazing people and service, Hilton Fiji Resort & Spa is the way to go!!!!!!! We will definately return to Hilton Fiji.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trentjlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,153 - 3,159 of 3,423 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2009

My husband, myself and our 14 month son had the lovely pleasure of staying at Fiji Beach Resort and Spa. I agree with other reviewers who felt that the lobby does not look the best, particularly when compared with other resorts near by. However, once through I just fell in love with the place. Due to our plane arrival time, we arrived way before check in time,however after a quick walk around (with our little one asleep in a hammock!!), reception staff rang to say that we could check in.

A quick trip on the travel cart (a god send with a pram and heaps of luggage) it was off to our room. It looked exactly as it did on the web site. I was thrilled. From the molton brown toiletries, the coffee machine, two flat screen tvs, I was very happy. Yes, the beach is no where near as beautiful as the beaches on the islands, however who could not be happy sitting there with a nice drink watching one of the most beautiful sunsets ever.

Cannot speak highly enough of the staff. From the staff on reception, to the spa, by the pool, housekeeping, baby sitting they are just so happy and interested to hear all about your hoilday. The happiest and most genuine culture.

Most rooms have a bbq which was great on evening where we had big days and just wanted to hang at home and put the little one to bed. We didnt find great meat but bought a huge bag of frozen prawns from the supermarket at Port Denerau, which did us just fine.

Loved getting the free drinks every day. It was nice to be able to wake to a fresh juice or come home to a nice cold beer in the afternoons.

Although the kids club is not available to children under three, I did take my son down to the kids club one afternoon so that he could have a play with some other children. He enjoyed myself and I enjoyed the chance to talk to some of the babysitters.

The kayaks are heaps of fun. We did a kayak along the beach and checked out all of the other hotels. Although the view was only form the beach, I did feel (a little smugly) that our hotel was indeed by far the best. It was more spread out and people seemed to have more privacy.

The only tiny fault I found was that towels etc were not always replaced, however this was quickly rectified with a quick phone call to housekeeping. And they still deserve 5 star!!!!!

Although this is not directly related to the hotel I would encourage people to get out of the resort and/or Denaurau. It does not take long to get to most of the islands, and they are well worth the trip. Also, you can do some great village tours or do as we did and hired a driver. Comfy car, didnt get lost and safe child seats for babies. Great way to get out and see some of the real Fiji.

Cannot wait to go again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripleaaa09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

We had a fabulous time at the Hilton, and are already lpanning our next trip back.
The resort appears to be a lot lower density to the other resorts on Denarau island, and therefore it has a lovely peaceful and open vibe. We deliberately went outside of school holidays, but there were still a number of children (under school age), but there was plenty of room for them and did not effect us in anyway. The adults only pool was heaven, very large with plenty of very comfy sunbeds and what a view!
The staff were so friendly, and there were plenty of them around, a little slow at times but that is the fijian way, and if you're an impatient city dweller, its a great reason to slow down too. The food was great, with lots of different options depending on what you want to spend.
The resort is luxurious but not over the top with a very down to earth vibe. and with every room opening out onto the beachfront with beautiful views, you really do feel a little isolated from the rest of the world. It looks just like the website photos so no surprises there. Everything was just perfect, and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaarono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

We just returned from a week at the Hilton Fiji. We also checked out the other resorts and felt it was the best choice and by far the most stylish but it was not without some issues. We had a great ground floor 2-bed villa close to the pool but not right next to it. The room itself was comfortable and stylish. Everything you expect from a hotel of this calibre. However there were a few issues. Broken lock on the door, broken dishwasher, broken soap dispenser in the shower. In itself not a problem but unfortunately it took about 2 days to get the lock and soap fixed and the dishwasher never was. Not a huge issue but just a surprise. Also we found cleaning the room was really late. Often occurring about 4pm when we had returned to the room for the day.

Anyway other than these couple of sloppy issues we loved it. The pool is fantastic as is the asian restaurant. We didn't eat other than breakfast at the main restaurant but had fantastic meals at Flying Fish, Salt and Cross at the other resorts.

Personally we didn't experience any "fiji time" that bothered us and didn't find food as expensive as people had made out to us.

Would I recommend the hotel.... absolutely but there were a couple of little things that bothered us. Oh also I'd highly recommend a nanny if you go with kids. Cheap and a great way to enjoy dinners out.

If you can I'd request a room close to the pool. Some are up to 500m away so the walk to and from the pool / restaurant could bother you.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chefspop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Very modern resort with excellent rooms and pools (big too with an unobstructed view of the sea, and a large pool for adults only). All buildings are on the beach front, but around 15% of the rooms have no sea view. Some rooms have private pools. If you are loaded or have a few of you, then these are worth it.
The resort stretches along about 800m of beach, so be prepared for a bit of walking to reception, restaurants and pools etc. If you are fat and lazy then they will drive you around in their golf buggies. The best thing is to rent a kiddies scooter off them for the duration (they have plenty). You are on holiday after all so have some fun!
The beach here is suitable for sailing and windsurfing (they have the gear there) and kitesurfing (BYO gear, no coral to pop your kite on and tons of grass and sand to launch off)
The Westin next door has only a dozen sea front rooms, and NO beach (walking distance though). You will be kept awake by the sea crashing against the rocks outside your door if you get a water front room. The pool looked rather small.
Next to that is the Sheraton with a million rooms! The best spot if you want good restaurants and entertainment at night, but barely 20% of rooms are water front, and only 10% beach front. The beach side they are on has bigger surf vs the Hilton side, so water sports and your sleep may be affected.

Fijians are possibly the friendliest people on the planet and love kids, so I am confident you will get friendly service everywhere. Don’t expect things to happen fast, as they operate on island time. Chilled in a good way.

Booze is way expensive even at the bottle store (1 litre of Smirnoff is AUD $85!!) so buy up large on duty free when coming in (you can by this when you arrive).

Denarau in general: the sea is murky so everyone swims in the pools. The sea is warm and fine for water sports. Apparently the coral coast around the corner has amazing water and coral. The weather changes rapidly, so if its fine get out there as it could rain the next day. The beaches are grey, and have a tiny bit of black volcanic sand in areas.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank groundrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

This resort was pretty good, but there were a lot of things that annoyed us while staying there. We stayed during the last week of September. The reception desk ladies were very helpful with arranging tours/activities. Our room/villa, however, was at the tail end of the resort, a good 15 minute walk from the lobby/restaurants/pool or a 5 minute ride on the golf cart. We were so isolated from the rest of the people, which was both good and bad. That end of the beach, however, was still not well maintained. The restaurants were only okay. Nuku, the buffet restaurant, was quite busy at all times of the day, while Maravu was only open for dinner service. They did have a deli with a limited selection of food. We went to the other resorts for better food selection. While they did advertise having 7 pools here, only ONE was for adults!!! And even with just one adult pool, kids less than 10 were invading our pool and playing around!!! That was quite annoying! They really needed to regulate it better... The room itself was great. The living room was spacious, the kitchen was adequate, the bed was comfy, and the bathroom was amazing, with a separate tub and shower. Plus, it was nice to have our own washer/drying in the room as well to do some laundry.

Overall, it was a decent resort, but definitely NOT 5 star -- with limited restaurant/food selection, only one pool for adults, and a poor beachfront. I would stay here again...considering the price was good for me.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neomedic23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We have just returned from a week at the Hilton - we booked this hotel because we didn't want to travel too far once we arrived in Fiji as we only had 6 days and because we got a good price.

The breakfasts which were included were very good with a huge selection of food and even included sparking wine (which I didn't realise until the second to last day!) However the price of drinks in the bar and the other food was expensive. They were the sort of prices that you would expect to pay in a 'business' Hilton Hotel ie one in a City not a holiday resort. A gin and tonic was about $22 fiji dollars. However, if you go to Port Denarua you can get drinks and food a lot cheaper and better. The Indian restaurant Indigo was very good as was the steak at Cardos.

There is an adult only pool at the hotel which was nice but I did have a few occasions when we had to ask the staff to ask some children to leave. This makes you feel mean but the children do have another 5 pools (or something like that). This pool is really needed because when we were there, there were a lot of children staying.

I used the gym everyday and it is small and basic - the cardio equipment could do with replacing and the aircon didn;t work.

All in all - a lovely hotel but if you are looking for 5* luxury this is not the one - more like 4*

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hebe44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
12.2 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
39.1 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#1 of 4 in Korolevu
2,824 reviews
1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Denarau Island, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range: $169 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort and Spa is ideally located on 2.5 km of beach on Denarau Island. Discover a paradise of sun, sea and sand at this relaxing resort. Indulge in a massage by the sea or choose from an array of treatments at the award-winning Pevonia concept spa. Every guest room offers a private terrace or balcony, and our suites provide even more space and luxury. Every meal can be enjoyed with ocean views on the side when you dine at one of our restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Managed By Hilton Hotel Denarau Island
Fiji Beach Resort And Spa Managed By Hilton
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Denarau Island
Hilton Denarau Island
Fiji Hilton
Denarau Island Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing