We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTE HEAVEN”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ABSOLUTE HEAVEN”
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Well where do i start??? I have been reading reviews for the last couple of months after booking with the Sofitel Fiji and was thinking have i booked with the right resort, My answer is a Big BIg BIG YES. My hubby and myself have just spent the last 5nights 6days at the Sofitel and it was truly amazing. We arrived and was greeted with our doors been open of our private transfers with a warm and friendly welcome "BULA".. Check in was such a breeze and before we knew it we were been escorted to our room by a very friendly staff member. We stayed in a classic room on the second level it was very well appointed, clean and tidy over looking one of the beautiful gardens and view to the ocean. Our room was serviced every day always before 12pm - a Big thank you to the housekeeping staff..... The Breezes bar had an awesome live band that played Thursday, Friday & Saturday night which we found ourselves there each night drinking an array of cocktails. The pool is also fantastic and we did NOT have any problems at all getting a sun lounger whenever we went for a swim. A big THANK YOU to the activities staff you guys rock!!!!!. We had breakfast daily in the Lagoon restaurant which offered all sorts of choices - Thank You to the friendly Lagoon restaurant staff and also to the singers that were there each morning singing lovely music and for singing me happy birthday it made me feel so very special. We sure did have a truly amazing stay at the Sofitel and will be back next year for sure. Vinaka Louise
We also done a day cruise on the Whales Tale which i highly recommend to everyone that wants to do a day cruise the Whales Tale cruised to their very own little Island Called Schooner Island where you can go snorkelling, fishing, kayaking and play a game of volley ball or just fully relax on the white sandy beach if you like, As soon as you step on board the Whales Tale you are offered as much as you can eat and drink all day (soft drink, juices, beer, wine & spirits) for only $179FJD it was well worth the money......

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitesuga007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMresort, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for placing your latest review, i was so glade to read that you enjoyed your holiday with us I will be sure to pass your kind comments onto the relevant team members. I was happy to read that housekeeping looked after you and that your rooms were always serviced by mid day as this has been a massive effort over the past few months after gaining some negative feedback.
I'm also glade that you enjoyed our buffet meals and enjoyed your birthday cake.
Thank you also for your recommendation for Whales Tale Cruise and Schooner Island as I haven't tried this yet so will have to go out there soon and do some snorkeling. Thank you also for posting your photos, i thought they looked great.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel again.

Kind regards,

Adam Laker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,496
    1,235
    497
    191
    82
See reviews for
1,185
1,577
102
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (807)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

We have just returned from a 12 day stay at Sofitel celebrating my 40th birthday. In total, there were 11 adults and 5 kids ranging in age from 5y/o to 9y/o.
Food: the food was absolutely fantastic, we ate mostly at Salt Restaurant but also ate at V Restaurant a few times and had the buffet a couple of times too. I have to be honest and say, we never had any bad meals or complaints. Everything was very tasty, portion size was spot on, service was at times a little slow but you have to remember, you are in Fiji and are on Fiji time. Have another cocktail! I recommend Bula Life on the Beach. The birthday cake was to die for, thanks Torika. The breakfast buffet is fabulous, plenty of everything and nothing ever ran out. An Accor card is a must as you get 50% off food, as the food is quite expensive. Cocktails are all FJD$21 each.
Rooms: were decent size, we had a king size bed and a sofa bed for our 9 y/o, worked fine for us, never were tripping over eachother. They were serviced daily without any troubles.
Swimming Pool: absolutely fabulous. Water aerobics at 11.30am each day is a must, loads of fun. Make sure you get the Bula dance right! Always got a sun chair. One end of the pool complex is set up for the smaller children and the opposite end is set up for the older persons. Works fine. The waterside was fun for big and small! Overall, a very pleasant place to spend you days. The beach is fine but if you want tropical clear waters, then you need to go out to the islands.
Staff: very friendly, by the end of the holiday, we were greeted by our surnames everywhere we went. Everyone had smiles on the faces. Thanks especially to Torika and Eddie.
Kids Club: kids had a ball, coconut painting, fish feeds, watermelon cracking, all the usual kids activities. Is FJD$25 p/c p/d, lunch additional if they are there for lunch and was a good reprieve from the hot sun on some days.
Overall: a fantastic place to stay for both couples and families. There is a lot to do, or not to do, the Bula bus is a great investment, FJD$6 p/p gets you on and off all day between the hotels and the port. The port is also a great alternative and is only 5 minutes away. Am looking forward to returing next year.
Ni Sa Moce, Vinaka
The Fletcher family

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BulaJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMresort, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for placing your latest review, i was so glade to read that you enjoyed your holiday with us, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the water aerobics that takes place everyday, this is a good way to burn off the large breakfast before lunch. I'm glade that your children enjoyed the kids club and also the fantastic pool area and water slide Thank you for also putting your photos on your review as they look great, especially the beach shots.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel again.

Kind regards,

Adam Laker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We we went to Fiji expecting a great holiday. We spent our first night at the Sofitel and the last night. We had booked our main holiday with Tokoriki Resort and we had the worst time ever. We couldnt wait to get back to the Sofitel.
The sofitel is everything you would expect a 5 star to be. It was clean nice and friendly and certainly good value for money.
Its not really an island experience but at least you get to mingle with the Fijians and have a great time. If you plan to go to an outer island consider Treasure Island, Matamanoa or Castaway. Be carefull of the rippoffs like Tokoriki.
Next time we come we will be splitting our holiday between the Sofitel and one of the other places.
Thank you Sofitel for the warm greeting and great stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationman065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMresort, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for placing your latest review, I was so glade to read that you enjoyed your holiday with us, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the water aerobics that takes place everyday, this is a good way to burn off the large breakfast before lunch. I'm glade that your children enjoyed the kids club and also the fantastic pool area and water slide Thank you for also putting your photos on your review as they look great, especially the beach shots.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel again.

Kind regards,

Adam Laker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We were only here for a short time but the time we spend here was great, the resort is so beautiful and its close to everything, i really enjoyed my time. It was a little bit more expensive than other places that i have stayed but you can see why. Had a great time, would stay again :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMresort, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for placing your latest review, It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us I look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel again.

Kind regards,

Adam Laker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We just returned from 10 days at the Sofitel. We have two children (7 & 5yrs) and decided on a family room which was a good move. The kids had their own space in the bunk alcove which they loved. Room was spacious and lots of cupboard / drawer space for clothes.
The pool is awesome! Never had any problem getting a chair..Pool caters for all ages and young children can be away from older people which I am sure the latter appreciate! Water slide was well used too.
The Sofitel grounds are beautiful and the staff soooo friendly! Food was great, champagne b-fast every morning.
We had pre-purchased the Accor card which is an absolute must, even if you are staying only a few days. The prices are not outrageous but who doesn't want to pay 50% less?
Spend some time in at the Marina which is a short Bula Bus or taxi ride away. Bone Fish is an excellent restaurant and you have got to go to Lulu's for cocktails.
First day back at work anmd already planning next yr's repeat holiday.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorisFletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMresort, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for placing your latest review, It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us I was pleased to read that you had no problem in getting a sun lounge chair around the pool and that our team looked after you during your stay. I'm glade you used your Accor card as it makes a big difference during your holiday when you receive 50% off your food bill.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel again.

Kind regards,

Adam Laker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

We arrived at the Sofitel at 8am on 7th October not expecting our rooms to be ready and were happy to enjoy the facilities until our rooms were ready near lunch time. When we went back to Reception we were told our room was cancelled. Other guests who flew over to Fiji for the wedding also had problems with their booking. After much frustration and disbelief, mainly because we were the parents of the bride and no way had we cancelled our room, everything was sorted out (I took all the confirmation emails with me to Fiji thank goodness). The food, pool, restaurants and the staff were amazing.
The wedding was fantastic with the Sofitel doing an amazing job. Overall the Sofitel was brilliant after our initial frustration and I would go back again

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curious011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMresort, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to complete your latest review, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your over all stay with us and that you are planning on returning which is great news.
I must also apologize for any inconvenience caused during check in and room allocation. of course I will raise this with my reception team to ensure we improve our service in this area.
I was also please to read that you enjoyed the pool and facilities such as the restaurants and that the wedding was a great success.

I look forward to being able to welcome you back again to the Sofitel.

Kind regards,

Adam Laker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

The staff were so friendly and helpful. The breakfast food was plentiful and the atmosphere in the restaurant was happy and relaxed. The pool was a real bonus for the kids and adults. Being close to Nadi made the trip tp "Town" cheap and quick. The Bula Bus was good value. While we were there we had a small medical problem which with the help of the Mangement was solved smoothly and happily

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artie94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMresort, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 17, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to complete your latest review, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your over all stay with us and that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, this I believe is one of the most important meals of the day as it repairs you for the day ahead.
Thank you also for your kind words about the friendliness of our staff as well as the kids club.

I look forward to being able to welcome you back again to the Sofitel.

Kind regards,

Adam Laker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denarau Island
0.3 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,163 reviews
39.2 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#6 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,618 reviews
11.9 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,111 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa

Property: Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
Address: Beachfront, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Fiji Resort and Spa is located on beautiful Denarau Island. This five star Fiji resort overlooks the beachfront, adjacent to the world class Denarau Golf and Racquet Club. Our Fiji beach resort offers 296 rooms, each with a private balcony. Other features at this Fiji luxury resort include a private beach, wedding chapel, swimming pools, three restaurants, four bars, an international health spa, and one of the largest ballroom on the island. A bustling marina and cultural temples are located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Fiji Resort And Spa
Sofitel Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Sofitel Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sofitel
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa Denarau Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing